Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-22-2013, 04:45 PM
michaelmcg92 michaelmcg92 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Abeerdeenshire, Scotland
Posts: 21
Default Lost iLok

Hey
Finally got my PT11 upgrade code (Thanks to a mod on this forum!) today, and when I went to get my iLok to get everything set up - I couldn't find it.
I've been searching all day and I can't find it ANYWHERE.
I don't know how, but it's gone!

I've finally given up searching the same places 10 times over and started considering replacing the iLok.
But I have a feeling it's not going to be so simple somehow Does anyone know if and how I can go about getting my iLok & licenses moved to a new one? This time it's getting chained to the computer!

Thanks, Michael
__________________
OS:
Windows 7 Professional x64
System:
AMD Phenom II 965 Quad Core @ 3.4Ghz - Asus M4A78TD-EVO MoBo
8Gb RipJaw DDR3 1333 RAM - AMD 5670 1024MB GPU
StealthXstream 2 600w PSU - Antec 300 Case
1TB WD Caviar Green HDD
24" LG HD Monitor

Setup:
Avid Pro Tools 10
Casio WK-3700 Keyboard
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-22-2013, 06:40 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,203
Default Re: Lost iLok

My iLok has been lost (or stolen). What should I do?

First, be absolutely sure you cannot find the iLok as reporting an iLok lost or stolen is irreversible. If the iLok cannot be found, start the Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) process. When submitting your RMA, be sure to specify from the drop list that your iLok has been lost or stolen. Read the rest of the information as you go through the RMA process. If you have ZDT coverage (or purchase it while submitting your RMA), you will receive temporary licenses when your RMA is successfully submitted.

Since we cannot recover your licenses from the iLok, we cannot provide you with the replacement licenses; you must contact the software publishers directly and work with them to receive permanent replacement licenses. If your iLok was registered to your account, we automatically notify the software publisher that the iLok has been reported lost or stolen on our site. Please note that this automatic notice from us does not ensure you will receive replacement licenses. You need to contact the software publisher directly in order to receive the replacements.

Note that we cannot reverse a Lost or Stolen iLok RMA. Be sure that your iLok is actually lost or stolen before submitting an RMA.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-24-2013, 04:43 AM
TheJamsh TheJamsh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: plymouth uk
Posts: 106
Default Re: Lost iLok

...Which is why iLok is the dumbest protection scheme invented by mankind!
__________________
www.anvilaudio.co.uk - PC Users: Buy Skootch, you won't regret it.

PC: Windows 7 64-Bit, ASRock Extreme 4 x79 Mobo, Intel Core i7-3820K @3.6Ghz, Kingston HyperX 16GB Ram, OCZ Vertex 3 64GB SSD, WD Caviar Green 2TB HDD, GeForce 560Ti GPU, SIIG TI Firewire Card, PT Keyboard.
O/B: Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56, Focusrite Liquid Mix 32, Alesis D4 Drum Module, Alesis MIDIVerb4, M-Audio Axiom 49 v2, M-Audio BX8a's, Audix DP7
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-24-2013, 05:36 AM
michaelmcg92 michaelmcg92 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Abeerdeenshire, Scotland
Posts: 21
Default Re: Lost iLok

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheJamsh View Post
...Which is why iLok is the dumbest protection scheme invented by mankind!
Agreed! The idea's there but it's too easily lost/stolen.
On the plus side got a new iLok this morning, submitted iLok RMA, paid Avid a ridiculous sum of about £30 for an ASC to send an email asking if I can get my PT license transferred. Hopefully they do.
__________________
OS:
Windows 7 Professional x64
System:
AMD Phenom II 965 Quad Core @ 3.4Ghz - Asus M4A78TD-EVO MoBo
8Gb RipJaw DDR3 1333 RAM - AMD 5670 1024MB GPU
StealthXstream 2 600w PSU - Antec 300 Case
1TB WD Caviar Green HDD
24" LG HD Monitor

Setup:
Avid Pro Tools 10
Casio WK-3700 Keyboard
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-24-2013, 05:50 AM
Mista Min Mista Min is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: From Austin, Texas to Munich, Germany
Posts: 156
Default Re: Lost iLok

The new Zero down time covers lost or stolen iloks, by making all your licenses have a 90 day renewal clause. They are permanently yours, but have to verify every few months.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-24-2013, 08:44 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,902
Default Re: Lost iLok

This new optional scheme offered by Pace is a good substitute for the insurance that so many choose not to buy. This add-on (called TLC) allows for a lost or stolen ilok to be replaced with a minimal fee. No more fighting for replacement auths.

Go to ilok.com for details.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-24-2013, 09:11 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,664
Default Re: Lost iLok

I'm sure TLC stands for what I think it stands for right ?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-24-2013, 10:19 AM
michaelmcg92 michaelmcg92 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Abeerdeenshire, Scotland
Posts: 21
Default Re: Lost iLok

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
This new optional scheme offered by Pace is a good substitute for the insurance that so many choose not to buy. This add-on (called TLC) allows for a lost or stolen ilok to be replaced with a minimal fee. No more fighting for replacement auths.

Go to ilok.com for details.
Yeah I think I'm going to go for this - save me having another heart attack!

Got an email earlier from the tech support saying they had given me replacement licenses for PT 9 & 10 and all my plugins
All I had to do was surrender 9 & 10 to get 10 & 11 and activate to the new iLok! A much quicker process than I expected. Just relieved I didn't have to purchase ProTools again!
__________________
OS:
Windows 7 Professional x64
System:
AMD Phenom II 965 Quad Core @ 3.4Ghz - Asus M4A78TD-EVO MoBo
8Gb RipJaw DDR3 1333 RAM - AMD 5670 1024MB GPU
StealthXstream 2 600w PSU - Antec 300 Case
1TB WD Caviar Green HDD
24" LG HD Monitor

Setup:
Avid Pro Tools 10
Casio WK-3700 Keyboard
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-24-2013, 11:42 AM
jryser's Avatar
jryser jryser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Plainfield, IN
Posts: 920
Default Re: Lost iLok

TLC stands for theft and loss coverage and is free with ZDT. U just refresh this every 90 days. No brainer.


Sent from my PT beating heart
__________________
A Rig: MacBook Pro Spring 2013, 2.8Ghz I7, 16GB RAM,
OSX Mavericks 10.9.4, PT 11.2, MBox Pro 3, Glyph GT 050 Qx3 1.5 TB drives Thunderbolt-FW400, Presonus Faderport. 10 REMOVED!
B Rig:MacBook Pro Spring 11, 2.33 GHz I7, 16GB RAM, OSX Mavericks 10.9.4, PT 11.2, MBox Pro 3, Glyph Portagig 62 portable 1 TB drive Firewired with 400, Presonus Faderport. 10 REMOVED!
I am the main songwriter/performer for Midwest Whitetail, Cabela's Deer Nation, Spring Thunder, and Northern Waters Series!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-24-2013, 02:49 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,664
Default Re: Lost iLok

Quote:
Originally Posted by jryser View Post
TLC stands for theft and loss coverage
Oh yeah of course that's what it is......
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I have lost my ilok...... YYR123 General Discussion 42 10-16-2013 10:35 PM
ilok lost radawey Windows 1 11-25-2012 09:10 AM
Lost ilok sien Pro Tools 10 1 03-07-2012 08:59 PM
Lost thread "Stolen or lost iLok" stargazer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-18-2006 03:44 PM
lost ilok Eless 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-02-2005 10:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com