Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2017, 08:43 PM
nvansistine nvansistine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: SC
Posts: 8
Default Question about Mac Pro Specs

I'm looking at getting a refurbished Mac Pro to replace my current iMac, but I'm still trying to understand what I'm looking at to optimize the specs.

Looking over some other threads, I've seen more people leaning towards Number of Cores > Faster CPU, but I would appreciate a second opinion for what I'm looking at with machines in my price range.

One option is 6 Cores, 3.46Ghz. The other is 12 Cores, 2.93Ghz.

I really like that I could get double the cores for the same price on the second machine, but don't know if it that would benefit my ProTools experience at all. I'm typically working as an editor, and do almost no live recording, but need to run a lot of plugins (iZotope RX5, Waves.) Faster bounce times would be a plus.

Any thoughts would be appreciated! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-2017, 10:30 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 14,909
Default Re: Question about Mac Pro Specs

More cores will help with offline bounce, but otherwise it's not so easy to pick the faster one. But if it's hard to pick, isn't it easy to just pick one and be happy with it
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2017, 04:59 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 13,363
Default Re: Question about Mac Pro Specs

Whatever Mac you get make sure your version of PT will work with the OSX that's on the 'new' machine. If you're getting a refurb from Apple more likely than not some form of Sierra will be on it. You looking at a cheesegrater or iTrashcan?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details (note change to a new system Oct.7 2017)
QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2017, 08:34 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,297
Default Re: Question about Mac Pro Specs

I'd choose the 12 core. Diff between 3gh and 3.5gh just isn't as significant.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-16-2017, 09:07 PM
nvansistine nvansistine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: SC
Posts: 8
Default Re: Question about Mac Pro Specs

Thank you for the recommendations so far!

I am looking at an older refurbished model (the cheese grater), and I'll make sure it's updated to the latest software. Now that the OS updates are free, I'm not as worried about that being a pain. And actually, I've been trying to make do with ProTools 10 for a while to dodge the upgrade fee and not risk slowing my current desktop even more, but I need to bite the bullet for the move to 12. Last I checked the refurbished came with Mavericks and I plan to update it to Sierra.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-20-2017, 02:24 PM
djjazzy41 djjazzy41 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Spirit Lake, IA, U.S.A.
Posts: 109
Default Re: Question about Mac Pro Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by nvansistine View Post
I'm looking at getting a refurbished Mac Pro to replace my current iMac, but I'm still trying to understand what I'm looking at to optimize the specs.

Looking over some other threads, I've seen more people leaning towards Number of Cores > Faster CPU, but I would appreciate a second opinion for what I'm looking at with machines in my price range.

One option is 6 Cores, 3.46Ghz. The other is 12 Cores, 2.93Ghz.

I really like that I could get double the cores for the same price on the second machine, but don't know if it that would benefit my ProTools experience at all. I'm typically working as an editor, and do almost no live recording, but need to run a lot of plugins (iZotope RX5, Waves.) Faster bounce times would be a plus.

Any thoughts would be appreciated! Thanks!
If you're getting a cheese grater, definitely spring for the 12-core machine. The reason is that you can still upgrade the processors to a faster speed (there are several companies out there who do this conversion reasonably) if you find you don't quite have enough power. With the 12-core machine, you already have the right tray with the two-processor configuration. Taking a tray with only 1 processor all the way up to a two-processor configuration is a lot more expensive if you ever need to do that. I recently took my stock 8-core machine (2-2.4gHz processors) all the way up to a 12-core machine (2-3.46gHz) for less than $700. If I had only had a single processor tray (the 2.8gHz model, for example) the same upgrade would have been almost double the cost. My machine should be good for several more years now, and it is already 7 years old!
__________________
Originally Posted by The Egg: Be a Pro and stop being a Tool!


Mac Pro (5,1) 12-core Westmere 3.46gHz
OSX Sierra (10.12.6)
980Gb OWC Mercury Extreme Pro SSD system drive
(3) 1Tb 7200rpm audio hard drives
64Gb RAM
Sapphire HD 7950 Mac Edition Video Card
1 Avid HDX Card
Avid HD Omni, 3 Avid HD I/Os
PT HDX 12.8.0
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-21-2017, 04:43 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 13,363
Default Re: Question about Mac Pro Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by djjazzy41 View Post
If you're getting a cheese grater, definitely spring for the 12-core machine. The reason is that you can still upgrade the processors to a faster speed (there are several companies out there who do this conversion reasonably) if you find you don't quite have enough power. With the 12-core machine, you already have the right tray with the two-processor configuration. Taking a tray with only 1 processor all the way up to a two-processor configuration is a lot more expensive if you ever need to do that. I recently took my stock 8-core machine (2-2.4gHz processors) all the way up to a 12-core machine (2-3.46gHz) for less than $700. If I had only had a single processor tray (the 2.8gHz model, for example) the same upgrade would have been almost double the cost. My machine should be good for several more years now, and it is already 7 years old!
Did you take the lids off the new processors or leave them on?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details (note change to a new system Oct.7 2017)
QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-21-2017, 06:17 AM
djjazzy41 djjazzy41 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Spirit Lake, IA, U.S.A.
Posts: 109
Default Re: Question about Mac Pro Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Did you take the lids off the new processors or leave them on?
I actually had the work done by a company in Florida (you can easily find them on ebay), but the processor lids went back on and are the same ones that were originally on the machine. The only difference besides the actual huge performance boost is that when I click to see my system specs it now says 2-3.46gHz processors where it used to say 2-2.4gHz processors.
__________________
Originally Posted by The Egg: Be a Pro and stop being a Tool!


Mac Pro (5,1) 12-core Westmere 3.46gHz
OSX Sierra (10.12.6)
980Gb OWC Mercury Extreme Pro SSD system drive
(3) 1Tb 7200rpm audio hard drives
64Gb RAM
Sapphire HD 7950 Mac Edition Video Card
1 Avid HDX Card
Avid HD Omni, 3 Avid HD I/Os
PT HDX 12.8.0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disney Specs Question colinato Post - Surround - Video 0 04-06-2012 12:33 PM
Help! TV delivery specs question rabinrocks Post - Surround - Video 6 01-22-2011 11:13 PM
Question on MAC specs please sureno 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-26-2008 01:00 PM
Laptop Specs question spy2520 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-26-2006 06:15 PM
question on this system's specs xian$ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-30-2005 04:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com