Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2020, 09:40 PM
yannou78 yannou78 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: canada
Posts: 3
Default Partitions on the main drive MP600 M.2

Hi guys! I'm building my new studio computer and I'm installing a Corsair MP600 2To on one of the M.2 slots on my (Gigabyte Designare Z390 motherboard) as a main drive C:/... I was wondering if it was a bad idea performance wise to use this main drive for Windows, Softwares, Pro Tools, plugins, etc and make 1 partition for my libraries and 1 more partition for my Pro Tools sessions. So a total of 3 partitions on this main drive. I'm concerned about performance, speed, writing, reading of the drive if everything is working at the same time in this drive... I've heard it's not a good thing to do in a physical hardDrive but I think it should be ok with this new type of technologies?

Thanks :)

Windows 10
Intel i7 9700k
Gigabyte Designare Z390 Motherboard Thunderbolt 3
Corsair MP600 2To M.2 slot
32gb DDR4 2666MHz Crutial
Pro Tools 2020
UAD Apollo Twin X Duo core Thunderbolt 3

French is my first language! Canadian

Last edited by yannou78; 05-06-2020 at 09:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2020, 11:05 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,419
Default Re: Partitions on the main drive MP600 M.2

While you may be right and things may work fine, I'm not sure I'd go quite that far. Asking a fast SSD to act as 2 drives would seem to be okay, but acting as 3 at the same time might be pushing things too far. Why not just add another SSD for either recording or sample libraries? Its obvious that you didn't skimp on the rest of the computer, why skimp on something this easy Besides, drive space is cheap and you can never have too much of it(looking around my setup, I count at least 16 drives and some 20TB)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2020, 01:14 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,737
Default Re: Partitions on the main drive MP600 M.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
While you may be right and things may work fine, I'm not sure I'd go quite that far. Asking a fast SSD to act as 2 drives would seem to be okay, but acting as 3 at the same time might be pushing things too far. Why not just add another SSD for either recording or sample libraries? Its obvious that you didn't skimp on the rest of the computer, why skimp on something this easy Besides, drive space is cheap and you can never have too much of it(looking around my setup, I count at least 16 drives and some 20TB)
+1.

I think a M.2 NVMe drive will work, but I'd skip partitioning. Using two would be best, perhaps one for OS and the second for everything else. Backup to externals.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.3 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2020, 07:20 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,737
Default Re: Partitions on the main drive MP600 M.2

I'm not an expert on this, but on second thought, maybe it would be okay to partition? If your build will have only one M.2 drive, I'd probably make 1 partition for the OS - for convenient boot imaging - and a 2nd partition for everything else. All bkups to externals.

Any experts want to chime-in?
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.3 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How big should my audio drive partitions be? guitarzzan Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 02-17-2007 01:41 AM
drive partitions woodshopsound Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-19-2006 07:18 AM
Drive partitions Gordon -10 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 09-03-2005 12:51 PM
how do i tell what partitions belong to what drive maskedman72 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-17-2004 07:42 AM
Drive partitions itchyvinyl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 06-10-2002 11:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com