Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2020, 09:11 AM
BCnSTL's Avatar
BCnSTL BCnSTL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flyover states, USA
Posts: 203
Default ProTools.exe hangs or crashes on close. Every. Single.Time.

Hi Gang,
I have a new PC build - coming from Mac. It's working -ok- but as subject says: ProTools.exe hangs or crashes every single time I close the app. I can't force-close the process (Access Denied). I have to reboot.
I've searched the forum w/o any useful results. I'm hoping someone here can point me in the direction of a solution. Thank you!

Sandra Report:
SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : BC-Prod-PC
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : MicroElectronics B744 PowerSpec
Serial Number : B74403*******
Chassis : Default string Desktop
Mainboard : ASUS PRIME Z390-P
Serial Number : 1910598********
BIOS : AMI (OEM) 2606 10/24/2019
TPM - Trusted Platform Module : INTC Intel 2.0 (PCR 24)
Intel vPro : 12.0.39.1431
Total Memory : 31.88GB DIMM DDR4

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-9700K CPU @ 3.60GHz (8C 3.6GHz/4.9GHz, 3.3GHz IMC/4.3GHz, 8x 256kB L2, 12MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC LGA1151

Chipset
Memory Controller : ASUS Core8S (Coffeelake-S) Host Bridge/DRAM Registers 100MHz, 2x 16GB DIMM DDR4 3.2GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Crucial/Micron BL8G32C16U4BM8FE1 8GB DDR4 1Rx8 PC4-25600U DDR4-3200 (19-19-19-43 4-62-20-7)
Memory Module : (Bad)/Hynix (Hyundai) NMUD480E86-3200 8GB DDR4 1Rx8 PC4-25600U DDR4-3200 (17-17-17-38 4-58-19-6)
Memory Module : Crucial/Micron BL8G32C16U4BM8FE1 8GB DDR4 1Rx8 PC4-25600U DDR4-3200 (19-19-19-43 4-62-20-7)
Memory Module : (Bad)/Hynix (Hyundai) NMUD480E86-3200 8GB DDR4 1Rx8 PC4-25600U DDR4-3200 (17-17-17-38 4-58-19-6)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Dell Computer DELL U3818DW
(3840x1600, 37.5")
Video Adapter : Intel(R) UHD Graphics 630 (24CU 192SP SM6.4 1.2GHz, 768kB L2, 128MB DDR4 6.4GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL : Intel(R) UHD Graphics 630 (192SP 24C 1.2GHz, 512kB L2, 12.8GB DDR4 6.4GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)
D3D 11 : Intel(R) UHD Graphics 630 (192SP 24C 1.15GHz/1.2GHz, 768kB L2, 128MB DDR4 6.4GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)
OpenGL : Intel(R) UHD Graphics 630 (192SP 24C 1.15GHz/1.2GHz, 768kB L2, 128MB DDR4 6.4GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)

Storage Devices
Disk : WDC WDS100T2B0C-00PXH0 (1TB, PCIe3x2/NVMe)
Disk : WDC WDBA3V0010BNC-WRSN (1TB, PCIe3x2/NVMe)
Disk : Memorex Mini (32.2GB, USB2)

Logical Storage Devices
Windows (C:) : 931GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WDS100T2B0C-00PXH0 (1TB, PCIe3x2/NVMe)
Windows RE tools : 400MB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WDS100T2B0C-00PXH0 (1TB, PCIe3x2/NVMe)
BC PC Data (E:) : 931GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WDBA3V0010BNC-WRSN (1TB, PCIe3x2/NVMe)
BC WAVES (D:) : 30GB (FAT32, 8kB) @ Memorex Mini (32.2GB, USB2)
SYSTEM : 252MB (FAT32, 2kB) @ WDC WDS100T2B0C-00PXH0 (1TB, PCIe3x2/NVMe)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller #1 : ASUS Z390 (Cannon Point) LPC/eSPI Controller
Audio Device : ASUS ICH300 (Cannon Point) cAVS
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi High Definition Audio
Disk Controller : ASUS ICH300 (Cannon Point) Shared SRAM
Disk Controller : ASUS ICH300 (Cannon Point) SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : Sandisk Standard NVM Express Controller
Disk Controller : Sandisk Standard NVM Express Controller
USB Controller #1 : ASUS ICH300 (Cannon Point) USB 3.1 xHCI Host Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller #1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft Software Printer Driver (300x300, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer v4 (600x600, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft Print To PDF (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Biometrics
Voice : Analog NUI Voice Virtual Sensor (Voice)

Peripherals
Media Player : Memorex Mini (29.91GB)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GbE Family Controller (Ethernet)
Network Adapter : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network) (Ethernet)
Wireless Adapter : Intel(R) Wireless-AC 9461 (802.11ac (VHT), AES-CCMP, 390Mbps)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 10 Professional 10.0.18363
Platform Compliance : x64
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-27-2020, 10:48 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,659
Default Re: ProTools.exe hangs or crashes on close. Every. Single.Time.

You didn’t specify what version of Pro Tools you’re trying to run, but in your Sandra report, I see 2 different kinds of RAM. And one set says (bad). Try removing those (bad) and see if that helps. Pro Tools really needs all RAM sticks to be identical. Did you install Pro Tools to the default location, or direct it somewhere else?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2020, 11:01 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,977
Default Re: ProTools.exe hangs or crashes on close. Every. Single.Time.

A common cause of this (Discussed on DUC many times before) is a bad plugin or a corrupt session.... so trash prefs and test by removing all third party plugins. (EDIT... do this after fixing the obvious RAM problem, if you still have the issue).

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 05-27-2020 at 04:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2020, 12:02 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,534
Default Re: ProTools.exe hangs or crashes on close. Every. Single.Time.

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Crucial/Micron BL8G32C16U4BM8FE1 8GB DDR4 1Rx8 PC4-25600U DDR4-3200 (19-19-19-43 4-62-20-7)
Memory Module : (Bad)/Hynix (Hyundai) NMUD480E86-3200 8GB DDR4 1Rx8 PC4-25600U DDR4-3200 (17-17-17-38 4-58-19-6)
Memory Module : Crucial/Micron BL8G32C16U4BM8FE1 8GB DDR4 1Rx8 PC4-25600U DDR4-3200 (19-19-19-43 4-62-20-7)
Memory Module : (Bad)/Hynix (Hyundai) NMUD480E86-3200 8GB DDR4 1Rx8 PC4-25600U DDR4-3200 (17-17-17-38 4-58-19-6)
Bad RAM and mis-matched RAM??? As said, all RAM should be exactly matched. First step(for me) would be to pull the Hynix RAM and see what happens.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-28-2020, 10:10 AM
BCnSTL's Avatar
BCnSTL BCnSTL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flyover states, USA
Posts: 203
Default Re: ProTools.exe hangs or crashes on close. Every. Single.Time.

The RAM tests fine. THere are no other issues with PT sessions or any other programs. No anomolies or random crashes *except* when I close Pro Tools.

I'll replace the RAM as a precaution but I do not believe that's the smoking-gun here.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-28-2020, 11:08 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,534
Default Re: ProTools.exe hangs or crashes on close. Every. Single.Time.

SYSTEM : 252MB (FAT32, 2kB) @ WDC WDS100T2B0C-00PXH0 (1TB, PCIe3x2/NVMe)

what is this^^^ and why is it formatted as FAT32?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2020, 10:09 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,977
Default Re: ProTools.exe hangs or crashes on close. Every. Single.Time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BCnSTL View Post
The RAM tests fine. THere are no other issues with PT sessions or any other programs. No anomolies or random crashes *except* when I close Pro Tools.

I'll replace the RAM as a precaution but I do not believe that's the smoking-gun here.
You can move all .aaxplugins out of the plugin folder, trash prefs and restart pro tools and have all that done within a minute or so. So just try it... and the results are?

But... memory tests are notoriously useless at finding corner cases, passing them really does not help... they are very useful when they fail. But that Sandra flagged an issue here, or just that you have mismatching DIMMs is just bad and you should fix anyhow... so great you are doing that.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-28-2020, 10:19 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,977
Default Re: ProTools.exe hangs or crashes on close. Every. Single.Time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
SYSTEM : 252MB (FAT32, 2kB) @ WDC WDS100T2B0C-00PXH0 (1TB, PCIe3x2/NVMe)

what is this^^^ and why is it formatted as FAT32?
Likely the UEFI/EFI partition.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-30-2020, 02:13 PM
BCnSTL's Avatar
BCnSTL BCnSTL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flyover states, USA
Posts: 203
Default Re: ProTools.exe hangs or crashes on close. Every. Single.Time.

I changed my display resolution form 3840x1600 w/scaling @%150 to 2560x1080 w/scaling at %100 - and poof - the the post-close crash seems to have gone.
CPU usage is way down too.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-30-2020, 02:20 PM
BCnSTL's Avatar
BCnSTL BCnSTL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flyover states, USA
Posts: 203
Default Re: ProTools.exe hangs or crashes on close. Every. Single.Time.

Oh - I’m running PT 2020.5 - I use a bunch of latest WAVES, Toontrack VIs, SoundToys and some ValhallaDSP plugins. Nothing nichey or esoteric. I use an Eleven Rack for audio I/O.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools hangs on close dobes Pro Tools 2020 3 04-11-2020 04:24 PM
ProTools Crashing every time I close a session drvibb Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 02-28-2010 06:08 AM
PT 7.4 cs5 OSx 10.4.11 Protools hangs on session close xxicjoy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-25-2009 01:08 PM
Protools free hangs when i close app hat123 Digidesign Hardware & Software 3 07-19-2001 05:10 AM
protools freezes/hangs/crashes/etc after about 20-60mins cazfair 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 03-18-2001 05:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com