Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-02-2016, 01:34 PM
briaboy briaboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 339
Default Re: TG12413 Limiter substitute?

I still have the TG12413, TG12414 and RS124 AU pluigins. I "resurrected" them using 32 Lives, so I can still use them.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-02-2016, 01:35 PM
briaboy briaboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 339
Default Re: TG12413 Limiter substitute?

Sorry, should have added that I patch them using Blue Cat's Patchwork.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-03-2016, 02:16 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,897
Default Re: TG12413 Limiter substitute?

Quote:
Originally Posted by briaboy View Post
Sorry, should have added that I patch them using Blue Cat's Patchwork.
I hate that workaround, thus, I never use it. So if there isn't a native AAX available, I consider that plugin lost.

It's a shame Avid did the HDX thing like they did (sorry Avid for saying this) but because people were so used to TDM they should have delivered a SDK and a free HDX card for anyone wanting to port a TDM/RTAS plug to AAX world. And then give support in case they face trouble. Lastly, they should have had HDX pricing the way it is now IN THE BEGINNING, to get more people onboard. The ratio of TDM users versus HDX users is still not good, but with that said I don't have Avid's numbers, only word of mouth from people I'm talking with.

AAX-DSP is great and if history repeats itself, we'll see a HDX-ACCEL or whatever shortly. Original HD hardware was introduced in 2002, then Accel cards in 2003, and lastly PCI-e Accel cards in 2006. So now that we know HDX was introduced in 2011 and we finally have a solid platform (macOS10.12.1 & PT 12.6.1) to build on, and current HDX cards are discounted -- anyone can guess their next card is right around the corner. [Disclaimer, I have zero knowledge about this, everything here is pure speculation]

Saddest thing is the way Avid handled this TDM-->AAX-DSP transition alienated many valued 3rd party vendors such as Waves, TC Electronic, Serato and many more. And the vendors that want to keep supporting Avid DSP have been struggling with their releases, barring Sonnox which had their act together like "day one" or something, very soon anyway.

Okay, end ranting. I expected much much more from this TDM --> AAX-DSP thing and so far it hasn't realised so I'm at HDN currently. Those trusty old TDM rigs are still running great so I kind of have no complaints. Just that I won't be buying the current HDX platform as it is today.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-03-2016, 03:14 AM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,076
Default Re: TG12413 Limiter substitute?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Just that I won't be buying the current HDX platform as it is today.
I think that about sums it up. Personally I went native a long time ago and there have been plenty of replacements for the TDM only plugs I used to use. Even the UAD hardware and plugins are looking expensive in today's market. They have their users tied into their hardware for a good while which was a smart move but it won't last forever. A good many of the third party plugins are available to buy at half the cost or less for native and one doesn't have to buy the expensive DSP to run them on. Sounds like history repeating itself

Stephen
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-03-2016, 07:27 AM
briaboy briaboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 339
Default Re: TG12413 Limiter substitute?

It's not an ideal situation, to have to workaround, but BC Patchwork does the job really well. I have resurrected so many excellent plugins that I still use frequently.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I hate that workaround, thus, I never use it. So if there isn't a native AAX available, I consider that plugin lost.

It's a shame Avid did the HDX thing like they did (sorry Avid for saying this) but because people were so used to TDM they should have delivered a SDK and a free HDX card for anyone wanting to port a TDM/RTAS plug to AAX world. And then give support in case they face trouble. Lastly, they should have had HDX pricing the way it is now IN THE BEGINNING, to get more people onboard. The ratio of TDM users versus HDX users is still not good, but with that said I don't have Avid's numbers, only word of mouth from people I'm talking with.

AAX-DSP is great and if history repeats itself, we'll see a HDX-ACCEL or whatever shortly. Original HD hardware was introduced in 2002, then Accel cards in 2003, and lastly PCI-e Accel cards in 2006. So now that we know HDX was introduced in 2011 and we finally have a solid platform (macOS10.12.1 & PT 12.6.1) to build on, and current HDX cards are discounted -- anyone can guess their next card is right around the corner. [Disclaimer, I have zero knowledge about this, everything here is pure speculation]

Saddest thing is the way Avid handled this TDM-->AAX-DSP transition alienated many valued 3rd party vendors such as Waves, TC Electronic, Serato and many more. And the vendors that want to keep supporting Avid DSP have been struggling with their releases, barring Sonnox which had their act together like "day one" or something, very soon anyway.

Okay, end ranting. I expected much much more from this TDM --> AAX-DSP thing and so far it hasn't realised so I'm at HDN currently. Those trusty old TDM rigs are still running great so I kind of have no complaints. Just that I won't be buying the current HDX platform as it is today.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-03-2016, 09:41 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,547
Default Re: TG12413 Limiter substitute?

Quote:
Originally Posted by briaboy View Post
It's not an ideal situation, to have to workaround, but BC Patchwork does the job really well. I have resurrected so many excellent plugins that I still use frequently.
Have you used the combo on NI's B4II? If so how's that working out?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-03-2016, 09:48 AM
briaboy briaboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 339
Default Re: TG12413 Limiter substitute?

The tonewheel?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-03-2016, 11:01 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,321
Default Re: TG12413 Limiter substitute?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
...because people were so used to TDM they should have delivered a SDK and a free HDX card for anyone wanting to port a TDM/RTAS plug to AAX world. And then give support in case they face trouble...
My understanding is that Avid did exactly this however a lot of developers chose to go with third party SDKs that would compile their existing native code to the two flavors of VST and Audio Units in addition to AAX native. TDM was a necessity and TDM plug-ins sold for a lot more money than people expect to spend today.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-03-2016, 01:01 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,547
Default Re: TG12413 Limiter substitute?

Quote:
Originally Posted by briaboy View Post
The tonewheel?
Yes - the Hammond B3 emulation NI put out - B4II. If you have B4II how's the combo of 32Lives and Patchwork working out for you? Does B4II run okay in all it's aspects?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-03-2016, 01:08 PM
briaboy briaboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 339
Default Re: TG12413 Limiter substitute?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Yes - the Hammond B3 emulation NI put out - B4II. If you have B4II how's the combo of 32Lives and Patchwork working out for you? Does B4II run okay in all it's aspects?
Oh, got you. No I don't have it. I use NI's Vintage Organs (2) which I think was seen as the replacement for the B4II.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Abbey Road TG12413 Limiter TDM on pro tools MIX tny840 Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 08-10-2011 09:22 PM
LImiter on audiotrack Vs Limiter on auxiliar track cinetj General Discussion 2 07-15-2008 11:15 AM
TG12413 Limiter V1.1.7 K.I. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 06-19-2007 02:55 PM
EMI TG12413 Limiter Plug-In Shan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-09-2006 04:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com