Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-13-2000, 10:24 AM

Default Grid to Click / Generating Click

Please excuse my simple question-- I'm pretty new to ProTools and computer workstations. After reading my Digi001 Manual, I still can't seem to generate a click track. Do I need to set up a MIDI keyboard first, or what? And how do I go about gridding to that click. Also: Does anyone know how to grid to , say, a looped audio file from a drum machine? I cannot figure this stuff out. Thanks for any help!
Old 04-15-2000, 12:09 AM

Default Re: Grid to Click / Generating Click

I am new to it all too, so I will try my best to help, but no gaurentees:
1. Generating click: You need a drum machine cuz the click is a midi thing. This means that there will be three connections between the source and your computer, as opposed to the accustomed one or two with conventional instruments...although not all devices will have all three MIDI ports. These ports are "in" "out" and "thru". If you have these three on your drum machine, make sure they are all being used. Check your manual on pages 14-16. Hopefully we share the same manual!
Once this loop is properly set, you double click on the metronome symbol on the transport window. A box will pop up. Make sure that you select the "during playback and record" option. In most cases, I have been told, the C# represents the click for drum machines, so in the other boxes type in C#. Select how many bars intro you want before record. Close the box. This should do it. Give it a try. I will check in later.

2. Gridding to the click: