Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-15-2015, 02:56 PM
channaD channaD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Mammoth Lakes, Ca
Posts: 5
Default Artist Mix and Transport not showing up EuCon 3.3.1

Hi!

As the title reads, I don't see the control surfaces in EuControl, and yes, it does not work. I just downloaded 3.3.1 and it said I have to update my firmware. Great! I'd love to...but the surfaces do not show up. So they are now just expensive paper wweights taking up valuable desktop space.

Someone out there that can help me?

OS X 10.9.5 is what I'm running. The surfaces don't register in EuControl at all. I can't get this thing working, and why should I have to pay $59 to contact support? It seems ridiculous that AVID won't just have levels of support. This is basic support that should be free with a new version update.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-15-2015, 03:25 PM
mrtomcat mrtomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Studio City
Posts: 216
Default Re: Artist Mix and Transport not showing up EuCon 3.3.1

a few possibles:

Unit is off
Ethernet cable is not connected
Network is down
if none of that is true
reset Artist Mix DHCP to renew the IP lease

if that doesn't work contact support
My bet is that you need to renew the IP lease
__________________
Mixing/Producing/Recording
PT Ultimate 2019.5
Wavelab Pro 9.5
UAD Satellite Octo Thunderbolt,
Apollo Twin Duo,
HDX Card running in Sonnet TB3 expansion box,
2x Avid I/O Analog 16/16,
4x Artist Mix, Avid Dock, PT Control,
Mac Mini 2018 32gig ram 1 TB SSD 6 Core running Mojave,
lots of outboard gear
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2015, 04:04 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,538
Default Re: Artist Mix and Transport not showing up EuCon 3.3.1

What tomcat asks above and also how are your units connected to the computer? Switch/Hub or modem etc??
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2015, 05:46 PM
channaD channaD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Mammoth Lakes, Ca
Posts: 5
Default Re: Artist Mix and Transport not showing up EuCon 3.3.1

I see what you're saying on all those points. The thing is, the artist mix and transport both work fine on my laptop. I just got a new desktop, and it's just not working right.

Laptop:
MacBook Pro OS X 10.8.5
EuControl version 3.2.1
both units are connected to an ethernet hub, then to laptop.
both units firmware are up to date for EuControl 3.2.1


Desktop:
Mac Mini OS X 10.9.5
EuControl 3.3.1
both units do not show up in EuControl under surfaces, and I can't update the firmware if I wanted to.
Both units are still connected the same way as laptop, but just connected to the mac mini from the hub.

Both units work fine on the laptop, but do not show up at all on the mac mini. I just got the mac mini 2 weeks ago, and this is the final step in getting the studio up and running. It's super frustrating, especially having to pay for support, when this is clearly related to the update.

I even tried installing EuControl 3.2.2 which was the first to have support for 10.9.5. Should I try installing an older version of EuControl?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-15-2015, 05:51 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,538
Default Re: Artist Mix and Transport not showing up EuCon 3.3.1

To me it sounds like there is something with your ethernet settings as this works for others and if it was a bug issue more people would complain so what does your ip settings say and in the Eucon app there is a setting for either WiFi or Ethernet which needs to be set to Ethernet and Not Wifi as it wont see the units otherwise. We did that same headspinn before we found the setting had changed itself to WiFi instead
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-15-2015, 05:54 PM
mrtomcat mrtomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Studio City
Posts: 216
Default Re: Artist Mix and Transport not showing up EuCon 3.3.1

yep, the ethernet vs wifi setting. Also check if you have your firewall enabled on the mac mini, it might be blocking the artist boxes.
__________________
Mixing/Producing/Recording
PT Ultimate 2019.5
Wavelab Pro 9.5
UAD Satellite Octo Thunderbolt,
Apollo Twin Duo,
HDX Card running in Sonnet TB3 expansion box,
2x Avid I/O Analog 16/16,
4x Artist Mix, Avid Dock, PT Control,
Mac Mini 2018 32gig ram 1 TB SSD 6 Core running Mojave,
lots of outboard gear
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-18-2015, 10:47 AM
channaD channaD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Mammoth Lakes, Ca
Posts: 5
Default Re: Artist Mix and Transport not showing up EuCon 3.3.1

Hey guys, I'm really havnig trouble finding where this wifi vs ethernet setting is located.

I don't see it in Surfaces, Workstations, General, Preferences, Assign, Layouts, or Softkeys.

If I change the service order on the network preferences in the mac mini, I then can't get on the internet through wifi.

This is very strange...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-18-2015, 10:53 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,538
Default Re: Artist Mix and Transport not showing up EuCon 3.3.1

That setting is under Eucon network settings i want to remember. Not in Eucon menu.

There is a choice to change settings in the Eucon Network setup where there is a VERY small lane where you choose wifi or ethernet in that window.

If you dont don't find it i will check as soon as i am back in the studio if no one else chimes in and point you to where it is.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-18-2015, 01:52 PM
channaD channaD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Mammoth Lakes, Ca
Posts: 5
Default Re: Artist Mix and Transport not showing up EuCon 3.3.1

Okay, I've found the setting. It's in the System Preferences, then EuCon, and then I see the setting.

It's already set to ethernet.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-18-2015, 02:02 PM
channaD channaD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Mammoth Lakes, Ca
Posts: 5
Default Re: Artist Mix and Transport not showing up EuCon 3.3.1

Alright! Looks like I got it! You guys were right all along.

I did need to assign a static IP address.

Thank you guys so much!! You've been very helpful...

now I'm on to my other dilemma...do I sell the Artist Transport?? I don't' really use it that much. Still using the number pad of my keyboard.

Any thoughts as to why I should keep it?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bug for Artist Transport since EuCon 3 Voyageur Artist Series 5 08-04-2016 11:58 PM
Artist Transport and Eucon 3.2.2 Crashes PT11.3.1 siann1 Artist Series 6 01-24-2016 11:04 AM
Touching Artist Transport Freezes Up Artist Control in Logic sonofmack Artist Series 1 03-13-2013 08:22 PM
ARTIST TRANSPORT: Transport knobs do not light up when pushed smallchamber Artist Series 0 02-26-2013 05:36 AM
Artist Transport and EuCon - what am I doing wrong? ArKay99 Artist Series 4 11-08-2012 08:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com