Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2020, 10:10 AM
Elton Hyland Elton Hyland is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Washington State
Posts: 149
Default About to take the leap. Your thoughts?

I moved my studio from Washington State to Nashville. While out west, I used PT7 etc. With that, I also used a Command 8, 003 RACK. The COMMAND 8 being USB and the 003 being Firewire.

After reading about compatibility, I am understanding that
1. The 003 RACK is still supported with the latest PT version.
and
2. The Cmd8 is NOT supported but still works.

QUESTION: If I upgrade to the latest PT, do you think I will have any issues? Or should I try to get a version like 10 or 11?

Thanks
__________________
WinXP Pro. 003 Rack, Command 8. Alesis Powered Monitors, Roland XP80 Kbd. Dual core 1.8 w/ 2 Gigs RAM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2020, 10:58 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 484
Default Re: About to take the leap. Your thoughts?

I thought it was the other way around. 003 Not supported, Command 8 is supported. At least it's still there in the Peripheral setup as an option and mine works fine. It is definitely EOL with no tech support but the software still supports it.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2020, 04:26 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,222
Default Re: About to take the leap. Your thoughts?

AFAIK, both are not supported, but both still work with even the very latest PT(running a 003rack on Windows 10 with PT2019.12 here). In Nashville, you probably will need more inputs so plan to add an 8-channel lightpipe preamp to your setup. The Behringer ADA8200(the red one at around $200) is a great budget option. The Midas XL48(around $879) is absolutely killer on drums! I did a lot of recording in Nashville with 003, a lightpipe preamp and a DBX386 on SPDIF for 18 inputs Also, you'll need a way to get some good headphone mixes(happy players make better music)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leap ! By Leap Motion ! ! ! AVID!?!? This gonna work???? Table Syrup Records General Discussion 22 07-20-2012 12:12 PM
8.0.3/snow leap jackandrew 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-25-2009 10:06 AM
Thinking of leap from LE to TDM DodgeSongs Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 10-23-2006 10:46 AM
G4 upgrades...or the big leap? joshua d 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 02-22-2006 04:05 PM
Making the OSX leap johnnyreno 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-20-2003 10:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com