Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2019, 06:15 AM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 97
Default Pro Tools 2019 slow dialog boxes

This is a problem that's plagued me since I upgraded to 2019 but I've been so busy I've just ignored it. Dialog boxes (and plugin windows) take ages to open.

An extreme example would be when I do a bounce to disk and have the mp3 option ticked. After pressing OK it can take anything up to 20 seconds for the mp3 dialog to appear.

A more annoying example is when I press [enter] to make a memory location. It takes several seconds for the dialog to come up, which is useless if I happen to be in play or record at the time.

Sometimes I click to open a plugin, nothing happens and I click again thinking I 'missed' the first time. Then of course the plugin appears and immediately disappears, because I didn't miss the first time.

Outside of Pro Tools, the machine runs fine with no delays of this sort in any other application.
__________________
--
Justin

Mix room: Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Digidesign Command|8/Allen & Heath ZED-436 for fun

Studio: Apple Mac Pro 5,1 mid 2012 2x 3.46Ghz 6-Core Xeon, 64GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970 graphics, OSX Sierra 10.12.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12/HDX1/Avid HD 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x8/Custom Raindirk Symphony 32ch. front end
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-29-2019, 06:20 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,858
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 slow dialog boxes

Sorry but not happening here and we have the same computers. I tried all 3 of our trashcan 12cores and PTU 2019.6 works great. So did 2019.5 ...

Only diff is we have the D500 Graphics and D700 on the other two.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-2019, 06:29 AM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 97
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 slow dialog boxes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Only diff is we have the D500 Graphics and D700 on the other two.
You may have a point there. I have D300, and I'm using three displays. I wonder if that's a factor. I'll try removing one when I get a moment.
__________________
--
Justin

Mix room: Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Digidesign Command|8/Allen & Heath ZED-436 for fun

Studio: Apple Mac Pro 5,1 mid 2012 2x 3.46Ghz 6-Core Xeon, 64GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970 graphics, OSX Sierra 10.12.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12/HDX1/Avid HD 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x8/Custom Raindirk Symphony 32ch. front end
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-29-2019, 06:29 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,925
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019 slow dialog boxes

GPU doesn't make a difference here, D300 fast enough. With that said D500 here as well
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools randomly stops being able to type in dialog boxes Inglesworth Pro Tools 10 3 10-17-2015 08:39 AM
authoriaztion dialog boxes zunam666 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-02-2006 03:01 PM
Dialog boxes and dual monitors JPS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 01-08-2005 07:34 AM
File Dialog Boxes Jim 'Alien' Credland Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-17-2004 09:32 AM
DIGI please update the dialog boxes... Compression Records Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-03-2000 05:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com