Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2014, 12:41 PM
SmokinBaldMonkey SmokinBaldMonkey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 132
Default How do you change your avid account email

My client changed his ISP and lost access to his ISP-based email account. So he asked me to log in and change it for him, since he's not internet savvy.

I log in for him, and what do I find? Nothing. No links, no options, and no information for changing or altering your avid account email address at all. My account is the same. Apparently you can't. So if you lose access to your email address, you also lose your avid account.

The lengths this company goes to in order to shaft its customers, and prevent them from being able to reach human beings or ask even the most basic of questions, while simultaneously building the most fck-worthless website and help system anywhere on the internets amazes me to no end.

I'm drop-jawed that the DUC still exists, frankly, because its far too useful and helpful to continue being a part of Avid…shouldn't it have been exported to New Putinland or sold off to Fruity Loops a long time ago?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-03-2014, 12:48 PM
Glenjb Glenjb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 656
Default Re: How do you change your avid account email

http://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2086085&postcount=2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-03-2014, 12:55 PM
SmokinBaldMonkey SmokinBaldMonkey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 132
Default Re: How do you change your avid account email

yeah that would be an excellent solution, except the system was built two years ago, so, no registration card/number, and no ASC code. So now, what, I have to take his @#$%^@#$ pro tools rig apart and pull cards to get a serial number? Are you kidding me?
__________________
Veni, Vidi, Funki - I came, I saw, I laid the stank down

System 1: Retina MBP 512SSD/16RAM - Thunderbolt HDX1/HDIO
System 2: Mac Mini - 512SSD/8RAM - Thunderbolt HDX1/HDIO
OSX 10.8.5
Pro Tools 10 HD
Pro Tools 11 HD
SYNC HD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-03-2014, 01:56 PM
Glenjb Glenjb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 656
Default Re: How do you change your avid account email

You just need to get in contact with support one way or the other. Hopefully a mod will see your post here
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-03-2014, 02:02 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,546
Default Re: How do you change your avid account email

Hi

As Glenjb said, the only way is to fill out the form and send it to Avid support,

Unfortunately that is the way Avid wants it and we moderators can't do anything else than pointing you to the correct place,

http://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2163449&postcount=8

Sorry that I can't do anything else

Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-05-2014, 03:16 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: How do you change your avid account email

Here is probably why, and legitimately correct, many people want to bypass the transfer of ownership of Avid products, especially if they are not the legitimate owner. One way to work around some of these issues is to just transfer the account to someone else, which will require changing the email account.

As an example, HD10/11 cannot be transferred. So people get around this by giving their iLok account and Avid account to the buyer which is a violation of Avid's policy.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to change Avid Account Email JazzyJ Pro Tools 11 5 05-03-2014 02:04 AM
How to change email in Avid account??? bleudog Pro Tools 11 12 02-15-2014 09:37 AM
Change Avid Account Email/Login Ian Bodzasi macOS 8 10-02-2013 11:40 AM
How to change my Avid Account Email/Login Suge_KNice macOS 2 09-23-2013 08:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com