Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-2020, 04:35 AM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 778
Default Current state of thunderbolt 3 and HDX...

Well... it looks like existing Sonnet III owners might be s&%t out of luck when it comes to running HDX via TB3. Sonnet have recently updated their website to include the new HDX TB3 model of the III-D & III-R. Despite the updates, the tech docs continue to specifically state that the standard TB3 version of the III explicitly doesn't support HDX. It requires the HDX III model, and there isn't a HDX variation of the TB3 upgrade card available in the store.

Does anyone have any inside info on this? Or does this now indicate an expectation that old III's should just be turfed aside in favour of new ones for HDX to run via TB3?
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5. OSX 10.14.6. HDX1. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 2013. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. AJA XT IO. Sync HD. Dobly Production Suite 3.4.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-05-2020, 06:34 AM
XJENSEN XJENSEN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 258
Default Re: Current state of thunderbolt 3 and HDX...

And would it work over a TB2 to TB3 adapter?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2020, 04:02 PM
paulo m's Avatar
paulo m paulo m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 338
Default Re: Current state of thunderbolt 3 and HDX...

Before this PT version, Sonnet thunderbolt 3 multi slot enclosures like the III D/R were not compatible with PT, you´would need to downgrade by removing the TB 3 card and installing the TB 2 add-on card and then using a TB3 to TB 2 adapter to work with it.

I have a client running such a configuration with HDX with no problem.

Apparently, now this PT version allows Sonnet TB 3 enclosures to be used with up to 3 HDX cards.

Why Sonnet did an HDX edition of the same enclosures (IIID/R) that was already shipping with TB 3 interface, is something that I don´t get it, but there´s probably a reason for it.
__________________
Regards,

Paulo M
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2020, 10:07 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 778
Default Re: Current state of thunderbolt 3 and HDX...

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulo m View Post
Before this PT version, Sonnet thunderbolt 3 multi slot enclosures like the III D/R were not compatible with PT, you´would need to downgrade by removing the TB 3 card and installing the TB 2 add-on card and then using a TB3 to TB 2 adapter to work with it.

I have a client running such a configuration with HDX with no problem.

Apparently, now this PT version allows Sonnet TB 3 enclosures to be used with up to 3 HDX cards.

Why Sonnet did an HDX edition of the same enclosures (IIID/R) that was already shipping with TB 3 interface, is something that I don´t get it, but there´s probably a reason for it.

I have had a brief email exchange with Sonnet. It looks like my concerns are unfounded, but I suspect a bunch of other users might be a little ticked off with the outcome. It appears that the HDX version of the III-D/R is nothing more than a TB2 enclosure running a TB3 interface card. It's offering is the result of an incompatibility in the PCIe 3 bridge in the TB3 version of the III-D/R. In short:

- TB2 enclosure with a TB2 or TB3 interface card, and you're good to go.
- TB3 enclosure requires a TB2 interface card for HDX. It won't work with a TB3 interface card.

I wonder if this was part of the hurdle to achieving more voices for HDX?
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5. OSX 10.14.6. HDX1. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 2013. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. AJA XT IO. Sync HD. Dobly Production Suite 3.4.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-08-2020, 02:52 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,819
Default Re: Current state of thunderbolt 3 and HDX.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
I have had a brief email exchange with Sonnet. It looks like my concerns are unfounded, but I suspect a bunch of other users might be a little ticked off with the outcome. It appears that the HDX version of the III-D/R is nothing more than a TB2 enclosure running a TB3 interface card. It's offering is the result of an incompatibility in the PCIe 3 bridge in the TB3 version of the III-D/R. In short:

- TB2 enclosure with a TB2 or TB3 interface card, and you're good to go.
- TB3 enclosure requires a TB2 interface card for HDX. It won't work with a TB3 interface card.

I wonder if this was part of the hurdle to achieving more voices for HDX?
Thanks for this.

I guess Avid want you to buy their TB3 enclosure or buy a nMac Pro.

I was told by an Apple tech that as soon as you plug a TB2 device into a TB3 port that whole Thunderbolt bus is slowed down to TB2 speed not just the port itself. So I guess there’s that to factor in too.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-08-2020, 04:31 AM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 778
Default Re: Current state of thunderbolt 3 and HDX.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
I guess Avid want you to buy their TB3 enclosure or buy a nMac Pro.

I suspect the Avid TB3 enclosures are just rebranded/repackaged Sonnet devices anyway.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5. OSX 10.14.6. HDX1. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 2013. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. AJA XT IO. Sync HD. Dobly Production Suite 3.4.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-08-2020, 04:33 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,819
Default Re: Current state of thunderbolt 3 and HDX.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
I suspect the Avid TB3 enclosures are just rebranded/repackaged Sonnet devices anyway.
You’re not wrong.
https://www.avid.com/products/pro-to...bolt-3-chassis
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-08-2020, 11:55 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 778
Default Re: Current state of thunderbolt 3 and HDX.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Ha! Goes to show you how little I actually read. I just stared at the pictures. #isolationbrainvacation
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5. OSX 10.14.6. HDX1. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 2013. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. AJA XT IO. Sync HD. Dobly Production Suite 3.4.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-15-2020, 10:06 AM
francois francois is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 828
Default Re: Current state of thunderbolt 3 and HDX...

I was running HDX for 2 years in the TB3 sonnet Egpx with aTb3 to Tb2 adapter with no issues on my Mc trashcan
I had it working with my Macpro 7.1 @ Tb3 yesterday with no issues
__________________
PT 2020 ultimate -HDX1- OSX 10.15- MacPro 7.1
- D-command 24-Trinnov Dmon
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-26-2020, 02:51 AM
mik mik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Paris
Posts: 346
Default Re: Current state of thunderbolt 3 and HDX...

Hi,
I need some advice.
I wanted to put 2 HDX cards on this new Sonnet enclosure with thunderbolt 3.
But it is to use essentially with a 2010 MacPro. we need an extra Pcie slot...

will it work with a Pcie to Thunderbolt 3 sold by Sonnet ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Current state of MDW EQ v.5 Will Russell AAX Plug-ins 9 02-01-2014 04:08 AM
Current State of Exchange Program jaeroe Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 10 05-24-2013 02:35 PM
PT8 - current state of play with plug-ins? K.B. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-20-2009 11:57 AM
The current state of the HUI?? SKI 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 04-24-2002 11:38 AM
current state of nt/mac comparisons AdamFrick Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 11-06-2001 12:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com