Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2020, 06:34 AM
StillHollow StillHollow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 75
Default Pro Tools 2020.3 in Windows 10

How is this working out for everyone thus far?

More problematic or less problematic than usual upgrades?

Are there any possible deal breakers that would make it prudent to hold off upgrading until the next patch?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2020, 06:55 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,759
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.3 in Windows 10

So far so good.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.3 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2020, 09:32 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,908
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.3 in Windows 10

Working well here, but I had no issues with the last version of 2019 either.

I do quite like routing folders, hopefully it is just the first iteration of them and they can be updated - I'd like to see a waveform of my closed routing folder for example.

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2020, 06:44 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,659
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.3 in Windows 10

Still haven’t ironed out my issues with the video engine not working at all, but I’m about to try an Nvidia fx1800 card.
Also haven’t tried it yet (no point in it for me without video working) but I hear the omf import is broken.
Those two issues aside, everything else does what I need it to do. Large music sessions, no problems.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-17-2020, 07:02 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,908
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.3 in Windows 10

Yeah, it will very much depend on what features you use in Pro Tools. I don't use video, so I wouldnt notice if there were issues there. Also use minimal MIDI, so the lack of MIDI updates arent a concern for me.

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-18-2020, 07:19 AM
StillHollow StillHollow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 75
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.3 in Windows 10

Thank you all for your thoughts. I will likely upgrade this weekend.

I’ve heard stories of not being able to go back so loss of basic functionality as a trade off for folders is not an equitable choice for me at this point.

I don’t do any video work so I could care less about the video engine. Thanks again everyone!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-18-2020, 03:00 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,534
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.3 in Windows 10

Working well here too, but as with any update, having a backup plan is always a good idea
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-19-2020, 01:32 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,659
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.3 in Windows 10

Vidplayvst.com to the rescue, with Blue Cat Patchwork on an instrument track. $25 (since I already have Patchwork,) and I have a workable video window.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-19-2020, 06:51 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,659
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.3 in Windows 10

Update. DNxHD works great, H264 works great, .mov files are good, mxf files give video but no audio reference track. One negative I’ll have to live with is that the video window doesn’t scrub with the audio. Spotting frame-specific effects will be a little trickier, but is doable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2020.3 on Windows 10 - video corruption and cannot uninstall mkosacek Pro Tools 2020 14 05-25-2020 10:19 PM
Pro Tools (2020.3) on MacBook Air 2020 compatibility pellekuipers Pro Tools 2020 1 04-04-2020 08:01 AM
Pro Tools 2020.1 off the wall Pro Tools 2019 138 01-21-2020 07:12 PM
New Avid Link 2020.1 - launched today 1/16/2020 marianna Licensing & Accounts 8 01-16-2020 11:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com