Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2018, 07:48 PM
Cicada Cicada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 5
Default What Firewire PC Cards will work with MBOX 2 Pro

Hello, I have been searching around on the internet, trying to find an answer to this question, but everything I find seems to old to be helpful. I have an Mbox 2 Pro that was purchased over 10 years ago. I had many years of using it on a Mac, but eventually my Mac died and I want to get away from using Mac.

So I have read about the need to get a Firewire card that will work with the chipset of an audio interface, but have not been able to find info about what Firewire cards will work with my MBox 2 Pro.

Does anyone have this information or any advice about how to find this information.

Sincere thanks for any pointers.
Cicada Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2018, 08:13 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,996
Default Re: What Firewire PC Cards will work with MBOX 2 Pro

Any TI (Texas Instruments) Firewire chipset based card will work. This has been discussed a lot on DUC before.

But why go that route and not purchase a new USB interface? You are investing in old technology with that card, and there are better interfaces available today.

What Windows version are you planning to run on? What Pro Tools version?

If you hope to run old Pro Tools LE software you really need to work out if that will run on the OS version you plan to use. And do you have access to the windows software installers etc. you need?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2018, 06:40 PM
Cicada Cicada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 5
Default Re: What Firewire PC Cards will work with MBOX 2 Pro

Hi Darryl,
Thanks so much for the information. I had not been able to find it. I did see some references to TI, but the statements referring to it did not say that any TI firewire chipset works.

The reasons for wanting to keep and use my old hardware is that I like it and I hate throwing things away that have nothing wrong with them. I also do not have very much money to spend in trying to get something back up and running. So I decided to piece together a desktop system that will let me continue to use the tools I love and know how to use (if I can). I really detest how everything constantly changes all the time. If I have a tool that works and lets me do the creative work I want to do, why should I constantly have to upgrade to new hardware and software versions and have to relearn how to do what I already know how to do. I believe this to be a waste of my time and money.

With regard to OS, I have read that the MBox 2 Pro driver for Windows is not supported on Windows 10, so for Windows, I would probably have to be running Windows 7, I guess. I hear what you are saying about ProTools LE. The version I own is ProTools 8.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2018, 07:22 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,996
Default Re: What Firewire PC Cards will work with MBOX 2 Pro

Google

TI chipset firewire pcie card

Lots of choices.

You should check for card/driver (if needed) compatibility with whatever vintage Windows OS version you need to run for Pro Tools and interface compatibility. Your choice to be doing this, just work through the compatibility matrix for all this stuff before getting started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-17-2018, 08:11 AM
Cicada Cicada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 5
Default Re: What Firewire PC Cards will work with MBOX 2 Pro

Thanks Darryl.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2018, 08:58 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,613
Default Re: What Firewire PC Cards will work with MBOX 2 Pro

Running Mbox 2 Pro here on Windows 10(with PT 12.4) connected to the on-board FW port(Asus X79 Sabertooth, i7 3930K, 32GB of RAM). The only issue I ever have is that sometimes PT won't find the Mbox(a restart solves it every time)


Search eBay for "firewire card TI chipset"(without the quotes). Look for a card that has a FW400 port(so you won't need to adapt from FW800) and get the proper style card for your PC(look at your available slots so you know to get a PCI card(long slot) or a PCIe card(short slot)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-04-2019, 01:39 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,603
Default Re: What Firewire PC Cards will work with MBOX 2 Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cicada View Post
Hi Darryl,
Thanks so much for the information. I had not been able to find it. I did see some references to TI, but the statements referring to it did not say that any TI firewire chipset works..
This is the go to for myself. Quality drivers and superb hardware.

They use Ti-chips for the process....I had a few of these over the years...and I had one that ran FW800 and FW400 connections.

Win7 is hard to find these days.....FYI

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/det...0aAic5EALw_wcB
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox Pro (3rd gen) crash issue : What are some good firewire PCIE cards? HussainA 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-28-2012 07:28 AM
Will the MBox 2 Pro ever work with firewire 800 drives? Jperkins 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-21-2009 12:55 PM
Will this Firewire card work with my Mbox 2 Pro Pro Tools LE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-14-2007 09:01 PM
What PCMCIA Firewire cards work with the 002? rlcowa@work2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-10-2006 09:21 AM
Do firewire cards work with PT? Allbaldo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 09-09-2002 07:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com