Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2006, 09:58 AM
Maya Maya is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Default Pro tools 6.4 CRASHING-- help

my pro tools 6.4 crashes everytime i try to record. i'm using reason in slave mode and everytime i try to record tracks on pro tools, it just crashes. i have a Mac G4 Version 0S X 10.3.9
768 MB

any help would be great!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2006, 10:09 AM
comprodman's Avatar
comprodman comprodman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: West Midlands, England
Posts: 259
Default Re: Pro tools 6.4 CRASHING-- help

You need to say what computer you are using, what OSX, What Ram,also what Pro Tools interface you are using is it an MBox, 001, 002 002R? It will help people to know what you are doing.
__________________
Living on a Narrowboat in the Middle of nowhere
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-28-2006, 10:46 AM
Maya Maya is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: Pro tools 6.4 CRASHING-- help

I added the extra information, thanks for the advice. do you have any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-28-2006, 11:20 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Pro tools 6.4 CRASHING-- help

10.3.9 is not supported

what hardware?
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-28-2006, 12:27 PM
Maya Maya is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: Pro tools 6.4 CRASHING-- help

I'm using an MBox. does that help in any way? explain to me how i would be able to find my hardware.
thank you
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-28-2006, 01:00 PM
comprodman's Avatar
comprodman comprodman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: West Midlands, England
Posts: 259
Default Re: Pro tools 6.4 CRASHING-- help

Your hardware is the MBox you are running 6.4 with OSX 10.3.9 which isn't supported!!! That is probably why your PT is crashing. But...

1st thing check that your HD isn't fragmented too much, that you are not running any other programme at the same time, so no email, web browser or Itunes, that the screensaver is turned off and all energy saving systems are turned off. This frees up the RAM which Pro Tools needs all of it.

Try going to the Pro Tools website and updating the Pro Tools LE to a later version 6.9 or even pay to upgrade to 7.1 also think about updating the OSX to 10.4.
__________________
Living on a Narrowboat in the Middle of nowhere
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-28-2006, 01:43 PM
Maya Maya is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: Pro tools 6.4 CRASHING-- help

i have been recording this way without problems for the last year. i think it could be something else.... if anyone has any ideas they are totally welcome!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-28-2006, 06:21 PM
dave_gibbon dave_gibbon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 46
Default Re: Pro tools 6.4 CRASHING-- help

Maya,
I have been running 10.3.9 with 6.4 for a long time and it has worked flawlessly for me. I'm using an ibook 800 with 640mb. I know this is not much help but I don't think that 10.3.9 is definitely the problem here.

d
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-29-2006, 03:21 PM
Maya Maya is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: Pro tools 6.4 CRASHING-- help

thank you dave. at least i know that that's not the problem and i can focus on something else. thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-29-2006, 03:21 PM
Maya Maya is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: Pro tools 6.4 CRASHING-- help

thank you dave. at least i know that that's not the problem and i can focus on something else. thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 6.4 LE crashing Stylistik 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-06-2013 01:43 AM
Pro tools 10.1.2 keeps crashing count kellam macOS 3 05-11-2012 11:37 AM
Pro Tools 8.0 crashing bakedbeansrecord Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-02-2009 03:04 PM
pro tools keeps crashing univox1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-02-2007 09:19 PM
Pro Tools HD 7 crashing Eric R. Fischer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 11-03-2005 10:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com