Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2016, 09:34 PM
rjtagayon rjtagayon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Taytay, Rizal
Posts: 6
Default MTP AV How to's

I have a windows PC (windows 10) Pro Tools 10.6.7, and a MOTU MTP AV 8x8 (image attached).

I am required to run pro tools and sync the PT timecode to the SYNC display of my MTP device. Like when I play a session in PT at time code 3:02:30 the MTP should also display this time code.

I'm really new to all this hardware and I need some help making it work. Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 14907715_762138020594259_99491948_o.jpg (33.8 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2016, 11:37 PM
rjtagayon rjtagayon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Taytay, Rizal
Posts: 6
Default Re: MTP AV How to's

Bump
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-31-2016, 04:23 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,267
Default Re: MTP AV How to's

Have you tried the Clockworks manual? Might be info in there. FYI MOTU gear on Windows tends to be a bit of a crapshoot and some features might not work as expected.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-31-2016, 09:11 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,213
Default Re: MTP AV How to's

MOTU MIDI drivers
Send MTC from Pro Tools
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

APFS 90% 10% Audio on Both
(HFS+)
Pro Tools U-2020.5 macOS 10.14.6 APFS
Second boot-macOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MVC-Edition)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDIoverIP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
new systems builds/upkeep
----
New builds:
12 core nMP HDX 1 Slot 5 stock HDX Mac mini 6pin to 4 pin HDX power like 5,1 mp's used)
16 core nMP rack
28
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-04-2016, 06:36 PM
rjtagayon rjtagayon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Taytay, Rizal
Posts: 6
Default Re: MTP AV How to's

Hi guys I'm finally able to sync my MOTU to pro tools by using the clockworks application. I just have a small problem, clockworks almost always stop responding after some time while in my pro tools session. any workaround for this?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-05-2016, 04:54 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,267
Default Re: MTP AV How to's

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjtagayon View Post
Hi guys I'm finally able to sync my MOTU to pro tools by using the clockworks application. I just have a small problem, clockworks almost always stop responding after some time while in my pro tools session. any workaround for this?
Not seen that here. Have you turned off power savings measures for your USB ports in Windows control panel? They're on by default even on desktop machines.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-05-2016, 04:59 AM
rjtagayon rjtagayon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Taytay, Rizal
Posts: 6
Default Re: MTP AV How to's

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Not seen that here. Have you turned off power savings measures for your USB ports in Windows control panel? They're on by default even on desktop machines.
haven't at all looked into this, great suggestion. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-05-2016, 09:30 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,267
Default Re: MTP AV How to's

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjtagayon View Post
haven't at all looked into this, great suggestion. Thanks!
There's one other thing I forgot to mention - the backup battery in the MPTAVUSB may have to be changed. That's an easy process - you just unscrew the lid (with power disconnected) and change out the battery. It's one of those more or less standard coin batteries available in many places.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-05-2016, 06:27 PM
rjtagayon rjtagayon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Taytay, Rizal
Posts: 6
Default Re: MTP AV How to's

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
There's one other thing I forgot to mention - the backup battery in the MPTAVUSB may have to be changed. That's an easy process - you just unscrew the lid (with power disconnected) and change out the battery. It's one of those more or less standard coin batteries available in many places.
Alright, I'll do just that when I go back to work tomorrow. thanks for these suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-19-2020, 11:31 AM
M-A M-A is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Madrid / Spain
Posts: 2
Default Re: MTP AV How to's

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjtagayon View Post
Hi guys I'm finally able to sync my MOTU to pro tools by using the clockworks application. I just have a small problem, clockworks almost always stop responding after some time while in my pro tools session. any workaround for this?
HI !!

Could you please to SHARE how to config Pro Tools and MTP AV ??

It will be awesome if you attach a SAVED CONFIG from MOTU MTP AV.
I'm fighting with that from moths on Windows 7 x64 with no luck.

Thank you very much in advance and best regards !!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com