Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-05-2010, 03:17 PM
Hooh Hearted Hooh Hearted is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Nashville USA
Posts: 37
Default From Studio to Home PC

I'm a newbie operating on windows vista. I would like to go into a professional studio which uses pro tools to lay down tracks, then bring the data back home and play around with it on my computer. What product(s) should I be looking to purchase?

note: I have an acoustic guitar w/hook up, a fender acoustasonic jr amplifier, and some basic sm57 and sm58 mics. It would be nice to record here as well.

I've read that purchasing a seperate hard drive just for music is ideal. If So are there any that come highly recommended for pro tools, or are they all alike when comparing apples to apples?

I'm also unsure whether or not my sound card will be adequate. Is there a particular one that is also highly recommended?

Answers and/or recommendations to any/all of my questions will be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-2010, 05:18 PM
aus scott aus scott is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 185
Default Re: From Studio to Home PC

You've got some homework to do

Firstly, you MUST buy a PT interface...your soundcard will not work with PT.

http://www.avid.com/US/categories/Di...o-Workstations

...scoll down to 'Personal Systems and Software' and find one that works for you.

Secondly it's best to build a computer - not a lot of off the shelf stuff likes PT very much. Go here and do some reading...

http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=238426

Cheers,

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2010, 05:25 PM
Violet Violet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 526
Default Re: From Studio to Home PC

Welcome Hooh Hearted, as far as user friendly goes, Pro Tools has the best work flow of any DAW. Though I haven't gotten a chance to give Digital Performer a run.
__________________
PT 9.0.3
Windows 7 64 bit, 2x i7 PCs, 24GB, 3 SSD's, 5 HD's
....and a couple other toys.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2010, 04:41 PM
Hooh Hearted Hooh Hearted is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Nashville USA
Posts: 37
Default Re: From Studio to Home PC

Hi guys thanks for responding.
I apparently need to sign back in and dig up the post to see if there are responses.
If there's a way for this site to notify me of a response by email, could you let me know? Thanks in advance. :)

Thanks too, scott for the links...very informative.

I'm considering buying the MBox2 that comes with PT LE. I'm not looking to make a record, just someting I could put together demos with and record song ideas etc. Any thoughts on the MBox2?

My biggest question would be...If I install the Pro Tools LE on my PC, would I be able to go into a studio that uses Pro Tools and bring something home and do some mixing my self?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-15-2010, 05:58 PM
Mr. Kelly Mr. Kelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Newton, MA 02458
Posts: 247
Default Re: From Studio to Home PC

The short and easy answer is yes, you can take files recorded in PT at a studio home to work on with a computer running PT.

The longer and much more complicated answer involves getting your home computer to actually work with Pro Tools. That, sometimes, can be very tricky.

Take some time to read carefully the threads at the beginning of this forum, such as the compatibility threads, and also the related info that is linked on this site to the product you own, or are thinking of purchasing. Don't just skim through this stuff. There are many on here that wold hate to see you buy equipment, only to find out that the computer that you purchased won't run Pro Tools, or it just won't work well with PT (don't shrug your shoulders at this... it happens frequently).

It's even worse for laptops. Be extra careful if you're expecting to use a laptop.

Make good decisions now, and PT will pay off with great satisfaction. I've had 10 years of proof of that!

GOOD LUCK!! Pro Tools is a fantastic application - once you get the hang of it, and once it's up and running!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-15-2010, 06:20 PM
Hooh Hearted Hooh Hearted is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Nashville USA
Posts: 37
Default Re: From Studio to Home PC

Thanks, Kelly. Sound advise. I was kind of getting the vibe that PT and alot of PC's don't get along, but hearing you say it solidifies it. I'll keep researching, makes me feel relief that my bid on ebay for a new MBox2 wasn't the winner. :)

I wonder...if I found another DAW that seemed more compatible with my Dell inspiron running on Vista, would I still be able to take something from the studio(which will likely be recorded using PT) and do some mix work at home?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-15-2010, 06:26 PM
Hooh Hearted Hooh Hearted is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Nashville USA
Posts: 37
Default Re: From Studio to Home PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hooh Hearted View Post
Thanks, Kelly. Sound advise.


No pun intended.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-15-2010, 08:07 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,514
Default Re: From Studio to Home PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hooh Hearted View Post

I wonder...if I found another DAW that seemed more compatible with my Dell inspiron running on Vista, would I still be able to take something from the studio(which will likely be recorded using PT) and do some mix work at home?
There are ways to move audio between most any DAW plaform, most any OS and even back and forth between Mac and PC. If you use the same software on both platforms, sessions should transfer fine(say Cubase on Mac to Cubase on PC, given similar versions. One surefire way to work at home is to consolidate all audio tracks(so each track is a single audio file) and export them as wave files(use a pendrive or external hard drive makes transporting the files a breeze). Of course that only allows you to carry audio back and forth(no session info or plugins). If you are using midi instruments at one location, you would probably want to print them to audio tracks too. Staying consistent with the DAW software gives the best versatility.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-15-2010, 08:16 PM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: From Studio to Home PC

Just record or copy your sessions to an external drive and bring it with you. If you have V8 most other ver will be compatable. However most high end studio's have HD Pro Tools.
__________________
www.rickqueststudio.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT: Home Owner's Insurance when Studio is at home Dizzi45Z Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 07-16-2010 03:34 PM
Recording in real studio, mixing at home w/ Pro Tools, mastering at real studio scummyjob 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 05-17-2010 03:02 AM
Need help for my very first home studio Nilo Santos 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 07-14-2008 05:44 PM
Home Studio or Commercial Studio (HELP!!!) cityscholar Tips & Tricks 3 10-29-2004 05:57 AM
Home Studio 2 mane 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 10-25-2002 04:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com