Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-17-2006, 08:18 PM
Royalston Royalston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 40
Default \"Unable to launch midi server\" grrrrr

Hi
Im running an mbox 2 and an RME fireface 800 (not at the same time).
The RME has always worked fine, and my system's midi has worked without a hitch.

But since I recently started using the mbox 2, I find that audio-midi setup is "Unable to launch midi server"...so I have no midi. Someone said I should update my system to 10.4.8...so I did (with the combined updater) - same problem is occurring.

Please note: Ive recently reinstalled everything from the ground up to make a nice working system that PT "likes"....and now this (!) ...It's very frustrating.

Thanks
R.

G5 dual 2.3 ptle7.1cs7 (installing cs10 now)
Mbox 2
Fireface 800
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-28-2006, 04:53 AM
Royalston Royalston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 40
Default Re: \"Unable to launch midi server\" grrrrr

bu-ump...problem still happening...help please
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-28-2006, 04:53 AM
Royalston Royalston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 40
Default Re: \"Unable to launch midi server\" grrrrr

bu-ump...problem still happening...help please
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-28-2006, 05:17 PM
Digi Engineering Digi Engineering is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Berkeley, CA USA
Posts: 1,406
Default Re: \"Unable to launch midi server\" grrrrr

Hi R,

Can you list the contents of your /Library/Audio/MIDI Drivers folder?

Thanks,
digi-eng
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-28-2006, 06:25 PM
Royalston Royalston is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 40
Default Re: \"Unable to launch midi server\" grrrrr

Hi
Thanks for the reply
heres the list

DigidesignMbox2MIDI.plugin
DigiDioMidiDriver.plugin
EmagicUSBMIDIDriver.plugin
Fireface MIDI.plugin
M-Audio USB Support.plugin

Note: The midi server seems to die after a while of the computer being on, upon restart it functions normally (for a while)

R.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-29-2006, 12:27 PM
Digi Engineering Digi Engineering is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Berkeley, CA USA
Posts: 1,406
Default Re: \"Unable to launch midi server\" grrrrr

Try removing the "DigiDioMidiDriver.plugin" component. It's only required for the 002 so you don't need it for the Mbox2. If that doesn't fix your problem, try removing the "DigidesignMbox2MIDI.plugin" - this is a required component for the Mbox2 but it will give use some good data if it fixes your problem.

Thanks,
digi-eng
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-29-2006, 01:06 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,752
Default Re: \"Unable to launch midi server\" grrrrr

You could also try this (before removing those drivers):

Go to MacHD>Users>your account>Library>Preferences>By Host and trash 'com.apple.midi.a bunch of numbers and letters.plist'.

Go to MacHD>Users>your account>Library>Preferences and trash 'com.apple.audio.audiomidisetup.plist'.

Empty the trash and restart, then see if everything is working.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LE 8 - Unable To Launch Midi Server alfieboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 06-02-2010 04:17 PM
Files transfered server-server relay still downloaded from remote server Phill Barrett Aspera DigiDelivery 1 03-19-2010 01:58 AM
Launch error log: MIDI server [328] donbenjy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-08-2010 11:28 AM
Error: "unable to launch midi server"???? Bambison Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-21-2007 06:01 PM
ProTools 7.3 + Midi Server won't launch. Registered 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-19-2007 01:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com