Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2010, 12:13 PM
Richardflea Richardflea is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Markinch, United Kingdom
Posts: 69
Default Pro Tools and OS X 10.6.5

So has anybody attempted to use Pro Tools (specifically PT8) with the new OS X 10.6.5 yet?
I'd like to hear from any LE users and see how it's coping so far.



Richard
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-14-2010, 12:08 AM
lane lane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 36
Default Re: Pro Tools and OS X 10.6.5

hey there, I just had to get a new mac book pro today cause my old one is wearing out, anyway, it has 10.6.5. and i can't update PT now to the 10.6.4 combo and there is no 10.6.5 support that i can find so we're F'd in the A until these guys decide to do something about it.
right now PTle8 wont work at all, it opens but hiss distortion every couple 2nds!
lane
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2010, 07:43 AM
Photolum Photolum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Berlin / Germany
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools and OS X 10.6.5

works fine for me on MBP C2D 2.5 GHz (early 2008)
I'm running LE 8.0.4 cs2
but I noticed fans are going up to 4500 rpm
usually they are way more quiet (round 2000 rpm)

no conflict with any of my plug-ins
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2010, 07:46 PM
TMHearne TMHearne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 6
Angry Re: Pro Tools and OS X 10.6.5

System Specs:
Macbook Pro 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
OS X 10.6.5
4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3

M-Audio Fast Track Ultra
Protools M-Powered 8.0.3

Just purchased a brand new Macbook Pro w/ Mac OS X 10.6.5 & M-Audio Fast Track Ultra. Drivers and software seemed to install okay, but now experiencing the following problems:

When PT Loads, I get the Quickstart dialogue, but when I create, name and save a new session, PT stops responding, will not build & load mix & edit windows. When I force quit & relaunch, PT initialization freezes loading a plugin. If I restart, I get the same errors in the same order. Interestingly, if I force quit without restarting, Firefox stops responding immediately when opened (but Safari and Thunderbird work). If I restart and don't try to launch PT, Firefox works. This entire system is all brand new, out of the box.

After many tries, I was able to open a session one time, but it has not worked again.

Please help!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2010, 01:14 AM
axelb247 axelb247 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 73
Default Re: Pro Tools and OS X 10.6.5

MacPro 8-Core 2.26 Intel Xeon
6GB 1066Mhz DDR3
OSX 10.6.5
PTLE 8.0.4

Updated via software updater, trashed all the normal prefs and databases after OSX update before loading PTLE and everything is running perfectly.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2010, 07:49 AM
BGMusic BGMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 433
Default Re: Pro Tools and OS X 10.6.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by axelb247 View Post
MacPro 8-Core 2.26 Intel Xeon
6GB 1066Mhz DDR3
OSX 10.6.5
PTLE 8.0.4

Updated via software updater, trashed all the normal prefs and databases after OSX update before loading PTLE and everything is running perfectly.
Via software updater? I thought we always need to use the combo.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-15-2010, 10:54 AM
axelb247 axelb247 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 73
Default Re: Pro Tools and OS X 10.6.5

Supposedly, but I have updated OSX for the last year or so using the SW updater and never had a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-15-2010, 12:22 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Pro Tools and OS X 10.6.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by axelb247 View Post
Supposedly, but I have updated OSX for the last year or so using the SW updater and never had a problem.
You need to stop that practice because when you do experience a problem, then DTS is going to say "Why did you not use the COMBO update when that is what you were told to do?"

It's just dumb to not follow their advice, especially when you actually are already aware of it.

The last thing you should be doing is spouting on here about how "it worked for me" because you might influence other newbs to follow your bad practices.
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-15-2010, 12:37 PM
BlueThursday BlueThursday is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 241
Default Re: Pro Tools and OS X 10.6.5

It makes sense when you use more than just PT on the computer.
__________________
Mac Pro - 8 core 2.8 GHz - 6GB RAM - 10.5.8
Pro Tools LE 8.0 - MPT2 - 003R
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-15-2010, 01:04 PM
axelb247 axelb247 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 73
Default Re: Pro Tools and OS X 10.6.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by flommer View Post
You need to stop that practice because when you do experience a problem, then DTS is going to say "Why did you not use the COMBO update when that is what you were told to do?"

It's just dumb to not follow their advice, especially when you actually are already aware of it.

The last thing you should be doing is spouting on here about how "it worked for me" because you might influence other newbs to follow your bad practices.
If updating in this way has worked for me for over a year with absolutely no problems what so ever, how did you reach the conclusion that it is 'bad practice' and that something is bound to go wrong? A year is a pretty long time, especially when a computer gets used for at least 8-10 hours of music production work every day, I think something would of reared its ugly head by now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com