Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2017, 01:40 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,011
Default How to make a rise

Hi guys I'm after making a rise before a chorus in a song, kind of what they use in EDM. Can anyone help me do this the quickest and easiest way please

A big thank you in advance


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2017, 02:43 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,007
Default Re: How to make a rise

Can you be more specific?
A rise?
In level, or what?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2017, 02:46 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,011
Default Re: How to make a rise

It's a bit like a reverse symbol sound but slightly different and the noise/sound becomes more hi pitched like a HPF is being sweeped from one end to the other hope this helps more


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2017, 02:52 PM
edwinstar's Avatar
edwinstar edwinstar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 202
Default Re: How to make a rise

use the signal generator to create white noise and then automate a eq lopass sweep.
or
http://www.airmusictech.com/product/...r#.WP_EcYHKGEc
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2017, 03:11 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,011
Default Re: How to make a rise

Quote:
Originally Posted by edwinstar View Post
use the signal generator to create white noise and then automate a eq lopass sweep.
or
http://www.airmusictech.com/product/...r#.WP_EcYHKGEc


Yes that's one thank you


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-26-2017, 03:02 AM
simon.a.billington simon.a.billington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 745
Default Re: How to make a rise

You can add a bit of resonance to the low pass as well and possibly automate the volume for more dramatic effect. You could do the same effect with a synth too.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-26-2017, 03:27 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,011
Default Re: How to make a rise

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon.a.billington View Post
You can add a bit of resonance to the low pass as well and possibly automate the volume for more dramatic effect. You could do the same effect with a synth too.
I have Access Virus TDM synth, how would i go about doing it with this, i'm not a synth person so would be learning from scratch.
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-26-2017, 03:37 AM
simon.a.billington simon.a.billington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 745
Default Re: How to make a rise

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
I have Access Virus TDM synth, how would i go about doing it with this, i'm not a synth person so would be learning from scratch.
Similar technique to above, but use the synth oscillator to create a white noise signal, if possible. Then use the inbuilt Low Pass Filter and resonance to shape the tone.

Start with a low frequency setting on the LPF and raise it to a higher value using automation. You can set up the volume envelope attack to be a little bit slower too, so it doesn't sound so abrupt.

In all reality there may be a riser or sweep patch In the Virus. See if you can find one before messing about with doing your own.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-26-2017, 03:39 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: How to make a rise

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
I have Access Virus TDM synth, how would i go about doing it with this, i'm not a synth person so would be learning from scratch.
- use a keyboard sound that fades out > print it > reverse it
- automate the pitch bend (+/- 12 semitones) on a synth
- reverse a cymbal
- automate filters/EQ of pure pink noise with FX (reverb/delay/modulation)

There's a million ways to do this.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-26-2017, 03:46 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,011
Default Re: How to make a rise

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stig Eliassen View Post
- use a keyboard sound that fades out > print it > reverse it
- automate the pitch bend (+/- 12 semitones) on a synth
- reverse a cymbal
- automate filters/EQ of pure pink noise with FX (reverb/delay/modulation)

There's a million ways to do this.
Thank you, ive tried the reverse cymbal one before but never seemed to get it to sound/sit right in the mix can sometimes sound a bit harsh. Its the noise rise that i'm after i will try these tonight and report back. Thank you for your help
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bass Rise? domdompompom Pro Tools 12 1 10-27-2016 03:16 AM
FS: Slate Digital plugins - NI Rise and Hit PeterKorcek Buy & Sell 5 01-23-2016 08:46 AM
WOW this is the Coolest Ever!!! Roli Rise Southsidemusic General Discussion 3 12-20-2015 06:18 AM
Dramatic pitch rise effect - how to?? phillyt2k Pro Tools 10 9 04-28-2013 11:35 AM
CPU and System Levels rise after vocals end... Target Earth Ent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 01-08-2002 12:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com