Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2013, 07:27 AM
DESVED DESVED is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 15
Default Impossible to start Pro Tools on MacPro after downgrade Mountain Lion back to LION

Well ... trying to upgrade to mountain Lion on my Mac Pro 2009 even if the Apple specs said it was ok ... it didn't .. so I reinstalled Lion ... nothing wrong so far ...

Before upgrading ... My Pro Tools 10 was working fine 10.3. ...

since the downgrade I tried like 10 times to reinstall Pro Tools ... even went down to 10.2 ... but impossible to open PT anymore ...

the moment I open the program it shuts off instantly ... in less then 2 sec ...

I already uninstalled 10 times ( standard and extended uninstall) reinstalled ... but i always end up at no start at all ...

I even threw away all Avid related files in libraries ... etc ... still nothing ...

it probably had something to do with the trouble trying to upgrade to Mountain Lion ... but the downgrade to Lion works all good on any other program ...

so Im a bit blocked in options after 3 days of trying ... anyone have a tip ??

Thank You for your time.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2013, 12:06 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,293
Default Re: Impossible to start Pro Tools on MacPro after downgrade Mountain Lion back to LIO

Quote:
Originally Posted by DESVED View Post
Well ... trying to upgrade to mountain Lion on my Mac Pro 2009 even if the Apple specs said it was ok ... it didn't .. so I reinstalled Lion ... nothing wrong so far ...

Before upgrading ... My Pro Tools 10 was working fine 10.3. ...

since the downgrade I tried like 10 times to reinstall Pro Tools ... even went down to 10.2 ... but impossible to open PT anymore ...

the moment I open the program it shuts off instantly ... in less then 2 sec ...

I already uninstalled 10 times ( standard and extended uninstall) reinstalled ... but i always end up at no start at all ...

I even threw away all Avid related files in libraries ... etc ... still nothing ...

it probably had something to do with the trouble trying to upgrade to Mountain Lion ... but the downgrade to Lion works all good on any other program ...

so Im a bit blocked in options after 3 days of trying ... anyone have a tip ??

Thank You for your time.
Hi,

When you reinstalled Lion did you wipe the drive and do a totally fresh install?

What version on lion have you updated to? And did you use the "combo" updater

Have you installed the ilok driver?
Is the ilok plugged in yep I've seen that one before!

What interface? Or using built in audio?

A fresh install of lion and fresh install of PT along with the ilok driver and the interface driver if using one and it should be working fine.


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering E-Mixing & Mastering facility
www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.7 Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 Harpertown 8-core UAD-2 Quad / SSL Duende Native. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, Solid State Logic VHD, Anthony De Mario ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2013, 03:18 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 1,791
Default Re: Impossible to start Pro Tools on MacPro after downgrade Mountain Lion back to LIO

Boot in Lion recover, Verify disk (Repair if errors) then Repair permissions.
Restart.
Clean uninstall of Pro Tools.
If not at 10.7.5 use combo updater to get there.
Install PT's HD 10.3.5
Restart.
Pro Tools will Likely will crash on first try (Registration).
Install latest iLok drivers.
Log out / in
Launch Pro Tools again holding the "n" key which will open playback engine.
Adjust CPU's less 1, Buffer start at 512, Disk cache....Choose HDX / HDN what ever you have.
Come back and let us know how you faired.

T
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

PT's HD12.8.2 MacOS 10.13.1 (Avid HDX-1)
(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)(AMD HD 7950-3gb Mac edition 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (still the easiest way for poly recording)
----
Surround-music-design-creation.
Post Music-Sound, Production-Enhancements.
----
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lion -> mountain lion question grant howarth Pro Tools Software (Mac) 3 05-01-2013 01:24 PM
Lion or Mountain Lion for mid-2009 MBP with PT9 miezurecords Pro Tools Software (Mac) 0 03-17-2013 12:38 AM
Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could? EricWillhelm Pro Tools Software (Mac) 9 01-11-2013 11:55 AM
Downgrade from Mountain Lion to Lion The golfer Pro Tools Software (Mac) 7 11-14-2012 06:53 AM
Pro Tools 8.0.5 Mountain Lion Mac 10.8 madballa Post - Surround - Video 1 09-30-2012 05:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com