Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-09-2015, 10:36 AM
RamblerSound RamblerSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 105
Default HD subscription ????

This is very old and tired but here we go. Can Avid please clarify this issue? I thought Q2 was when this was scheduled to be answered by Avid. The FAQ for HD owners states.

Q: Is Pro Tools | HD software available as a subscription?
A: No, not at this time. Pro Tools | HD software is currently only available as part of a full Pro Tools | HDX or Pro Tools | HD Native system purchase or as an upgrade.

I would like Avid to inform all HD owners on how we can subscribe OR remove the verbiage "not at this point". Having this phrase makes it feel like there might be something offered to HD owners at some point. I would like to move on if Avid knows there is no subscription offer for HD owners.

Thank you,

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-10-2015, 11:13 AM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: HD subscription ????

Quote:
Originally Posted by RamblerSound View Post
This is very old and tired but here we go. Can Avid please clarify this issue? I thought Q2 was when this was scheduled to be answered by Avid. The FAQ for HD owners states.

Q: Is Pro Tools | HD software available as a subscription?
A: No, not at this time. Pro Tools | HD software is currently only available as part of a full Pro Tools | HDX or Pro Tools | HD Native system purchase or as an upgrade.

I would like Avid to inform all HD owners on how we can subscribe OR remove the verbiage "not at this point". Having this phrase makes it feel like there might be something offered to HD owners at some point. I would like to move on if Avid knows there is no subscription offer for HD owners.

Thank you,

Scott
This FAQ entry is what lots of people are waiting for an update on too ...

Q: If my Pro Tools | HD Software upgrade/support plan expires and I want to upgrade later on, what are my options?
A: Pro Tools | HD software customers who let their upgrade plans expire will have an opportunity to get back on a plan. Look for more details coming soon.
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.13.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite Octopre and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad with Thunderbolt card, Apollo Twin mk11 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2018, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Logic Pro X, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-10-2015, 11:33 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: HD subscription ????

Coming Soon...

Reminds me of something I saw the other day. It was a permanently-affixed sign outside a cafe, which read "Free Beer Tomorrow."
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-10-2015, 11:41 AM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: HD subscription ????

Lol

Mesaone, please read my new thread here is licensing .... I'm curious .... are you sanguine about that news, or ok with it? Is 12.1 mature enough that people will be comfortable losing access to run 11 when upgrading?

I suppose it probably is, seeing as 12.0 is 'really' 11.4 and therefore 12.1 is, in essence a theoretical 11.5 !
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.13.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite Octopre and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad with Thunderbolt card, Apollo Twin mk11 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2018, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Logic Pro X, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-10-2015, 11:54 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: HD subscription ????

This one? http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=369672

I don't know about other people, but it doesn't pose a problem for me. But I may be a unique case - I've already upgraded one license (it's not 10/11/12) and plan to upgrade another before the end of the year, and I plan to keep others at 11.

That said, I think it's an odd decision. It's a bundle license, so Avid gains nothing by removing 11. Probably just a move to streamline support; it's easier to support one version than two - even if they are similar.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-10-2015, 12:03 PM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: HD subscription ????

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
This one? http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=369672

I don't know about other people, but it doesn't pose a problem for me. But I may be a unique case - I've already upgraded one license (it's not 10/11/12) and plan to upgrade another before the end of the year, and I plan to keep others at 11.

That said, I think it's an odd decision. It's a bundle license, so Avid gains nothing by removing 11. Probably just a move to streamline support; it's easier to support one version than two - even if they are similar.
The problems will come when a future 12.x upgrade no longer works, or is no longer supported, in OSX 10.8.5, which many people, myself included, are staying with for now.
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.13.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite Octopre and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad with Thunderbolt card, Apollo Twin mk11 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2018, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Logic Pro X, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-10-2015, 12:15 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: HD subscription ????

Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelpry View Post
The problems will come when a future 12.x upgrade no longer works, or is no longer supported, in OSX 10.8.5, which many people, myself included, are staying with for now.
I agree. This isn't a problem for me personally (windows machines) but it will be for people who don't keep up with Apples frequent OS revisioning.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EastWest subscription roboman01 Virtual Instruments 42 12-10-2015 04:33 AM
PT 12-HD Subscription? philip888 Pro Tools 12 1 07-01-2015 08:27 PM
Subscription Fail? Mitch Griffin Pro Tools 12 10 05-11-2015 09:27 PM
Question about 12 subscription Kerick23 Pro Tools 12 1 04-29-2015 06:47 AM
Protools SUBSCRIPTION? user1 General Discussion 1 01-21-2002 07:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com