Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2019, 03:27 PM
beanbagjimmy beanbagjimmy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Montreal
Posts: 3
Default Ungroup-Regroup Clips removes Clip Group Mutes

Hi all,

Here to share an inconsistency when Regrouping clips.

A bit of context:
We receive tracks containing clip groups from sound editors. Some of these clip groups are muted for future reference or as options. When coalescing volume automation to clip gain (we do this to have flat volume automations when beginning a mix), we are forced to ungroup clips, otherwise we cannot coalesce.

Where the problem lies:
Up until this point, everything is fine because after coalescing, we can regroup clips. But once we regroup, the clip groups that were muted lose that data and become all unmuted.

Is there a way we can fix this? Has this been observed by anyone else?

Thanks alot for your input.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-06-2019, 03:59 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,678
Default Re: Ungroup-Regroup Clips removes Clip Group Mutes

Having a hard time following:
Are you saying muted clips in the clip group are becoming unmuted when regrouped

or

Are you talking about the group itself is not staying muted when you regroup (though the clips are muted before you group)?
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.5, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-07-2019, 09:37 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,604
Default Re: Ungroup-Regroup Clips removes Clip Group Mutes

Clip groups are dangerous as deliverables (or even for your own editing) for this reason, and because clip gain and fades implemented at the clip group level will be gone if you ungroup them. I know of many bitten by this; they clip group a bunch of things for convenience, then do further editing and fades on the clip groups, then need to unpack some clip groups to replace something and all their fades / clip mutes / clip gain are gone! - been that way ever since clip groups were added as a feature. Seems like a command to "apply edits to underlying clip-group elements" would be a nice thing to have. Until then, be careful with them.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.

Last edited by Rich Breen; 05-07-2019 at 09:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nudging a clip past another clip removes the stationary clip evil.beasts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-01-2017 11:08 AM
Group of clips not importing correctly from Clip List? ebban Pro Tools 12 0 08-31-2017 01:25 PM
showing parent clip group of offline-clips Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 2 04-14-2015 08:53 AM
Ungroup Clips Shortcut Not Working? ChazC Windows 6 01-29-2012 03:32 PM
double-clicking grouped tracks removes group editingbehavior drguitar Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-07-2007 10:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com