Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2004, 11:27 PM
DJ Tonic DJ Tonic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 32
Default Mac built in sound output distorted...

Hi, I'm using the output on the mac soundcard to monitor when working in reason, and just recently Its gotten way louder to the point of distortion, I've changed nothing. I've tried everything I can think of and its still distorting. Anyone ever had this problem? Know how to fix it? Thanks.
__________________
G4 MDD Dual 867 1 Gig RAM
Digi 002
80 Gig Lacie Audio drive
Alesis M1 Active MK2 Monitors
Radium 49 MIDI Controller
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2004, 02:23 AM
maccool maccool is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 398
Default Re: Mac built in sound output distorted...

have you recently upgrade Panther to 10.3.6?
__________________
Dual 2.0 G5, 10.4.6, PTLE 7.1, 002R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2004, 09:26 PM
DJ Tonic DJ Tonic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 32
Default Re: Mac built in sound output distorted...

Yeah I did recently go to 10.3.6. You think that has something to do with this?
__________________
G4 MDD Dual 867 1 Gig RAM
Digi 002
80 Gig Lacie Audio drive
Alesis M1 Active MK2 Monitors
Radium 49 MIDI Controller
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2004, 09:49 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Mac built in sound output distorted...

Reason still sounds great on my PowerBook built-in audio, using 10.3.6, into Cambridge Soundworks speakers.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2004, 12:03 PM
maccool maccool is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 398
Default Re: Mac built in sound output distorted...

maybe troll through here at xlr8yourmac, or check out the Apple Discussions, there are reports of something similar. Some say that zapping the PRAM fixed it for them, maybe give that a go in the first instance. I've done the upgrade to 10.3.6, although not on my ProTools' System, and so far the only problem I've had is with Calculator, another common complaint, but not from everyone. Go figure.
__________________
Dual 2.0 G5, 10.4.6, PTLE 7.1, 002R
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2004, 12:09 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Mac built in sound output distorted...

I had a problem with Calculator - wouldn't display unless I selected Show Paper Tape. Trashing calculator preferences fixed it.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-15-2004, 05:45 PM
DJ Tonic DJ Tonic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 32
Default Re: Mac built in sound output distorted...

I tried trashing PRAM and it didn't work. Gonna go check out the apple forum and see if anyone knows there.
__________________
G4 MDD Dual 867 1 Gig RAM
Digi 002
80 Gig Lacie Audio drive
Alesis M1 Active MK2 Monitors
Radium 49 MIDI Controller
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-15-2004, 06:26 PM
DJ Tonic DJ Tonic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 32
Default Re: Mac built in sound output distorted...

Just checked the apple forum. Seems that this distorted output is common mostly among G4 owners and only after 10.3.6 was installed. The only answer I could find was to go back to 10.3.5, or as a temporary fix if you unplug the cord from the output mini jack then plug back in it fixes the problem till the next time you boot then you have to do it again.....Weird. Should have just stuck with 10.3.5.
__________________
G4 MDD Dual 867 1 Gig RAM
Digi 002
80 Gig Lacie Audio drive
Alesis M1 Active MK2 Monitors
Radium 49 MIDI Controller
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDX & Built-in Digital Output? sfere1 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 11-03-2012 07:45 PM
[solved] No sound thru MacPro Built-in Line Output with PT10 Lakhbir macOS 9 11-13-2011 07:08 PM
Nothing but loub buzz whenever I try to use built-in output EricWillhelm macOS 0 09-27-2011 11:26 AM
No output from Mbox: built-in phone output only DaveSullivan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-19-2006 06:03 PM
Sound Output resets to "Built-in" on every reboot Gremz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-12-2001 12:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com