Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-13-2017, 05:41 PM
LightWing's Avatar
LightWing LightWing is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 484
Default Re: Pro Tools AAX Plug-In Latency Chart

How is the latency being measured?
__________________
Patrick

www.LightWingStudios.com

Musical Instrument Protection Accessories...Made In America.

AxeShield HD, AmpShield HD, KeyShield HD, AxeSak, AxeGlove & AxeCap

Win 10 Pro, PT 2019.5 Native, Dell Precision T5500, Dual Processors (12 Cores), 72GB RAM, 4@500GB SSD, 2@4TB HD, Nvidia 2GB HDMI Card, Vizio 39" TV as Monitor, Presonus AudioBox USB Interface, Mackie HR-828 Monitors, Katana Head, Fishman Triple Play, AIR Music & East West Plugins, 9 Guitars...& an AMAZING wife. :)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-13-2017, 05:51 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,990
Default Re: Pro Tools AAX Plug-In Latency Chart

So just confirming are all these the numbers reported by Pro Tools delay compensation or manually verified/tested?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-13-2017, 05:57 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,545
Default Re: Pro Tools AAX Plug-In Latency Chart

Quote:
Originally Posted by LightWing View Post
How is the latency being measured?
1. Delay Compensation must be enabled in your Playback Engine.
2. View the Delay Compensation section in View menu > Mix Window Views > Delay Compensation (checked)
3. Insert a plug-in.
4. The 1st item (nearest the fader) in the Delay Compensation box is the value reported.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-13-2017, 05:59 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,545
Default Re: Pro Tools AAX Plug-In Latency Chart

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
So just confirming are all these the numbers reported by Pro Tools delay compensation or manually verified/tested?
Well I would have thought that the number reported by Pro Tools would be correct.
I am assuming that you know about some cases where this is not true.
Would you like me to add another column for that manual check Darryl?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-13-2017, 06:07 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,990
Default Re: Pro Tools AAX Plug-In Latency Chart

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweakhead View Post
Well I would have thought that the number reported by Pro Tools would be correct.
I am assuming that you know about some cases where this is not true.
Would you like me to add another column for that manual check Darryl?
No, I just wanted to understand what is being reported. It would be good to add a note in the spreadsheet that the data is the reported latency...

Sure there are cases where plugins get delay comp wrong, I can't think of the exact cases now.

This will be helpful for folks. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-13-2017, 06:12 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,545
Default Re: Pro Tools AAX Plug-In Latency Chart

OK. Done.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-13-2017, 06:33 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,545
Default Re: Pro Tools AAX Plug-In Latency Chart

Just a quick tip for anyone contributing to the spreadsheet . . .

If you've run out of space to add another plug-in in a certain manufacturer's section - just select the row at the far left (click on the number) and from the "Insert" menu choose either "row above" or "row below" . . . whatever makes sense to you.

You can undo/redo mistakes with the two little curved arrows under the "Edit" menu.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-29-2017, 10:34 AM
PatrickCusack PatrickCusack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Loa Angeles
Posts: 16
Default Re: Pro Tools AAX Plug-In Latency Chart

Thanks for the quick response. What is the ETA on 3.8? Is that compatible with WSControll app 3.6.1 and above?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-14-2017, 11:06 AM
ProsTools ProsTools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 15
Default Re: Pro Tools AAX Plug-In Latency Chart

Waves has a webpage showing their plugin latency.
https://www.waves.com/support/tech-specs/plugin-latency
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-21-2017, 04:38 AM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 363
Default Re: Pro Tools AAX Plug-In Latency Chart

Just added some entries, mostly for McDSP & SoundToys, but also Valhalla, Massey, plus Waves SSL Bus Comp. (all 48kHz/Native)

Many of the ones I posted were "0", which i figure is useful information. (I mention it because previously there were almost no zeroes in the spreadsheet.)

~peter in athens
__________________
my (long-term) travel system
~ Macbook Air 11" / 2gHz dual i7 / 256GB ssd / PT12.5.2 / McDSP+SoundToys / Apogee Duet ~
whole studio (+3 mics) weighs 7 lbs & mixes 24 tracks without a hiccup!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Display problem with AAX Plug-ins Chart Darryl Ramm AAX Plug-ins 8 07-12-2012 03:50 PM
Digi 003 Rack Latency chart needed Kempo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 23 10-16-2010 05:13 PM
RAM LIMITS/ Plug-In Chart?? Troy Tracks Studio Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 05-10-2010 09:59 PM
Is there a PT MIX/24 OS 9 Plug-in compatibility chart? storypod Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-23-2008 08:54 AM
Is there a delay/latency reference chart for LE ? MKZ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 10-09-2007 06:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com