Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 09-03-2016, 01:00 PM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,670
Default Re: Replacement for old TDM plugs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
I agree with you in principle but the fact that you have to use so many plug-ins natively were there used to be a TDM version means higher latency.

Major PITA.
And what's the problem with this? Only very few plugins if at all cannot be ADC'ed. Since even PT vanilla supporting an ADC and most plugins having nearly 1-4 samples of latency, it's not an issue anymore.
Recording is a bit different though.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-03-2016, 03:11 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,707
Default Re: Replacement for old TDM plugs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgoorevich View Post
Recording is a bit different though.
Exactly.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-04-2016, 08:12 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,051
Default Re: Replacement for old TDM plugs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgoorevich View Post
Recording is a bit different though.
Exactly again. If you need to record there is still a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-04-2016, 10:02 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,809
Default Re: Replacement for old TDM plugs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WernerF View Post
Exactly again. If you need to record there is still a problem.
No there isn't, unless you're using a plugin that has a problem
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-04-2016, 01:44 PM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,051
Default Re: Replacement for old TDM plugs?

If your tracking method involves making your tracking date sound as much like it's going to sound in your final mix in order to have informed inspiration during your tracking process yes, there will still be a problem with latency as the highest amount of latency transfers to the session from whatever plugin is producing the highest latency. Also, in order to achieve this kind of sound we put plugins on our master buss which can create even more latency problems. This especially applies to tracking or overdubbing a large set of drums with whatever other instrument you might be using.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-04-2016, 01:49 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,707
Default Re: Replacement for old TDM plugs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WernerF View Post
If your tracking method involves making your tracking date sound as much like it's going to sound in your final mix in order to have informed inspiration during your tracking process yes, there will still be a problem with latency as the highest amount of latency transfers to the session from whatever plugin is producing the highest latency. Also, in order to achieve this kind of sound we put plugins on our master buss which can create even more latency problems.
+1000

I mix as I go. By the time I'm mixing the mix is 80/90% done. It's dependent on your workflow.

Sorry to the OP. Getting a bit off topic!
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-04-2016, 03:37 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Replacement for old TDM plugs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WernerF View Post
Also, in order to achieve this kind of sound we put plugins on our master buss which can create even more latency problems. This especially applies to tracking or overdubbing a large set of drums with whatever other instrument you might be using.
Strangely this is where parallel mixer systems can outperform HDX. With an Apollo/SoundGrid/many others - you can have super low latency with plugins on your record enabled channel with delay heavy plugins on the master with no effect on latency for the performer. Of course going this way you are only able to use whatever low latency plugins your interface choice will allow...
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-04-2016, 05:16 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,707
Default Re: Replacement for old TDM plugs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by propower View Post
Strangely this is where parallel mixer systems can outperform HDX. With an Apollo/SoundGrid/many others - you can have super low latency with plugins on your record enabled channel with delay heavy plugins on the master with no effect on latency for the performer. Of course going this way you are only able to use whatever low latency plugins your interface choice will allow...
Regardless of whether it out performs HDX it's a PITA and doesn't sit well with a mix as you go workflow.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.

Last edited by Marsdy; 09-04-2016 at 09:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-04-2016, 11:33 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,809
Default Re: Replacement for old TDM plugs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WernerF View Post
If your tracking method involves making your tracking date sound as much like it's going to sound in your final mix in order to have informed inspiration during your tracking process yes, there will still be a problem with latency as the highest amount of latency transfers to the session from whatever plugin is producing the highest latency. Also, in order to achieve this kind of sound we put plugins on our master buss which can create even more latency problems. This especially applies to tracking or overdubbing a large set of drums with whatever other instrument you might be using.
Latency is a non-issue until it becomes a big issue. Small amount of latency does not matter. Even DSP systems have latency, and as you keep adding plugins, the latency grows as you go. It isn't unusual to see a TDM session with about 350 samples of latency. Somehow it is perfectly fine to track with that, but using a 256 buffer on the native-land is unusable. This is something I have never understood. Big bucks means great performance? Yep, TDM session can have more latency than native session. Deal with it
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-06-2016, 01:53 PM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,051
Default Re: Replacement for old TDM plugs?

Deal with the feeling of driving an ocean liner that responds seconds after you input your course change? That is the feeling you get when you're attempting to play an instrument that has any noticeable monitoring delay on it. No pro musician that I know likes that or performs well under those conditions. Personally I can feel anything above 32 samples of delay and wouldn't, if I had a choice, choose to do an overdub under those conditions. The point with TDM is that the delay comp turns off when the track is in record and then compensates when you listen to playback. You are playing along with the delayed song but you don't experience any monitor delay on your instrument. It's supposed to feel like recording in the analog world.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacement CD? dl0banter Windows 1 09-11-2015 02:49 PM
Native Instrument Plugs vs Stock PT-10 Plugs PatriotsBiker AAX Plug-ins 8 02-04-2013 11:19 AM
Drum Replacement plugs skylab001 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 33 04-03-2011 08:41 PM
Can't Auth plugs after Apple Mobo replacement? jpoprock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-03-2008 10:56 AM
HD and RTAS Plugs, Why Buy TDM Plugs Barry Johns Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-01-2007 08:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com