Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2016, 07:54 AM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 598
Default Is anyone using DVI-D-over-Cat5 solution with S3L?

Just wondering if some of us is keeping the E3 away from FOH and extending the DVI-D signal with a box like This or even This
__________________
VENUE FAQ & download links, useful
AVID VENUE ILok driver download
VENUE Plugin DSP usage

My AVID:
  • Room A > HD4Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix / Artist Control
  • Room B > HD3Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix
  • Big Live > VENUE Profile 48/24 + 2nd Snake card, IOx, FWx, HDx, PQ Rack, 8 x PQ Controllers
  • Small Live > S3L-32 + Mac Mini - two systems - combined one 64/32 FOH / Mon setup
  • On stage > Pro Tools on laptop with variety of M-Audio boxes
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2016, 08:13 AM
pogojoe pogojoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: bonn
Posts: 4
Default Re: Is anyone using DVI-D-over-Cat5 soultion with S3L?

Hi Kristo ,

I can recommend Lindy KVM Extender+usbII (two cat5 cables required).

works like a charm! Now I can ignore the bad thermal design of the HDX-Card in my E3 Engine standing elsewhere...

regards,
Cornelius.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-24-2016, 08:28 AM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 598
Default Re: Is anyone using DVI-D-over-Cat5 soultion with S3L?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pogojoe View Post
Hi Kristo ,

I can recommend Lindy KVM Extender+usbII (two cat5 cables required).

works like a charm! Now I can ignore the bad thermal design of the HDX-Card in my E3 Engine standing elsewhere...

regards,
Cornelius.
Great news, can you please link to the device just to be sure?
__________________
VENUE FAQ & download links, useful
AVID VENUE ILok driver download
VENUE Plugin DSP usage

My AVID:
  • Room A > HD4Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix / Artist Control
  • Room B > HD3Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix
  • Big Live > VENUE Profile 48/24 + 2nd Snake card, IOx, FWx, HDx, PQ Rack, 8 x PQ Controllers
  • Small Live > S3L-32 + Mac Mini - two systems - combined one 64/32 FOH / Mon setup
  • On stage > Pro Tools on laptop with variety of M-Audio boxes
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-24-2016, 10:12 AM
pogojoe pogojoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: bonn
Posts: 4
Default Re: Is anyone using DVI-D-over-Cat5 soultion with S3L?

Hi,
try
http://www.lindy.de/Cat-5-KVM-Extend...=39377&ci=3005

sorry- its only the german product page
see ya.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-24-2016, 10:15 AM
pogojoe pogojoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: bonn
Posts: 4
Default Re: Is anyone using DVI-D-over-Cat5 soultion with S3L?

hi,
try:
http://www.lindy.de/Cat-5-KVM-Extend...=39377&ci=3005

see ya
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-24-2016, 11:30 PM
pmueller pmueller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 159
Default Re: Is anyone using DVI-D-over-Cat5 soultion with S3L?

Hi Kristo

We use it since day one without any issues, USB&DVI, 1 CAT5:

http://www.adder.com/products/adderl...o-kvm-extender

Best, Patrick
__________________
Tonkultur.ch remote recording services / Gear in use > | Venue Profile / 2xMadi Option Card / 2x SnakeCard / ANO A-Net / HD4 Accel / PT10HD / 2x HD MADI | Venue S3L-x / PT11HD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-25-2016, 12:16 AM
Amplitude Amplitude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 95
Default Re: Is anyone using DVI-D-over-Cat5 soultion with S3L?

Hi pmueller,

the system looks great! but only 50m distance?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-25-2016, 03:33 AM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 598
Default Re: Is anyone using DVI-D-over-Cat5 soultion with S3L?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amplitude View Post
Hi pmueller,

the system looks great! but only 50m distance?
Cat5 solutions all seem to be around 50m, give or take (distance also dependant on the resolution). If you need to go further then fibre optic is the solution

The Adder unit pmuller linked is nice, can do USB2 but costs over €700 here... I'll try to see for starters if the €70 70m will cut it for me and then go from there.
__________________
VENUE FAQ & download links, useful
AVID VENUE ILok driver download
VENUE Plugin DSP usage

My AVID:
  • Room A > HD4Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix / Artist Control
  • Room B > HD3Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix
  • Big Live > VENUE Profile 48/24 + 2nd Snake card, IOx, FWx, HDx, PQ Rack, 8 x PQ Controllers
  • Small Live > S3L-32 + Mac Mini - two systems - combined one 64/32 FOH / Mon setup
  • On stage > Pro Tools on laptop with variety of M-Audio boxes
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cat5/Cat6 cables - how long? Stig Eliassen General Discussion 9 11-03-2015 11:10 PM
Procontrol 24ch with Routers and Cat5 cables StudioLonghorn Buy & Sell 0 10-16-2012 08:26 AM
DVI and USB over CAT5 James Drake Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 07-12-2011 10:07 PM
advice for home mbox system, monitoring soultion. soundguydave 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-02-2009 04:18 PM
Anyone using USB-cat5 Extender for Command 8? Matthew Steel ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 4 01-16-2008 11:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com