Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-10-2017, 01:07 PM

Default Avid CoreAudio Manager forcing ProTools 12 Upgrade??? Help Please

Hi everyone, so this is my situation: I am on a Mac Pro(late 2013) running the older OSX Yosemite 10.10.5 operating system. I have ProTools 11 HD, and use an HD Native as well as an omni interface. The reason I have not updated my Mac OS is because the Avid CoreAudio that I use is not compatible with the newer OS. I understand there is a new Avid CoreAudio Manager but it says online that it will limit my capabilities if I am not using ProTools 12.

I am a home musician, give me a guitar a piano or a sax and I know what to do, but unfortunately ProTools and gear and different DAW's are not my strong suit. I am even having trouble honestly explaining my situation. lol

Essentially, in order to update my OS to the newest Mac OS would I:

- Need to upgrade to ProTools 12 HD in order to retain full functionality?

- How would this affect me using Ableton Live, Logic Pro X?

- Is it $300 to upgrade from 11 to 12?

I am sorry if I have information missing that you need in order to give me advice, just ask me and I'll tell you anything else you need to know. I just need help from a community of people who are good at dealing with the software side of recording music!
Old 11-10-2017, 10:31 PM

Default Re: Avid CoreAudio Manager forcing ProTools 12 Upgrade??? Help Please

If you have HD11 it is either $399 if you are on a support plan or if you are not then it is $999 to upgrade into a annual support plan and get HD12

The $299 is for on HD version of PT12 upgrade, NOT HD.