Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2006, 07:03 AM
therecordinghouse therecordinghouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN.
Posts: 1,094
Default protools HD on macbook pro

is this possible? i notice that magma is developing an express card 34 to pci/pcie expansion chasis. how fast is the express card 34 buss? would this be able to handle a few hd cards?
__________________
Lynn Graber
Studio and Mobile Recording, Fort Wayne, IN.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-06-2006, 10:40 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: protools HD on macbook pro

only time will tell
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-06-2006, 12:31 PM
Vaphoron Vaphoron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 2,539
Default Re: protools HD on macbook pro

I'm personally hope that Digidesign develops a solution for using HD with a MacBook Pro.
__________________
- Jason
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-06-2006, 02:21 PM
mwingerski mwingerski is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: san francisco
Posts: 119
Default Re: protools HD on macbook pro

It seems the biggest problems with running HD on a powerbook g4 with a magma CB4 have to do with the low bandwidth of the frontside bus. The macbook pro has a much higher bandwidth (like 4x faster) than the powerbook so hopefully that will make things better. I was running an HD3 accel on the powerbook, and the system ran reasonably well, although it did suffer from what felt like regular crashes (once or twice a day). That, and it was difficult to figure out who to call for tech support since you never knew if a problem was with Magma or with pro tools...

I'm betting that magma wouldn't be developing the e34 card if they didn't know that digi was going to support it. But we'll just have to wait and see...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-06-2006, 02:48 PM
danms66 danms66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dallas
Posts: 126
Default Re: protools HD on macbook pro

PT HD is not a Universal Binary yet, so that seems like a bigger roadblock at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-06-2006, 02:51 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: protools HD on macbook pro

we are suppose to see a Mactel version by the end of the month
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools 10 on MacBook Air Hearfilm macOS 6 09-04-2012 11:18 AM
Macbook Pro and Protools Rob1n 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 05-03-2010 10:44 AM
New to macbook with protools le 002 simonb6752 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 09-24-2009 09:34 AM
'ProTools Not Responding' Macbook Pro, ProTools LE omarchandla 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-27-2008 06:29 AM
New MacBook and Protools Andrew814 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 12-14-2006 03:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com