Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2014, 09:32 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Dolby ProLogic

Hi,

Anyone know of any good Dolby ProLogic LtRt encoders on AAX64 Native that aren't Neyrinck?

Thanks,
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2014, 03:56 AM
dford dford is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 89
Default Re: Dolby ProLogic

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8dB.co.uk View Post
Hi,

Anyone know of any good Dolby ProLogic LtRt encoders on AAX64 Native that aren't Neyrinck?

Thanks,



Minnetonka SurCode (V3.0+)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2014, 07:32 PM
CygnusX-1Bk2 CygnusX-1Bk2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 614
Default Re: Dolby ProLogic

I used to use SurCode back in the PS2 days. Easy to use, though it was a little tedious when doing so many game cinematics. But the results were ok.
__________________
I will choose,
Freewill
http://jimdiazaudio.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2014, 04:09 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,079
Default Re: Dolby ProLogic

what's wrong with Neyrinck?
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2014, 04:11 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Dolby ProLogic

Cost.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2014, 05:11 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,884
Default Re: Dolby ProLogic

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8dB.co.uk View Post
Cost.
You get what you pay for..?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-25-2014, 09:06 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Dolby ProLogic

I suspect, given the lack of options and closeness of price that a big chunk is the license fee to Dolby.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-25-2014, 09:27 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Dolby ProLogic

yep, got to keep the hardware in the game
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-04-2014, 02:04 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Dolby ProLogic

Just tried the Minnetonka. Not a fan. You can't seem to separate the encoder and decoder, you can only output on the L&R legs of a 5.1 bus, not a stereo one, there are no industry presets and no Audiosuite version. Not very helpful for my purposes. Need the encoder and decoder to be separate, like Neyrinck. I don't need to decode monitor all the delivery stems I'm making.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dolby ProLogic II D'Animation Post - Surround - Video 4 09-14-2009 03:17 PM
Is Dolby Surround (ProLogic) dead with DTV? Eric Seaberg Post - Surround - Video 5 08-07-2008 04:32 PM
Dolby prologic question, opinions please CLee Post - Surround - Video 13 05-01-2007 04:46 PM
Dolby Prologic II Software SFXPost Post - Surround - Video 9 11-12-2003 09:35 AM
Q for Pros : Mixing for Dolby Prologic (Lt-Rt) ? Aquarius Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-22-2003 08:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com