Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2018, 04:56 PM
Mustaucheman Mustaucheman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Default Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up

Hey all,
As said in the title, when booting up Pro Tools 9 or the software updater on a Windows 7 Pro 64 bit machine, I'm welcomed to a BSOD. After 3 years of trying dozens of solutions (it worked from 2011 when I got it until late 2014), I've narrowed it down to most likely being the ilok/pace drivers. It is good to note that if I install the pace drivers before Pro Tools, the BSOD occurs when starting the computer. If after, only when starting the AVID software. Strangely, when the drivers aren't installed the License Manager still picks up the ilok key (which is a first gen). Obviously, when this is the case starting Pro Tools gives the "Initialization Error: This software requires installation of the InterLock device..." which is why I presume its the drivers and not the pro tools itself. I have tried installing both the regular and legacy versions of both the 64 bit and 32 bit zip file downloads from the PACE website, but to no avail. Before asking, yes I did a full uninstall of all programs for each driver version (I wish the had all the legacy versions on the website). If anyone has any older versions I'd be happy to try them out.

Also where can I upload the BSOD dump file? The file attach system calls it an 'invalid file'.

SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : Owner-PC
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : ASUS All Series ASUS MB
Serial Number : System Ser**********
Chassis : Desktop
Mainboard : ASUS Z87-PRO
Serial Number : 1309154********
BIOS : AMI (OEM) 2005 06/04/2014
Intel vPro : 9.0.30.1482
Total Memory : 20GB DIMM DDR3

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz (4C 8T 4.4GHz/4.6GHz, 4GHz IMC, 4x 256kB L2, 8MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC LGA1150

Chipset
Memory Controller : ASUS Core (Haswell) DRAM Controller 100MHz, 2x 10GB DIMM DDR3 1.6GHz 128-bit

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Kingston/Hynix (Hyundai) KHX1600C10D38GX 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-14200U DDR3-1778 (9-9-9-25 4-33-10-5)
Memory Module : Kingston/Hynix (Hyundai) KHX1600C10D38GX 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : ACI VX238
(1920x1080, 23.1")
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 (6CU 1152SP SM5.0 1.19GHz/1.29GHz, 512kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 256-bit, PCIe 3.0 x16)

Graphics Processor
CUDA : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 (1152SP 6C 1.19GHz/1.29GHz, 512kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 256-bit)
OpenCL : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 (1152SP 6C 1.19GHz/1.29GHz, 96kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 256-bit)
D3D 11 : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 (1152SP 6C 1.19GHz/1.29GHz, 512kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 256-bit)
OpenGL : GeForce GTX 760/PCIe/SSE2 (2GB)

Storage Devices
WDC WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 932GB (C:)
Seagate ST8000AS0002-1NA17Z (8TB, USB2/SATA300/600, 5980rpm, 16MB Cache) : 7TB (E:)
HL-DT-STDVDRAM GH24NS95 (SATA, DVD+-RW, CD-RW) : N/A (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
System Reserved : 100MB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
8TB (E:) : 7TB (NTFS, 4kB) @ Seagate ST8000AS0002-1NA17Z (8TB, USB2/SATA300/600, 5980rpm, 16MB Cache)
Hard Disk (C:) : 931GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Optical Drive (D:) : N/A @ HL-DT-STDVDRAM GH24NS95 (SATA, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller #1 : ASUS Lynx Point LPC Controller
Audio Device : ASUS Lynx Point HD Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi 0900
Audio Device : EVGA GK104 HDMI Audio Controller
Audio Codec : nVidia GeForce 6800 Ultra [NV40.0]
Disk Controller : ASUS Lynx Point 6-Port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : ASUS Asmedia 106x SATA Controller
USB Controller #1 : ASUS Lynx Point USB xHCI Host Controller
USB Controller #2 : ASUS Lynx Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller #3 : ASUS Lynx Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #1
SMBus/i2c Controller #1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Network Services
Network Adapter : Intel(R) Ethernet Connection I217-V (Ethernet, 1Gbps)
Network Adapter : VirtualBox Host-Only Ethernet Adapter (Ethernet, 1Gbps)
Network Adapter : TAP-NordVPN Windows Adapter V9 (Ethernet)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.1.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2018, 05:11 PM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,522
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up

Hi ! doesn't know if you ever tried this but ,
when you downlad the pace interlock file there is some files inside . Try this :

1.Unistall from control panel everything related to ilok and pace .

2.Then from the files downloaded use the cleaner utility to clean any left file .

3.Restart

4.Make an installation from the " extras " folder ( i think that is how is named ) and install the " driver only " installer .


Another thing to try is the changing the DEP states on windows . You migth want to try all the options to see if any help .

https://www.thewindowsclub.com/disab...ion-prevention

Google it for more info .
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2018, 07:15 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,742
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up

I would also pull the single odd stick of RAM(mixing brands is not a good idea, and mixing sizes negates any dual mode RAM usage and may hurt performance instead of helping)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-24-2018, 07:35 PM
Mustaucheman Mustaucheman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up

Thanks for the quick response.

Already did the drivers only, and just tried with DEP enabled and disabled on four driver packs (two each) to no avail.

Any other fixes are very welcome, and thanks again for the speedy reply.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-24-2018, 07:37 PM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,522
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up

Ok and what about albee suggestion about memory ?
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-24-2018, 09:03 PM
Mustaucheman Mustaucheman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up

Just took the extra stick out, BSODs galore tonight, same error (INVALID_KERNEL_HANDLE)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-24-2018, 09:04 PM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,522
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up

Ok sorry to hear that . Did you tried clearing the Bios ?
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-24-2018, 09:25 PM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,522
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up

Also Bios updated ? And if possible take a picture of the blue screen .
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-25-2018, 07:49 AM
Mustaucheman Mustaucheman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up

Cleared the BIOS overnight, tried again this morning to BSOD, here's the picture.

Also the most current BIOS doesn't work with my CPU, it doesn't post, so I have the version three versions back, but I was using the newest BIOS up until i got the new one (about a month ago).

Thank you guys for all the suggestions thus far.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_4872 (1).jpg (70.1 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-25-2018, 11:06 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,904
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up

Try downloading and installing the PT11 free trial. This may offer clues.

https://connect.avid.com/Pro-Tools-Trial.html
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help!!Pro Tools 10 HD BSOD error -6031 solomusic Pro Tools 10 3 03-17-2015 11:43 PM
BSOD on start up FyahStationProd Windows 15 03-23-2013 09:10 AM
Pro Tools 10 BSOD & RTTI Data Issue brianiac5150 Pro Tools 10 1 01-04-2012 07:03 AM
I'm getting BSOD when I start Pro-Tools essential reubenkinara Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 12-21-2011 01:48 AM
BSOD with Pro Tools 8.0.* on W7-64bit drebin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-23-2010 08:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com