Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2013, 06:33 PM
epignosis567 epignosis567 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New York City
Posts: 13
Default Pro Tools crashes on quit, doesn't work with Tascam Interface

To be quick about it, I am a lifelong cubase user. I decided to make the switch to Pro Tools. I purchased pro tools and was told it would work with my tascam interface. it did not. And this crappy program just crashed every time I tried to open and close the demo session.

So then I am told, no whoever said it would work with your tascam interface (that literally EVERYTHING else works with perfectly) but whoever told you that was wrong. You need to purchase an Mbox, it will work perfectly then. So I shelled out hundreds of dollars for another over priced piece of trash from this company. Bring it home and hook it up. Yes, now I am able to get audio in and out of pro tools. Woo hoo. That is the most basic function of it. And it still freezes and crashes EVERY TIME I CLOSE THE PROGRAM.

BUT that's not even what I'm mad. What I'm mad about is I purchased pro tools back in November. I am a student and I have not had a minute to sit down with this horrible mess and figure out what the problem is. So now I am on break and I am attempting to figure why the program crashes EVERY TIME I CLOSE IT. I figured surely after spending $1000 for software and a totally basic interface that avid would provide SOME sort of support and be able to help me figure this out. NOPE! They want me to PAY MORE MONEY to ask them why their crappy program crashes every time i use it. Unbelievable.

I have never hated a company so much in all my life. If anyone has any idea why this would be happening please let me know. My next step is to go into their offices in person. I WILL NOT spend $1000 on something that doesn't work and has no warranty or support. And if I am unable to get answers out of them they will not stop hearing from me until they respond. If any admins see this please contact me. No, I do not have a support code. And I'm not paying to talk to someone about something that I spent $1000 on and it crashes.

I am so unbelievably angry right now.

Last edited by DigiTechSupt; 04-06-2013 at 12:55 PM. Reason: Subject updated from "new user, i seriously HATE this company" to reflect symptoms encountered.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-23-2013, 06:46 PM
bashville bashville is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,128
Default Re: new user, i seriously HATE this company

Let me be the first to say welcome to the forum, and make a plea, my friend, for some details(!). I don't even run Windows--I'm just predicting the first 5-10 responses.....

The machine, the OS, the version of PT. All that stuff.
__________________
HD Ultimate (Native), PT2019.5, 192, 3.2 Quad MacPro 5,1, 16 Gig, Sierra
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2013, 06:50 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,361
Default Re: new user, i seriously HATE this company

Please read this thread Help us Help you - READ THIS Before Posting! (<-click the link) Do everything that is listed in there for the optimization, post a sandra report and all the trouble shooting steps you took. Without these information there's a very slim chance that we'll be able to help you. Thanks :)
__________________
Manny.

#BOYCOTTTUSPRODUCTS

just not Pro tools and compatible plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2013, 06:51 PM
epignosis567 epignosis567 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New York City
Posts: 13
Default Re: new user, i seriously HATE this company

Thank you for the welcome. I put all of that info in my signature, so I assumed it would show up here. It is:
Dell 15Z
8gb ram
1tb hd
2.9 gz
pro tools 10 fully updated
mbox 3 brand new today
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2013, 06:56 PM
jryser's Avatar
jryser jryser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Plainfield, IN
Posts: 920
Default Re: new user, i seriously HATE this company

Emcha is great. Take a deeeeep breath, chill a bit (know that u r not alone in frustration but hang in there). Get that Sandra report so Emcha and others can see all details that the smart guys understand. I have decided that PT is the Ferrari of DAWs. Finicky as all get out but when properly tuned there is no other like it. Hang in there and we will get you on track.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
A Rig: MacBook Pro Spring 2013, 2.8Ghz I7, 16GB RAM,
OSX Mavericks 10.9.4, PT 11.2, MBox Pro 3, Glyph GT 050 Qx3 1.5 TB drives Thunderbolt-FW400, Presonus Faderport. 10 REMOVED!
B Rig:MacBook Pro Spring 11, 2.33 GHz I7, 16GB RAM, OSX Mavericks 10.9.4, PT 11.2, MBox Pro 3, Glyph Portagig 62 portable 1 TB drive Firewired with 400, Presonus Faderport. 10 REMOVED!
I am the main songwriter/performer for Midwest Whitetail, Cabela's Deer Nation, Spring Thunder, and Northern Waters Series!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-23-2013, 06:56 PM
epignosis567 epignosis567 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New York City
Posts: 13
Default Re: new user, i seriously HATE this company

Ok I will do all of these things asked prior to posting again. Thank you for the help, I am just absolutely livid to find out that I spent $1000 on software/hardware and the company provides ZERO support and all the product has done since day 1 is crash.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-23-2013, 06:59 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,361
Default Re: new user, i seriously HATE this company

Quote:
Originally Posted by epignosis567 View Post
Thank you for the welcome. I put all of that info in my signature, so I assumed it would show up here. It is:
Dell 15Z
8gb ram
1tb hd
2.9 gz
pro tools 10 fully updated
mbox 3 brand new today
You have to selection Show signature in the user CP -> edit options: thread display options, esle it wont show

Avid does offer support, you should have received an ASC code (after registering your product on the Avid website) with your purchase that would have given you a free call to tech support. Due to the tascam interface you choose though, it would have been limited to your computer and software. Avid can't give tech support on third parties interfaces or controllers and it's pretty normal. Can you also include which interface you bought? might help in the process.
__________________
Manny.

#BOYCOTTTUSPRODUCTS

just not Pro tools and compatible plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-23-2013, 07:03 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,361
Default Re: new user, i seriously HATE this company

Quote:
Originally Posted by jryser View Post
Emcha is great. Take a deeeeep breath, chill a bit (know that u r not alone in frustration but hang in there). Get that Sandra report so Emcha and others can see all details that the smart guys understand. I have decided that PT is the Ferrari of DAWs. Finicky as all get out but when properly tuned there is no other like it. Hang in there and we will get you on track.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Trying to get on our good graces?
__________________
Manny.

#BOYCOTTTUSPRODUCTS

just not Pro tools and compatible plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-23-2013, 07:03 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,905
Default Re: new user, i seriously HATE this company

You need to provide a Sandra Report, this is a more in depth snapshot of the system and computer components you're trying to run Pro Tools on.

Windows users need to provide a Sandra report. Since you haven't even provided any details whether you're running Mac or PC I've posted this assuming it's a windows system.

- Please - Use SiSoftware's Sandra Lite application to generate a full system profile:

www.sisoftware.co.uk

Under SiSoftware Sandra, click on "Download & Buy" to download the free Sandra Lite version or purchase other versions. After installing Sandra, click on the 'Hardware' tab and run the 'Computer Overview', then copy and paste into your post here on the DUC.

You can find videos on how to create a Sandra report here (generously provided by DUC member Benoni) : http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=303059

Any version above PT9 should run with the Tascam (providing your computer is compatible). Sounds to me like whoever you've gotten information about running Pro Tools from either doesn't know what they're talking about or hasn't given you full details.

OK, you've had you rant, now if you want help, provide the details requested.
First thing to find out in the meantime is, are you recording to a separate drive than your OS drive?
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-23-2013, 07:36 PM
epignosis567 epignosis567 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New York City
Posts: 13
Default Re: new user, i seriously HATE this company

i am in the process of optimizing but i cannot complete this step:

To delete the Pro Tools Databases folder in Windows 7:
Go to your Start menu and click on Computer.
Double-click on the C: drive.
Double-click on Program Files.
Go to the Digidesign folder.
Go to the Pro Tools folder.
Right-click on the Databases folder and delete it.
NOTE: If you are using Pro Tools HD, DV Toolkit 2 or Complete Production Toolkit, you will want to backup your Catalogs folder before deleting the Databases folder.


i do not have a folder named digidesign there. i have looked at the other folders and nothing like this is in any of them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PTHD 9.0.5 Crashes on "Quit Pro Tools", Every Time. SmokinBaldMonkey Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 06-04-2012 04:34 PM
PT 10.0.1 crashes on quit BGMusic macOS 0 03-07-2012 12:02 PM
Pro Tools 9 Crashes When Selecting Audio Interface siraltus Pro Tools 9 65 03-26-2011 08:06 PM
Rewire crashes PT8 on quit tonwurm Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 05-15-2009 07:18 AM
One reason why Pro Tools 8 crashes at Quit Arvid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-10-2009 11:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com