Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-2010, 07:49 PM
kyle_182 kyle_182 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default macbook pro 2.53 or 2.66 ghz

I'm interested in getting a 15" macbook pro. from what i have read most opinions argue there is no real worthy difference between between 2.53 and a 2.66 in terms of processing, speed etc. But what i wonder is that with running a program like ProTools LE, will this have an effect. Will one run ProTools more efficiently than the other?
Anyone had experience with running ProTools on the two, especially when its starts using a lot of CPU?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-18-2010, 11:15 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,813
Default Re: macbook pro 2.53 or 2.66 ghz

The performance bump is very small between these (only 5.1383% faster). If that extra bit of performance is important to you then go for it. I would spend the money on more RAM, a faster external hard drive with more cache, or something else. Now the rumor is that Apple may be coming out with newer Macbook Pros soon and an i5 or i7 processor a probability. This will give you more processor cores which does significantly improve the performance of Protools. It may be worth waiting for or at least the prices of the current Macbook Pros will drop when the new ones come out.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.4 running Protools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2010, 07:42 AM
BlueThursday BlueThursday is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 241
Default Re: macbook pro 2.53 or 2.66 ghz

I would love a MacBook Pro also but I keep hearing rumors about a revision, yet I've been hearing about it for quite a while. I don't need the extreme performance as I already have an 8 core Mac Pro for Pro Tools, I'm after solid performance with portability. If I have to go PC to get that I will but would prefer the MacBook Pro, already spec'd out a PC laptop for $1100 with all that I would need.
__________________
Mac Pro - 8 core 2.8 GHz - 6GB RAM - 10.5.8
Pro Tools LE 8.0 - MPT2 - 003R
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2010, 08:05 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,813
Default Re: macbook pro 2.53 or 2.66 ghz

I'm using a 2.4GHz Macbook Pro (pre unibody) and it is solid and stable. It seem just about all firewire equipped Macs have ben pretty stable for Protools with the exception of the new Imac having more than their share of issues. If you don't need extreme performance, the Macbook Pros are great for Protools (Remember you need an external firewire drive). The reason everybody mentions the newer models is that Apple has a pretty predictable lifecycle and update schedule. We just don't want you to kick yourself for not waiting if it is just around the corner.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.4 running Protools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2010, 11:23 AM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,207
Default Re: macbook pro 2.53 or 2.66 ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
I'm using a 2.4GHz Macbook Pro (pre unibody) and it is solid and stable. It seem just about all firewire equipped Macs have ben pretty stable for Protools with the exception of the new Imac having more than their share of issues. If you don't need extreme performance, the Macbook Pros are great for Protools (Remember you need an external firewire drive). The reason everybody mentions the newer models is that Apple has a pretty predictable lifecycle and update schedule. We just don't want you to kick yourself for not waiting if it is just around the corner.
I can second this entire post.
__________________
Dell T5810. Harrison Mixbus 32C. Haven't used PT since 2015 and never been happier.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Regular Macbook Pro vs. Macbook Pro with Retina display pzykt macOS 9 04-02-2013 08:32 AM
Experiences running Eleven Rack with a USB3 MacBook Pro or MacBook Pro Retina? Darryl Ramm Eleven Rack 3 09-18-2012 11:22 PM
Request advice on PTLE Macbook vs Macbook Pro mtbass 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-08-2007 08:53 AM
macbook/macbook pro buffer problems, solution therecordinghouse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-21-2006 04:07 PM
Davecs for Macbook or Macbook Pro running Windows? sgladm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 06-16-2006 08:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com