Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2019, 01:17 PM
Nathan W. Nathan W. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 508
Default ProTools Freezes when Shared Computers Reboot

Hi,

Often we'll network machines together at my office to drop files to one another. However, sometimes that machine that networks onto another machine—if it reboots it crashes ProTools. We use 12.4.0—Any thoughts? There anyway to prevent this?
__________________
iMac 3.5 i7, 16 GB Ram
OSX 10.9.5 Mavericks
ProTools 10/11HD
HD Native Thunderbolt
Avid Omni 2.21 Firmware
SYNC HD 2.21 Firmware
AJA Gen 10 TriSync
Blackmagic UltraStudio Express 10.1.4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-13-2019, 01:25 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,998
Default Re: ProTools Freezes when Shared Computers Reboot

Shared how, what protocol, what is the other computer?

How exactly does Pro Tools crash, what do you see? What exact error messages.

What exactly are you sharing, esp. what volumes/directories are mounted across those systems?

If you have volumes mounted on the other drive and Pro Tools is actively using them then sure bad things might happen. Bad things will also happen if you are sharing user directories and say preference file updates in ~/Library are going to the remote system that ain’t there no more.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 11 Freezes during Playback, requires hard reboot alange Pro Tools 11 2 02-02-2015 05:33 PM
DigiTest freezes immediately requiring hard reboot...? innerbooty Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-11-2014 01:52 PM
After Creative Collection is Installed PTLE8 Freezes Causing Reboot MitchM2006 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-17-2009 01:22 PM
Pro Tools Freezes/reboot Bigpit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-11-2009 08:11 PM
Screen Freezes Constantly and Need to Reboot (running DIGI002) asher400 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-05-2003 08:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com