Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-30-2020, 09:05 AM
popajoe popajoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Natchitoches,La
Posts: 126
Default TB/firewire/USB Interface's

Hi if you have one of theses Interface's here something for you All..

Make sure your
Computer Motherboard has a TB or/Firewire or/ USB controller built on it.

Reason ;Motherboards Have POWER protection circuit...that will stop
your PCi card from being connected ...so now you know...

if you have TB2or/TB3 ect'.aTB2 or 3 controller built on it.same for Firewire.have a Firewire controller built on it.

now for USB THE BEST now is USB 3.1..controller built on it.for all USB Interface's ...make sure of this an you will have less trouble...

have fun not trouble...

Last edited by popajoe; 11-07-2020 at 04:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2020, 04:17 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,159
Default Re: TB/firewire/USB Interface's

Quote:
Originally Posted by popajoe View Post
Hi if you have one of theses Interface's here something for you All..

Make sure your
Computer Motherboard has a TB or/Firewire or/ USB controller built on it.

Reason ;Motherboards Have POWER protection circuit...that will stop
your PCi card from being connected ...so now you know...

if you have TB2or/TB3 ect'.aTB2 or 3 controller built on it.same for Firewire.have a Firewire controller built on it.

now for USB THE BEST now is USB 3.1..controller built on it.for all USB Interface's ...make sure of this an you will have less trouble...

have fun not trouble...
What is this based on? I have never had an issue using a separate firewire card(as long as it used the approved TI chipset) in 15 years. I have also never had a PCI or PCIe firewire card ever stop working due to any motherboard protection circuit(but I always run compatible motherboards with a good track record for Pro Tools use).

Re Thunderbolt, since it can't be added to just any motherboard, the integration already exists.

Re USB, many interfaces are designed to work with USB1 or USB2, so I'm not sure that using a USB3.1 port is going to make much difference in performance or reliability. Of course, if you have some empirical evidence, I'm happy to be proven wrong
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2020, 08:20 AM
popajoe popajoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Natchitoches,La
Posts: 126
Default Re: TB/firewire/USB Interface's

were is your 15 year empirical evidence first... ha ha ha ... this is all about getting a compatible motherboard...in the first place .
so you don't have those problems like your interface can't be Seen/won't connect /. one of the fix's for that is to bring your MB back to factory default. now why is that...

Looking at your pass posting albee1952 i must say it's hard to be leave this.I have never had an issue using a separate firewire card .OK

As a engineer I will say it's just advice you can use it or not..it has always been up to you...

Last edited by popajoe; 12-14-2020 at 03:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2020, 09:08 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,159
Default Re: TB/firewire/USB Interface's

Quote:
Originally Posted by popajoe View Post
were is your 15 year empirical evidence first... ha ha ha ...
Since you started the conversation, I'd say that ball is in your lap. Beyond that, I should clarify that this line:
Re Thunderbolt, since it can't be added to just any motherboard, the integration already exists
Should have been ...the integration exists on motherboards that can accept a Thunderbolt card
Back to my empirical evidence, its simply from my 18 years of using Pro Tools(back to version 6) and from building a dozen custom PC's for running PT( I have no beef with apple, other than the cost). Then, there is the fact that very few USB3 interfaces exist(which seems odd to me).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-13-2020, 11:45 AM
popajoe popajoe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Natchitoches,La
Posts: 126
Default Re: TB/firewire/USB Interface's

My empirical evidence ..First i like to say this is not a pro tools problem...just hardware .. i build custom PC's too. an have 20 plus still running audio system..like you i learn ..
The PC's i build some had problems ...MY 45 YEARS of being a Broadcast engineer help ... i have work with IBM/ TI/engineers to protect my nations advance electronics is my game ..
As a engineer I will say it's just advice i learn you can use it or not..it has always been up to you...oh the USB3 interface i have one an a USB2 on my PC they work better on the one's with USB3.1 on the MB..on the one's that had USB3.0 had some problem that came up, move over to the one with USB3.1 same DAW same work no problem..like a pop ...etc during loading ..or replaying here.

in 2010 i build my first AMD PC an a Intel PC an have pick up on a few things like the controller...on the MB..before that it was HP Intel.i test with two PC's one AMD PC an one Intel PC same USB Interface's same DAW's TB on Intel PC only..i had a usb3.0 last year.. move to 3.1 now on all of my PC'S ..

Last edited by popajoe; 12-14-2020 at 03:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-22-2020, 03:29 PM
Zergei72 Zergei72 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Salo, Finland
Posts: 36
Default Re: TB/firewire/USB Interface's

I have a Acer Swift 1 SF114-31-C9SB Laptop
that has ...

Type A - Port, USB-C™
Ultra-quick data transfer, video streaming, and battery charging/power – 10 times faster than USB 2.0.



Wonder ... if I can connect my DIGI002-Rack (Firewire) to this Laptop .
Simply put, is there an adapter or a cable, that would suit this task .

Could someone post some links to such products ? eBay, etc .

- Z -
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-22-2020, 04:30 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,159
Default Re: TB/firewire/USB Interface's

To date, nobody has made a firewire to USB adapter that works with 002/003. Instead of jumping thru hoops to get an ancient(and very average) interface working, buy a newer interface. The Presonus Studio interfaces(like my 1810C) are compatible with the port you have and will sound much better
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Firewire interface? blastman Third Party Interfaces 4 03-28-2014 10:38 AM
8ch FireWire or USB Interface w/ PT MP9 Rjones17 macOS 5 12-14-2012 09:06 PM
1 interface, 1 hard drive, only ONE firewire interface? beyoutofull1 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 11-22-2010 05:08 PM
Firewire vs USB interface Jeff E Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 08-12-2008 07:16 AM
firewire interface kav 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-01-2004 09:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com