Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-15-2011, 05:16 PM
IG_Games IG_Games is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Burbank California
Posts: 5
Default New Computer with new -6086 error. + Sandra report

Just got a new upgraded workstation with the same gear, just bigger + windows 7. Now I'm getting the dreaded -6086 error. I went into my playback engine and tried all the the H/W Buffer sizes. Tried using all 1-8 Host Processors. Switched the CPU Usage Limit between 70% up through 99%. Even tried every DAE Playback Buffer combination. Im thinking there is something right in my face that I am missing. Any ideas?

< Computer > Model: Dell Precision WorkStation T7500
< Processor > Model: 2x Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5640 @
2.67GHz
Speed: 2.8GHz
Cores per Processor: 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core: 1 Unit(s)
Type: Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache: 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64
byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 On-board Cache: 4x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64
byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 On-board Cache: 12MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 16-way,
Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 8 threads
sharing

< Computer > Mainboard: Dell 06FW8P
BIOS: Dell A07 10/08/2010
Bus(es): X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/
SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support: 2 Processor(s)
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (:Yes
Total Memory: 12GB ECC DIMM DDR3

< Chipset > Model: Dell 5520 (Tylersburg-36D) I/O Hub
Front Side Bus Speed: 2x 3GHz (5.85GHz)

< Chipset > Model: Intel Server (Gulftown) Uncore
Front Side Bus Speed: 2x 3GHz (5.85GHz)
Total Memory: 6GB ECC DIMM DDR3
Channels: 3
Memory Bus Speed: 2x 532MHz (1GHz)

< Chipset > Model: Intel Server (Gulftown) Uncore
Front Side Bus Speed: 2x 3GHz (5.85GHz)
Total Memory: 6GB ECC DIMM DDR3
Channels: 3
Memory Bus Speed: 2x 532MHz (1GHz)

< Memory Module(s) > Memory Module: Hynix HMT112U7TFR8C-H9 1GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-
10600U DDR3-1332
Memory Module: Hynix HMT112U7TFR8C-H9 1GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-
10600U DDR3-1332
Memory Module: Hynix HMT112U7TFR8C-H9 1GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-
10600U DDR3-1332
Memory Module: Hynix HMT112U7TFR8C-H9 1GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-
10600U DDR3-1332
Memory Module: Hynix HMT112U7BFR8C-G7 1GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-
8500U DDR3-1066
Memory Module: Hynix M391B2873FH0-CH9 1GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-
10600U DDR3-1332
Memory Module: Hynix HMT112U7TFR8C-H9 1GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-
10600U DDR3-1332
Memory Module: Hynix HMT112U7TFR8C-H9 1GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-
10600U DDR3-1332
Memory Module: Hynix HMT112U7TFR8C-H9 1GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-
10600U DDR3-1332
Memory Module: Hynix HMT112U7BFR8C-G7 1GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-
8500U DDR3-1066
Memory Module: Hynix HMT112U7BFR8C-G7 1GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-
8500U DDR3-1066
Memory Module: Hynix M391B2873FH0-CH9 1GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-
10600U DDR3-1332

< Video System > Video Adapter: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series (SM5.0 850MHz, 1GB
DDR5 4x1.2GHz, PCIe 2.00 x16)
Video Adapter: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series (SM5.0 850MHz, 1GB
DDR5 4x1.2GHz, PCIe 2.00 x16)

< Graphics Processor > Compute Shader Processor: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series (1012MB 4x1.2GHz)

< Storage Devices > WDC WD800ADFS-75SLR2 (80GB, SA:75GB (E:)
WDC WD5000AAKS-75V0A0 (500.1GB:466GB (C:)
Seagate ST31500341AS (1.5TB, S:1TB (X:)
Sony Storage Media 16GB (USB): 15GB (F:)
TSSTcorpDVD-ROM TS-H353C (SATA:6GB (D:)

< Logical Storage Devices > SoundForge (E:): 74GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD800ADFS-75SLR2 (80GB,
SATA300, 3.5", 20000rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
BDEDrive: 300MB (NTFS)
Projects (X:): 1TB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST31500341AS (1.5TB,
SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ)
Removable Drive (F:): 15GB (FAT32) @ Sony Storage Media 16GB (USB)
OSDisk (C:): 465GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5000AAKS-75V0A0 (500.1GB,
SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
NHTDiscOne (D:): 6GB (UDF) @ TSSTcorpDVD-ROM TS-H353C (SATA150,
DVD+-R, CD-R, 198kB Cache)

< Peripherals > LPC Hub Controller 1: Dell LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1: SMSC SCH5504-NS
Audio Device: Dell HD Audio Controller
Audio Codec: Analog Devices 194Ah
Audio Device: ATI (AMD) EG JUNIPER XT Audio Device [Radeon
HD 5700 Series]
Audio Codec: ATI (AMD) HDMI Audio
Serial Port(s): 1
Parallel Port(s): 1
Disk Controller: Dell 6 port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller: Dell SAS 6/iR Integrated Workstations RAID
Controller
USB Controller 1: Dell USB UHCI Controller #4
USB Controller 2: Dell USB UHCI Controller #5
USB Controller 3: Dell USB UHCI Controller #6
USB Controller 4: Dell USB EHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 5: Dell USB UHCI Controller #1
USB Controller 6: Dell USB UHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 7: Dell USB UHCI Controller #3
USB Controller 8: Dell USB EHCI Controller #1
FireWire/1394 Controller 1: Dell TSB43AB22 1394a-2000 OHCI PHY/Link-Layer
Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1: Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

< Printers and Faxes > Printer: Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600,
Colour)
Fax: Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer: Brother HL-5370DW series (600x600)
Printer: HP Universal Printing PCL 5 (600x600, Colour)

< Peripherals > Media Player: Sony Storage Media (15GB)

< Network Services > Network Adapter: Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Controller
(Ethernet, 1Gbps)

< Power Management > Mains (AC) Line Status: On-Line

< Operating System > Windows System: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7600
Platform Compliance: x64

< Windows Experience Index > Current System: 5.9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-15-2011, 05:25 PM
IG_Games IG_Games is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Burbank California
Posts: 5
Default Re: New Computer with new -6086 error. + Sandra report

Woops! Forgot to add, Running Pro Tools LE 8.0.3
Mbox 2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-15-2011, 05:32 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,500
Default Re: New Computer with new -6086 error. + Sandra report

Mis-matched RAM raises a red flag for me. Does that motherboard really have 12 RAM slots? Is that drive E: really 20000 rpm?? Might also be an incompatible chip on the firewire controller(an approved firewire card could fix that if its the issue). Is this a clean load of Windows 7, or a Dell load(full of Dell bloatware)?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-15-2011, 06:04 PM
IG_Games IG_Games is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Burbank California
Posts: 5
Default Re: New Computer with new -6086 error. + Sandra report

Whoa! Thanks for the super quick reply albee1952!

-Yes my computer does have 12 ram slots.
-Yes the e:drive does run at 20000 rpm, (new raptor)
-This was a Base Dell Box with Mother Board. The RAM, video card, and OS were added and installed by hand.

Also I'm not using the Firewire port, it just came with the system. If its not in use does it still mess with ProTools?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-15-2011, 06:13 PM
aus scott aus scott is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 185
Default Re: New Computer with new -6086 error. + Sandra report

Quote:
Originally Posted by IG_Games View Post
Also I'm not using the Firewire port, it just came with the system. If its not in use does it still mess with ProTools?
Disable it and see...strange things happen in software land...

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-15-2011, 06:19 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: New Computer with new -6086 error. + Sandra report

I would download CPUz from and see what speed and timing the memory is running at under windows.

I do agree with Albee that mismatched RAM is the first thing I would look at.

Looks like you pretty much have a Mac Pro from the hardware stand point
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-15-2011, 06:51 PM
IG_Games IG_Games is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Burbank California
Posts: 5
Default Re: New Computer with new -6086 error. + Sandra report

Thanks for the replies!
I started with the easy part and disabled the Firewire port. Still getting the same error. Going to get some matching ram sticks to replace the odd flavors and try again.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-16-2011, 08:40 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,500
Default Re: New Computer with new -6086 error. + Sandra report

Quote:
Originally Posted by IG_Games View Post
Thanks for the replies!
I started with the easy part and disabled the Firewire port. Still getting the same error. Going to get some matching ram sticks to replace the odd flavors and try again.
Before you run out and buy more stuff, just remove the odd ones and use what you have that all matches(even just 3gb with 3 matching sticks will give you triple-channel mode so you can see if it helps).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-16-2011, 11:31 AM
IG_Games IG_Games is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Burbank California
Posts: 5
Default Re: New Computer with new -6086 error. + Sandra report

Well that just about did it. Replaced the three rogue ram sticks and the error has gone... kind of. I ran it hard with about 12 plugins on 20 channels while editing and it was fine. I then recorded on a new track in the same session, still fine. Did this for about 20 mins with no error. I opened a new session, imported one sound into the session, and pressed play. Got the error again.

On the bright side, it has only happened once so far, but atleast I can now get some work done!

Thanks everyone for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-05-2011, 09:29 PM
lilmone lilmone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: birmingham ,al
Posts: 10
Default Re: New Computer with new -6086 error. + Sandra report

i keep havin 6086 error to cant even record ah whole session

SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Dell OptiPlex GX280
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : mone-2948b36bc8
User : taz

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
Speed : 3GHz
Cores per Processor : 1 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Integrated Data Cache : 2x 16kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 lines per sector
L2 On-board Cache : 2x 1MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 lines per sector

Computer
Mainboard : Dell 0C7195
BIOS : Dell A04 02/09/2005
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 2GB DIMM DDR2

Chipset
Model : Dell 82915G/GV/GL/P/PL/GL/910GE/GL Grantsdale Host Bridge/DRAM Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 200MHz (800MHz)
Total Memory : 2GB DIMM DDR2
Shared Memory : 8MB
Channels : 2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 267MHz (534MHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Qimonda 64T128020HU3SB 1GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-5300U DDR2-666 (5-5-5-15 3-20-5-3)
Memory Module : Qimonda 64T128020HU3SB 1GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-5300U DDR2-666 (5-5-5-15 3-20-5-3)

Graphics Processor

Storage Devices
Seagate ST380013AS (80GB, SATA150, 3.5", NCQ, 8MB Cache) : 75GB (C:)
HL-DT-ST GCE-8483B (ATA33, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : 683MB (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 74GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST380013AS (80GB, SATA150, 3.5", NCQ, 8MB Cache)
Audio CD (D:) : 0bytes (CDFS) @ HL-DT-ST GCE-8483B (ATA33, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
3.5" 1.44MB (A:) : N/A

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Intel 82801FB/FR (ICH6/ICH6R) LPC Interface Bridge
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : SMSC LPC47M584-NC
Audio Device : Dell Optiplex GX280
Audio Codec : Analog Devices 0074h
Serial Port(s) : 1
Parallel Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : Dell 82801FB (ICH6) Ultra ATA Storage Controller
Disk Controller : Dell Optiplex GX280
USB Controller 1 : Dell Optiplex GX280
USB Controller 2 : Dell Optiplex GX280
USB Controller 3 : Dell Optiplex GX280
USB Controller 4 : Dell Optiplex GX280
USB Controller 5 : Dell Optiplex GX280
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Network Services
Network Adapter : Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Controller - Packet Scheduler Miniport (Ethernet, 100Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 3)
Platform Compliance : x86
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Underflow error (6085) (w/ Sandra report) TheEvilCow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-14-2011 07:17 PM
Error 9073 + SANDRA Report + Problem Details...Need Help FierceBrew 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 12-08-2010 12:03 PM
6086 Error - H/W Buffer [Sandra report included] laserfloyd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 08-09-2010 08:42 AM
Getting a Runtime error (Sytem log errors and Sandra report run) keithl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-30-2010 10:22 AM
increase h\w buffer error with sandra report cfinch 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-14-2008 09:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com