Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2005, 09:30 PM
barznbeats1 barznbeats1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 108
Default Triton + Sound modules start late


I currently have a triton and 3 other sound modules sync'd up with pt and it seems that pt starts recording just a little bit before the modules start. By a little bit I mean less than a second but its long enough for the sounds not to loop right. I usually try to record about 8 measures worth. Is there a setting I can tweak to have em start at EXACTLY the same time?? Any help would be greatly apreciated. Thanks in advance guys.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2005, 03:27 PM
M.A.I.N. M.A.I.N. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 26
Default Re: Triton + Sound modules start late

I'm not sure I full understand what you are asking. Are you sequencing in Pro Tools? Or are you sequnceing in the gear and syncing in with MTC? If you are syncing it there will always be a small delay to start the sync.
__________________
P4 2.4 GHz 1 Gig RAM
DIGI 002, Reaktor 5, Reason 3, Waves Gold
Slang Music Group
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2005, 05:06 PM
Ben B Ben B is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 80
Default Re: Triton + Sound modules start late

You're absolutely right. I've encountered this problem with Korg products specifically, on a variety of PT systems.

I regularly work on the following systems:
HD3 on a G4 os9
Mix3 on a G4 os9
LE(001) on Pentium 4 XP

All the systems exhibit this hiccup at 0|00|000 for Korg synths and modules. It consistently happens on the Trinity, Triton Rack, and Triton keyboard. If you start the song at bar 2, the problem will go away, as long as you start playback with some preroll. It's annoying to have to do this, though.

I can think of no explanation for this, as it seems to affect Korg products only. If anyone has a better workaround, I'm sure there are others who would appreciate your advice.

Ben B
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2005, 09:37 AM
barznbeats1 barznbeats1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 108
Default Re: Triton + Sound modules start late

Quote:
I'm not sure I full understand what you are asking. Are you sequencing in Pro Tools? Or are you sequnceing in the gear and syncing in with MTC? If you are syncing it there will always be a small delay to start the sync.
Yeah, I sequence everything in the triton and then put the triton on the digi clock so that I can dump my tracks into pro tools.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-14-2005, 09:41 AM
barznbeats1 barznbeats1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 108
Default Re: Triton + Sound modules start late

Quote:
You're absolutely right. I've encountered this problem with Korg products specifically, on a variety of PT systems.

I regularly work on the following systems:
HD3 on a G4 os9
Mix3 on a G4 os9
LE(001) on Pentium 4 XP

All the systems exhibit this hiccup at 0|00|000 for Korg synths and modules. It consistently happens on the Trinity, Triton Rack, and Triton keyboard. If you start the song at bar 2, the problem will go away, as long as you start playback with some preroll. It's annoying to have to do this, though.

I can think of no explanation for this, as it seems to affect Korg products only. If anyone has a better workaround, I'm sure there are others who would appreciate your advice.

Ben B
I'll try starting at bar two and see what happens. Thanks. I wish there was some setting to tweak to compensate for the delay. I mean I thought I was using pro equipment. I shouldn't have this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-15-2005, 04:46 PM
M.A.I.N. M.A.I.N. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 26
Default Re: Triton + Sound modules start late

Try sequencing in Pro Tools
__________________
P4 2.4 GHz 1 Gig RAM
DIGI 002, Reaktor 5, Reason 3, Waves Gold
Slang Music Group
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-15-2005, 08:51 PM
Ben B Ben B is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 80
Default Re: Triton + Sound modules start late

Actually, I misunderstood the original post. What's been happening to me is that PT exhibits a "glitch," or hesitation in MIDI playback at 0|00|000 when addressing Korg synths (specifically, the Trinity, Triton, and Triton Rack). This happens only with my Korg synths for some reason. If I cut the material and paste it so that it begins at bar 2, the problem goes away. This occurs on Mac os9 as well as WinXP, using LE, Mix 3, or HD3. It's definitely not being caused by the common error of beginning to record a part before the countoff has expired.

I would love to know why this is happening. I'm sick of having to move all of my sequences to start at bar 2 all the time, which appears to be the only workaround.

Any theories? Digi?

Ben B
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-18-2005, 09:55 PM
myfm myfm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 267
Default Re: Triton + Sound modules start late

Always, always start your sequence leaving a bar or two at the beginning. It will happen whether you sequence in PT or use the Korg. This is a problem that's not unique to Korg and has been around since the 80's. Midi is old. It takes a bar or two to get steady.

It really is best to sequence in PT. The timing of a hardware synth, while good, won't be as tight as PT, and there are more editing options of midi in PT.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-20-2005, 04:11 PM
Ben B Ben B is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 80
Default Re: Triton + Sound modules start late

I realize that. It's just interesting to me that it only appears to affect my Korg modules, and only in PT. Furthermore, this problem does not manifest in the other software-based sequencers I use. I remember in the 80's always leaving an empty measure at the head of every sequence, but haven't needed to do so in any case recently, with the exception of when using Korg synths with Pro Tools.

I have several other sequencers on the same system (same computer, same MIDI interface, same modules, same everything), and the problem doesn't occur. Haven't had the problem in StudioVision (which is much older than the version of PT I'm running), Logic, Digital Performer, or Sonar (which is on my Windows machine).

Has anyone noticed this with non-Korg devices in PT?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-21-2005, 06:00 AM
accession accession is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: On the road again... (Australia)
Posts: 1,319
Default Re: Triton + Sound modules start late

Quote:
It really is best to sequence in PT. The timing of a hardware synth, while good, won't be as tight as PT, and there are more editing options of midi in PT.
Fact or Fiction?

Granted 'there are more editing options of MIDI in PT', however, unless you're running Digidesign's own MIDI IO, my experience (PT5 / OS9 / Emagic AMT8 w/Mac G4 450MHz) has shown Pro Tools MIDI becomes exceedingly sloppy as one loads the CPU with plug-ins.

In fact, Pro Tools has proved, by far, to be much worse than the timing I've experienced with a hardware Roland MC-505.

From what Digidesign have told me, this is only truly overcome when Pro Tools is used in conjunction with their MIDI IO interface.

Phil
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT9 + sound modules? Oroz Pro Tools 9 0 11-29-2010 09:16 PM
Sound modules too low into 192 aztlan2010 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 05-27-2009 03:59 PM
Modules start late barznbeats1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-12-2005 07:13 PM
Tips and Techniques on Using Effects Via the Triton and Other Sound Modules... lil' drummer boy Tips & Tricks 0 08-07-2003 01:47 PM
GigaSampler, Sound Modules and us... Mark_Knecht 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 20 02-17-2002 12:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com