Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2018, 03:51 PM
Tex Tiles Tex Tiles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Nashville, TN. USA
Posts: 300
Default Mac os 10.6.8 no midi inserts with Mbox2

Just recently my macbook pro with 10.6.8 does not see any midi inputs in the Audio / Midi system prefs. It does however work fine on my other hard drive running 10.5.8 so I know that it is a software error in the mac os and not hardware.

So it loads Mbox2 as an interface but does not detect any midi inputs on the Mbox2.

Does this mean I have to re-install my os? I have already tried trashing prefs and re-installing the Mbox2 driver.

It's driving me nuts. Everything else works fine except it doesn't recognize any midi inputs.

Repeat, not a hardware or cabling issue as it works perfect on the different hard drive and system.

Thanks for you help on this...

I am a little hesitant to re-install my OS as it might muck up other things...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2018, 04:29 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,842
Default Re: Mac os 10.6.8 no midi inserts with Mbox2

Is it ONLY midi that is not working? Might be tough to fix as Mbox 2 is no longer supported(so it might be the OS update that killed the midi function). There are plenty of MIDI-USB interfaces on the market. Just get one that supports the current OS(if you have an open USB port). No open USB? Maybe its time for a new interface?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2018, 10:15 PM
Tex Tiles Tex Tiles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Nashville, TN. USA
Posts: 300
Default Re: Mac os 10.6.8 no midi inserts with Mbox2

Hi Dave, thanks for the response. No it was working fine on 10.6.8 and then the other day stopped detecting any midi inputs on the Mbox2.

I suspect the OS audio/midi is corrupted. I guess I have to re-install the os probably...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-02-2018, 09:57 PM
Tex Tiles Tex Tiles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Nashville, TN. USA
Posts: 300
Default Re: Mac os 10.6.8 no midi inserts with Mbox2

Well it looks like it fixed itself. After I used my ilok for protools 9 on this computer, it now works normally in garageband and logic. I guess protools loaded it up differently and now it works like normal in apple programs. go figure...

thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi inserts - PT10 for Nord Electro 3 magnoliavine Pro Tools 10 0 08-17-2014 11:25 AM
Importing MIDI from Band in a Box/No Inserts column hughbar Windows 4 11-10-2013 10:08 AM
no instrument, inserts, sends on MIDI track? michaelm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 10-31-2009 12:59 PM
MBox2 I/O Inserts - any use for these? ChuckS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-03-2008 03:20 AM
Mbox2 Plug-ins aren't showing up in my inserts BroganSound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-25-2007 09:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com