Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2014, 04:26 PM
epiphone epiphone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 104
Default Upgrade offer and current bugs

Hey,

Not certain where to post this question to Tony ?

Context:

So, I am an early adopter of 11, you know didn't use it for roughly 1 year cus plugs weren't AAX. Basically I use imovie to make videos and import into PT for the audio.

Typically, I can't work in 11 as apparently there are missing codecs ?

However my last project worked fine in 11 until the last part and then using the same file ,from the same version of imovie, on the same computer, same version of 11 I suddenly get the mysterious missing codec pop up, my project in 11 is dead in the water.

So, I have to open the project in 10 and redo a morning 's work to get it finished.

Question to Tony:

Is Avid going to get 11 working properly ? What is its position on fixing our current software that we early adopters paid a premium for BEFORE you expect us to pay more money for ( wait for it) the same software ?

Sorry I don't mean to be snotty but really ?

Look forward to your constructive response.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2014, 06:44 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,514
Default Re: Upgrade offer and current bugs

For me, it appears to be a matter of the computer(and you gave zero details). On my current rig(see signature) PT10(HD with 003, and now HDN) runs great, but 11 is a total dog. However, on a friend's newer i7 6 core, 11 runs like a champ. Maybe your computer is a bit older and 11 is just happier with later hardware? I am amassing parts for a new 6 core myself
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2014, 09:50 AM
epiphone epiphone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 104
Default Re: Upgrade offer and current bugs

:) I have a very recent mbp i7 with ssd drive, 16 gig of ram and no I don't think the problem is the computer, cus the first time I tried to load an imovie video into 11, I got the codec pop and could run it in 10

the existence of poor video performance in 11 is a well documented issue perhaps you have missed that discussion ?


if I can't use 11 to do what it is supposed to do now, why am I going to pay another $200 US for what, another version of the same software with the same bug and lose pt 10, that I have already payed for ?

question back to Tony,, are you going to fix 11 ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2014, 09:59 AM
Manu101 Manu101 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 116
Default Re: Upgrade offer and current bugs

I had the same problem (missing codec) with PT11

I installed a bunch of final cut pro codec following this guide:

http://www.jonathangrubbs.com/journa...codecs-no-fcp/

"Most" of my missing codec message in PT11 went away with this solution...

worth a try!
__________________
Manu

PT Ultimate - Win10 - i7 7800X - RME Fireface UFX II - 2x Avid S1, 1x Dock with an iPad 7th gen - Genelec 8330 5.1 system
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2014, 02:24 PM
epiphone epiphone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 104
Default Re: Upgrade offer and current bugs

Thank you I will try that !
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
11.1.2 on Mountain Lion bugs bugs bugs. command+f, elastic audio, discoloration farmfresh Pro Tools 11 21 05-01-2014 07:21 PM
$99 Upgrade Offer TimNielsen Pro Tools 9 4 12-12-2010 02:25 PM
What are the current mac bugs? miketeachesclass 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-21-2010 02:53 PM
Is this upgrade offer for real? mattrixx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-12-2009 11:07 AM
? about PT HD upgrade/exchange offer ProdInfo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 03-06-2002 02:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com