Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2019, 08:33 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,572
Default Win 10 Pro update nonsense

Is it just me, or when Windows forces an update, is it overwriting your graphics card driver? Does it to mine almost every time, so I have to reinstall the Matrox driver, then reset my 4-monitor system. Is there a way to tell Windows Update to leave my drivers the h- -l alone??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2019, 05:19 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,069
Default Re: Win 10 Pro update nonsense

Sometimes a Windows update will default my Sound, System Restore and USB power optimizations, but I've never had my graphics card overwritten.

If you have W10 Pro, use Group Policy Editor to turn off Windows Updates. See one of my posts in this thread.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2019, 05:27 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,572
Default Re: Win 10 Pro update nonsense

Feature and security (ie Windows Defender) updates are great, as long as there’s a way to tell it to keep it’s cotton pickin’ hands off my drivers. Any way to do that?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2019, 07:31 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,862
Default Re: Win 10 Pro update nonsense

I have not had graphics drivers altered with Windows updates, at least not yet.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2019, 07:35 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,069
Default Re: Win 10 Pro update nonsense

I've never had my graphics drivers affected either. I have 2 computers. The one I use for PT has Windows Updates and Windows Defender turned off using Group Policy. When there's an update on my Work computer, I manually update my PT computer, right after I make an image I can restore to if PT "burps" on the update.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2019, 08:19 AM
leftalive leftalive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 466
Default Re: Win 10 Pro update nonsense

I've never seen this either, fwiw.

Have you googled it? Maybe it's a Matrox thing.
__________________
PC workstation:
Windows 10 Pro
i7 6900K
MSI GTX 1080ti Armor
32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200mhz RAM
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD (system drive)
Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD (sample drive)
MyDigitalSSD BPX 480GB M.2 (work drive)
2 HGST Ultrastar 4TB drives (backup)
LG 34" Ultra-Widescreen monitor
Pro Tools 12.4
A loaf of bread
A stick of butter
A lot of rye whiskey
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-28-2019, 12:53 PM
PatriotsBiker PatriotsBiker is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 816
Default Re: Win 10 Pro update nonsense

I have to install latest graphics card drivers nearly every other month. Seemingly always after a Windows update. Could be coincidental. There was an actual "known issue" back in Oct/Nov this past year. Other than that, I've never seen anything that indicated faulty graphics card drivers other than to install latest driver seemingly fixing the problem at hand.

Isn't making sure system drivers are up to date a best practice anyhow? (including graphics card)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-28-2019, 03:29 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,069
Default Re: Win 10 Pro update nonsense

I'm always checking to see if my graphics driver has a new update. Seems to keep PT "happy". And yes, keeping drivers up-to-date is always a good idea, especially your interface drivers. And I always do the Trasher "dance" after any update/upgrade of anything even remotely connected to Pro Tools.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-28-2019, 06:55 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,572
Default Re: Win 10 Pro update nonsense

Interesting that my Win 8.1 Pro rig doesn’t do this with the same video card. Plus, I could understand if Windows grabbed a newer Matrox driver (I am indeed on the latest driver) but it just overwrites it with a bare-bones basic crappy generic VGA driver. Gonna try the group policy editor route.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-02-2019, 10:57 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,069
Default Re: Win 10 Pro update nonsense

Try one of these suggestions.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nonsense toddincharlotte Pro Tools 11 3 10-30-2017 10:58 PM
Hey, anybody remember this yellow nonsense with AIR? SmokinBaldMonkey Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-22-2011 10:35 AM
unnecessary nonsense... bongo_x 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-16-2010 08:24 PM
Tap Tempo Nonsense Iain Graham Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-21-2004 06:18 AM
Grabber nonsense? Chompers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-29-2001 05:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com