Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-31-2019, 09:45 AM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 97
Default Hardware insert confusion - help!

I'm very confused.

Preparing to test some outboard I've just bought, I have patched my Quantum 4848 interface with outputs 7-8 connected to inputs 7-8.

Opening a session I happen to be working on right now I can instantiate an insert on the master bus (i/o 7-8) and everything works as it should (it's a 96k session and 408 samples of extra delay appear).

But if I instantiate the i/o insert on any audio track or any aux track fed by one or more audio tracks (stereo, i/o 7-8; mono, i/o 7 or 8) I get hideous spitting/crackling noise superimposed on the audio. This is true even if I put the insert onto a track that doesn't happen to have any clips on it, and true if I insert it on one track and solo a different track.

The only place I can put this insert without this happening apart from the master bus is on a stereo aux with a reverb on it being fed from 'sends'.

I'm doing something wrong here but I can't get my head round it.
__________________
--
Justin

Mix room: Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Digidesign Command|8/Allen & Heath ZED-436 for fun

Studio: Apple Mac Pro 5,1 mid 2012 2x 3.46Ghz 6-Core Xeon, 64GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970 graphics, OSX Sierra 10.12.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12/HDX1/Avid HD 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x8/Custom Raindirk Symphony 32ch. front end
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-31-2019, 10:09 AM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 97
Default Re: Hardware insert confusion - help!

I've figured it out by myself - or at least found out what was going on.

The trouble-maker is Ozone 8. If I de-active it, everything works as it should. Put any other plug-in in its place and everything still works as it should.

I can make it work with Ozone 8 if I put the playback buffer size to its maximum setting (2048), even though the session doesn't require that setting without hardware inserts. And even though Pro Tools should have stopped with an error message, not carried on playing with distortion, if that was the problem. By the way, I have "Ignore errors during playback..." UNchecked.
__________________
--
Justin

Mix room: Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Digidesign Command|8/Allen & Heath ZED-436 for fun

Studio: Apple Mac Pro 5,1 mid 2012 2x 3.46Ghz 6-Core Xeon, 64GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970 graphics, OSX Sierra 10.12.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12/HDX1/Avid HD 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x8/Custom Raindirk Symphony 32ch. front end
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware insert 1&2 cutting off other hardware inserts on aux tracks Led Windows 4 12-09-2013 09:19 AM
How to insert hardware as channel insert Lqoau 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-19-2012 07:29 AM
Hardware insert confusion Greg555 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-21-2009 08:51 AM
Need Help: Guitar Rig 2 insert confusion. jammybastard Tips & Tricks 6 03-17-2006 07:15 PM
Hardware Confusion *DELETED* David001 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-14-2001 10:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com