Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-28-2016, 01:45 PM
Wade Wade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: GA
Posts: 49
Default Digi002 outputs and reamping

I've searched and searched for an answer to my problem. I have a 002 and I'm wanting to use my reamp box to reamp guitar tracks. I am coming out of the 002 output into my reamp box (real reamp box with ground lift and volume knob to adjust how hot the signal is, not a DI used backwards) into my pedalboard and then into my amp. The cable coming from the 002 to the reamp is a balanced TRS to Male XLR and then I'm using high quality guitar cables (mogami) to the pedalboard and/or amp.

No matter which output I use on the 002, I'm getting a terrible hum. It's even noticeable when the guitar track is playing. So the output is working, but there is a ton of noise. Both of my amps (Marshall SL5, Marshall JCM800).

The humming is noticeable when there isn't even a track playing. If I yank the cable from the 002, the amp is silent. I've triple checked my outputs, I only have 1 track going out to the amp and I have it solo'ed so that my mic doesn't pick up my montiors playing it back. I've even dropped the level of the send in Pro Tools way down to see if that might have been the issue.

All my DI tracks recorded with a DI and a preamp (not the onboard ones in the 002).

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
__________________
~werd to yo mutha~
Wade
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-28-2016, 01:52 PM
Wade Wade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: GA
Posts: 49
Default Re: Digi002 outputs and reamping

I guess I posted this in the wrong forum. Sorry guys running late and not thinking straight. Meant to put it in the 003,002 forum.
__________________
~werd to yo mutha~
Wade
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-19-2020, 04:42 PM
sdegennaro sdegennaro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Digi002 outputs and reamping

Did you ever figure this out? I'm having the exact same problem and it's killing me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-19-2020, 04:46 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,265
Default Re: Digi002 outputs and reamping

Have you gone through the steps to isolate any potential ground loops?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-19-2020, 07:48 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,737
Default Re: Digi002 outputs and reamping

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdegennaro View Post
Did you ever figure this out? I'm having the exact same problem and it's killing me.
What exact reamp box are you using? What exact amp?

Hopefully it is a transformer isolated box if hum is an issue.

Are you using a proper balanced cable from the 002? Check the cable with a multimeter. The 1/4" balanced TRS outputs to whatever folks are doing are frequent causes of issues with wrong cables.

As Tom asked what else have you tied? And basic troubleshooting for ground loops will include working through disconnecting other stuff from the 002, computer, power, etc. and seeing what introduced the hum. Trying stuff all on a single power outlet, etc. etc.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-10-2020, 04:26 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,159
Default Re: Digi002 outputs and reamping

In addition to above, what type of connection does the re-amp box use for its input(from the 002)? If its balanced, you could try cutting the shield connection at the input of the re-amp box(which might sever the ground loop). Another option is to insert an isolation transformer between the 002 output and the re-amp box input. And one more possible solution would be to power all the gear from a single power outlet.

Last ditch idea, if the re-amp box input is not balanced, build a special cable. Use balanced cable and wire a TRS plug(for the 002 output) normally, but at the other end(that connects to the re-amp box), use a TS plug with the hot to tip, the cold to sleeve, and do not connect the shield at this end. This "floating" shield will do its job, but having no connection at the re-amp box, the ground loop is broken (a "floating" shield only connects to ground at one end)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Enabling Low Latency Monitoring mutes outputs - digi002 Rack Stayvn Pro Tools 10 10 02-15-2020 10:32 AM
Using Digi002 Outputs 3-8 (with Mavericks) ? kikjess 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-26-2015 03:24 PM
Reamping and Digirack003 Outputs NobodyImportant 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 03-22-2010 05:46 PM
outputs on Digi002 slightly louder than digi003???!!? Emildenmark 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-15-2008 08:55 AM
more outputs from your digi002 powellgb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-06-2007 09:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com