Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-16-2002, 05:58 PM

Default Mbox & Final Cut Pro

Wondering if anyone out there is using Mbox & Final Cut Pro together (silent scream) with any success? I'm a newbie who spent a lot of money on a "dream come true" home recording system that has subsequently broken my heart.

On advice from an "expert" salesman, I bought a G4 Dual Gig Power Mac with enormous ram, several hard drives, video cards, etc., and teamed this with a MBox Digi 001 and Final Cut Pro (on OS 9.2).

Over past months, the "expert" has been back to my house some four times in an attempt to isolate the cause of the constant system crashes. He's completely wiped the hard drive and started again, replaced the ram (in case it was faulty) and even accused us of deleting files. All to no avail.

This morning, I couldn't even get the DVD player to work without crashing.

If this was a PC I might have a chance of working some things out for myself, but since this is my first Mac and a bit alien to me, I don't know what to do.

The "expert" swears he's put together many systems combining Digi 001 and Final Cut Pro - but this is his first utilising the MBox.

I'm developing a "gut feel" that the MBox and Final Cut just shouldn't be on the same computer together. Either that or the computer is a turkey.

Has anyone any suggestions (other than putting an axe through that lovely grey veneer)?

Thanks!
LINDA
Old 10-16-2002, 06:36 PM

Default Re: Mbox & Final Cut Pro

It would help me if you list all your hardware and software configuration?

what are you trying to do with Pro Tools and Final
Cut?

Nestor
Old 10-16-2002, 07:13 PM