Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2009, 08:33 PM
KrissKaboom KrissKaboom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 7
Exclamation M-Powered Pro Tools 7.1.1 won't open.

It must have been a Mac update, or something, but I can't get into Pro Tools. I tried the ProTools Pref and Database Helper. I tried deleting everything anyone told me to delete short of the whole program. Help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2009, 11:16 PM
M.Brane M.Brane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: 1hr N/W of LA LA land
Posts: 1,999
Default Re: M-Powered Pro Tools 7.1.1 won't open.

Some system details might be helpful. We have no idea what you have beyond 7.1.1, and some kind of Mac.

Software update is supposed to be disabled with PT BTW, and I don't even use it on my systems without it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2009, 12:21 PM
KrissKaboom KrissKaboom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 7
Default Re: M-Powered Pro Tools 7.1.1 won't open.

Your right. Here it is. MacBook Pro 15", 2.33 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2 GB ram, OS X 10.4.1.1, Safari, and Firefox. I use various M-audio interfaces including a jamlab. I only have one computer so it's sketchy to not update it. I have to do internet, photos, iTunes, everything all in one.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2009, 05:43 PM
M.Brane M.Brane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: 1hr N/W of LA LA land
Posts: 1,999
Default Re: M-Powered Pro Tools 7.1.1 won't open.

I use my old G4 for pretty much everything too, and I'm still on 10.3.9.

It actually works pretty well. I'm very careful about what gets "updated".

You might take a look at this page. It looks like 7.1.1 was never tested with 10.4.11, and therefore is not officially qualified with that OS. That doesn't necessarily mean it won't work, but as far as Digi is concerned you are on your own with that config if you have problems. You should try running the prebinding script linked to on that page to see if it solves your problem.

In the future to save yourself time, and frustration always backup your known-good system so you can restore it should some "update" go wrong. It's a good idea to keep redundant offline backups of critical data anyway since you never know when trouble will strike. It's usually at the worst possible time.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-04-2009, 08:45 PM
KrissKaboom KrissKaboom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 7
Default Re: M-Powered Pro Tools 7.1.1 won't open.

That didn't work either. I have tried that a few times. Thanks anyway. Maybe someone else? Is no one else having this Problem with M-Powered ?

Last edited by KrissKaboom; 01-05-2009 at 05:57 PM. Reason: No recent posts
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2009, 12:40 PM
Robbie Hollywood Robbie Hollywood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 48
Default Re: M-Powered Pro Tools 7.1.1 won't open.

You are not alone. I'm having the same problem. I've been out of town for a while and the last time I used Pro Tools was about four months ago so I'm not sure when the problem started or if I made any OSX updates since then. Pre-binding script didn't work for me either. I may try re-installing. Has anyone else come up with a successful solution to this?

Pro Tools 7.1.1
ProjectMix I/O
Mac OSX 10.4.11
2.16GHz Intel iMac
2GB memory.
__________________
Pro-Tools M-Powered 7.4.2
Apple iMac 2.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB
ProjectMix I/O
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-20-2009, 05:47 PM
Robbie Hollywood Robbie Hollywood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 48
Default Re: M-Powered Pro Tools 7.1.1 won't open.

Update. I've tried the pre-binding script, re-installsing Pro Tools, and re-installing OSX 10.4.11 Combo several times in various orders. Still no luck. I just get the bouncing icon, but it never opens. I have to do this hour-long dance everytime a new OSX update comes out. This is the first time I haven't been able to get it to work at all. I'm fed up. No other programs I've ever used require this ridiculous protocol just to keep them up and running (or not).

If Digidesign can't make reliable software then I'm going to spend my money on Logic rather than purchasing their crappy update to (maybe) solve my problem. Please let me know if anyone else is still having the same problem or if you've been able to solve it.

__________________
Pro-Tools M-Powered 7.4.2
Apple iMac 2.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB
ProjectMix I/O
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-20-2009, 07:46 PM
M.Brane M.Brane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: 1hr N/W of LA LA land
Posts: 1,999
Default Re: M-Powered Pro Tools 7.1.1 won't open.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbie Hollywood View Post
Update. I've tried the pre-binding script, re-installsing Pro Tools, and re-installing OSX 10.4.11 Combo several times in various orders. Still no luck. I just get the bouncing icon, but it never opens. I have to do this hour-long dance everytime a new OSX update comes out. This is the first time I haven't been able to get it to work at all. I'm fed up. No other programs I've ever used require this ridiculous protocol just to keep them up and running (or not).

If Digidesign can't make reliable software then I'm going to spend my money on Logic rather than purchasing their crappy update to (maybe) solve my problem. Please let me know if anyone else is still having the same problem or if you've been able to solve it.

I don't think it's really fair to blame Digi for your problems. 10.4.11 didn't even exist when 7.1.1 was coded, and is not supported with 7.1.1. If anything you should blame Apple for breaking so many things in an OS update.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-21-2009, 11:06 AM
Robbie Hollywood Robbie Hollywood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 48
Default Re: M-Powered Pro Tools 7.1.1 won't open.

I would agree with you except for one crucial fact: every other third party app and everything else works on my computer when I do an OS update...except for Pro Tools. Future OS updates are a known factor when designing software. Digi should be prepared for these updates just like every other software company.

Again, if anyone else has a potential solution please let me know.
__________________
Pro-Tools M-Powered 7.4.2
Apple iMac 2.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB
ProjectMix I/O
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-14-2009, 05:17 PM
danenglander1 danenglander1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: M-Powered Pro Tools 7.1.1 won't open.

Hello,

I know it's been quite a while since you had this issue with Pro Tools. I seem to have the identical problem. Any luck or did you eventually go for Logic?

cheers


Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbie Hollywood View Post
Update. I've tried the pre-binding script, re-installsing Pro Tools, and re-installing OSX 10.4.11 Combo several times in various orders. Still no luck. I just get the bouncing icon, but it never opens. I have to do this hour-long dance everytime a new OSX update comes out. This is the first time I haven't been able to get it to work at all. I'm fed up. No other programs I've ever used require this ridiculous protocol just to keep them up and running (or not).

If Digidesign can't make reliable software then I'm going to spend my money on Logic rather than purchasing their crappy update to (maybe) solve my problem. Please let me know if anyone else is still having the same problem or if you've been able to solve it.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT9 M Powered Open? levistripes Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 11 09-04-2011 12:50 AM
Can Pro Tools 9 open M-Powered Essential sessions? mild7 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 3 07-20-2011 08:11 PM
Can not open Pro Tools M-Powered Essentials bdavis Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 1 12-30-2009 02:24 PM
Pro Tools M Powered Can't Open File BRakestraw Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 12-01-2009 08:42 AM
I Can Not Open or Uninstall Pro Tools M Powered 7.3 on Vista JustparaDOX Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 8 12-15-2007 10:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com