Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-03-2014, 06:12 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,414
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 for OS X Mavericks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by huzzam View Post
Of course the obvious argument for PT10 on Mavericks is that it's a) impossible to buy a new Mac with Mountain Lion, and b) there are still plugins folks might rely on that aren't AAX64 (or the upgrade fees might be prohibitive).

That said, I have 10.3.6 on Mavericks (along with 11.1.2), and the few times I've used it (due to needing certain plugins) it's been fine. YMMV of course.

~peter in Thessaloniki
But you can still buy ML from the Apple Store but you have to call for it. I'm aware all new Macs come with Mavericks but the thing I was saying it might well be possible to install ML on a new Mac.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-03-2014, 06:21 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,664
Default Pro Tools 10 for OS X Mavericks?

If you spend $1400 (MBA) to $2400 (MBP) $300 is a small price to pay to upgrade

I mean if your in the market for a computer you could always go Windows
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-03-2014, 04:43 PM
Mark Waters Mark Waters is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Springtucky, Oregon
Posts: 47
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 for OS X Mavericks?

At some point in the past a Avid rep posted and claimed that they were working on dual PT10 and PT11 on Mavericks.

If they've ditched that idea and will not be looking back it would be nice to see an official post. Whatever they decide for their own business purposes is just business, but not letting people know (for months now) what to expect is disappointing.

I still have plugs that haven't gone AAX...if it wasn't for my 003 I might have bailed altogether by now. I do have a few others I know that have just recently made the leap and they think its worth it from a DAW perspective, but is it worth loosing half my plugs ? Im not quite there yet.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-03-2014, 06:21 PM
jryser's Avatar
jryser jryser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Plainfield, IN
Posts: 920
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 for OS X Mavericks?

I hate to say it but I got VEP5 as well as the BlueCat MB-7. Between them the very few plugs that were not AAX I can still use. It's probably psychological but I swear things work better since uninstalling 10 (every bit of it) and changing over to Mavs.
__________________
A Rig: MacBook Pro Spring 2013, 2.8Ghz I7, 16GB RAM,
OSX Mavericks 10.9.4, PT 11.2, MBox Pro 3, Glyph GT 050 Qx3 1.5 TB drives Thunderbolt-FW400, Presonus Faderport. 10 REMOVED!
B Rig:MacBook Pro Spring 11, 2.33 GHz I7, 16GB RAM, OSX Mavericks 10.9.4, PT 11.2, MBox Pro 3, Glyph Portagig 62 portable 1 TB drive Firewired with 400, Presonus Faderport. 10 REMOVED!
I am the main songwriter/performer for Midwest Whitetail, Cabela's Deer Nation, Spring Thunder, and Northern Waters Series!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-09-2014, 04:29 PM
SlowTools SlowTools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 55
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 for OS X Mavericks?

10.3.9 is out as of last week, and still no Mavericks support. I have a Retina MBP that came with ML and it works amazingly well with PT 10HD with all of my plugins. I have no desire to upgrade this system to Mavericks and Pro Tools 11 and possibly destroy what is working very well. It would be quite disappointing if I was painted into a corner with Mavericks and therefore had to upgrade everything to PT 11, especially since I bought PT 10 only about a year and a half ago. Furthermore, many people are asking if anybody else feels that PT 11 just doesn't feel release-ready compared to PT 10, but I wouldn't know because I've never used the new version.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-09-2014, 05:59 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,156
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 for OS X Mavericks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jryser View Post
Dumped 10, 11 is on Mavs 11.9.2, and not looking back ever!

-:)
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2019.6 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.5, Digital Performer 9.5, Logic Pro X 10.4.6
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-09-2014, 11:10 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,603
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 for OS X Mavericks?

PT10 and Mavericks is a *WORKING* configuration. It is not officially supported due to known issues, but it works. Most notable issue is with the uninstaller so that makes updates a little harder to do, but for most part, PT10 WORKS with 10.9

Now if you want to stay clean and update PT10 to new version whenever one comes out, here's what you should do:
- Backup everything and make a super fresh clean install of Mavericks
- Install every software you need to use, EXCEPT PT10
- Clone that system drive to some disk image

And once new PT10 update is out, just clone back from your super fresh system drive disk image and install PT10.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-09-2014, 11:25 PM
SlowTools SlowTools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 55
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 for OS X Mavericks?

Very much appreciated, JFreak, that's great advice.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-19-2017, 11:54 AM
Ru_C Ru_C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London + Bedford, UK
Posts: 872
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 for OS X Mavericks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
PT10 and Mavericks is a *WORKING* configuration. It is not officially supported due to known issues, but it works. Most notable issue is with the uninstaller so that makes updates a little harder to do, but for most part, PT10 WORKS with 10.9

Now if you want to stay clean and update PT10 to new version whenever one comes out, here's what you should do:
- Backup everything and make a super fresh clean install of Mavericks
- Install every software you need to use, EXCEPT PT10
- Clone that system drive to some disk image

And once new PT10 update is out, just clone back from your super fresh system drive disk image and install PT10.
Thread back from the dead alert !

I've got some legacy PT10HD systems still working daily very well under 10.8.x …the only trouble is i'd really like to upgrade my N.I/Komplete package a bit, & that needs 10.9.x .

I know all this stuff is ancient history now, but what was the conclusion with OS10.9.x & PT10HD…does it run ok? Any graphics/menu bugs? It would give my machines another lease of life if I could go at least one more O.S up.

Cheers
__________________
Studio A: Mac Pro 12 core, OSX 10.9.5, PT HD 10.3.10, HD3 Accel, AVID I/O 16xanalog i/o x2 , Benchmark DAC1, 32 Fader Procontrol
Studio B: Mac Pro Dual 8 core, OSX 10.8.5, PT 10.3.10, HD3 Accel , 192-Digitalx2, Apogee+Audient/Converters
Home: Mac Pro Dual 8 core, OSX 10.9.5, PT 10.3.10, HD3 Accel. 96 i/o (Dual boot with) OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.x.x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Mobile: 2017 Macbook Pro, OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.x.x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-20-2017, 04:00 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,414
Default Re: Pro Tools 10 for OS X Mavericks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ru_C View Post
Thread back from the dead alert !

I've got some legacy PT10HD systems still working daily very well under 10.8.x …the only trouble is i'd really like to upgrade my N.I/Komplete package a bit, & that needs 10.9.x .

I know all this stuff is ancient history now, but what was the conclusion with OS10.9.x & PT10HD…does it run ok? Any graphics/menu bugs? It would give my machines another lease of life if I could go at least one more O.S up.

Cheers
I think I answered this in another thread you posted this same question in but in case you miss that here goes: most NI stuff is specifying OSX 10.11.x although I have Kontakt, etc. running just fine in OSX 10.10.5. As we all know (or should) PT10 (any version) and OSX 10.10.x don't get along - there's the blank insert menus for one thing and other random issues. When I had my late lamented iMac system running I had PT10.3.10 (the latest revision) running just fine under OSX 10.9.5. The only problem is the PT10 uninstaller doesn't work but there are steps outlines on a page on the Avid site.

BTW - asking the same question in different forums isn't cool and generally against the TOS
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 9 and OSX Mavericks marcoegizi macOS 29 08-30-2014 11:08 PM
Pro Tools 10 for Mavericks is here!!! Touchwood Studios Pro Tools 10 9 03-15-2014 06:00 PM
Pro Tools 10 on Mavericks? Dopamine macOS 2 02-18-2014 08:21 PM
Pro Tools 11.0.3 / Mavericks David Whittaker Pro Tools 11 15 01-12-2014 06:48 AM
Please HELP pro tools 10 and OS X mavericks bigsmokeproductions Pro Tools 10 11 11-14-2013 10:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com