Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-12-2019, 10:54 AM
johnnyv johnnyv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,066
Default Troubles interleaving files

Hey all,

I'm having an odd problem. I have two mono files that I would like to interleave. When I export the clips (both selected) and bring up the Export window, I choose "interleave" as opposed to "Multiple mono", but the clips aren't interleaving upon export. They are exporting as multiple mono.

Am I missing something?

Thanks in advance for any info...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2019, 11:03 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,997
Default Re: Troubles interleaving files

Interleave requires they be on the same audio track. Not two separate clips on two different tracks for export.

If they are on two separate tracks and are sounding the way you want, use bounce to disk and choose the output they are both using and select interleave.

If you just want to interleave, create a stereo track, select the two clips on the mono tracks, and drag them both to the stereo track (where one will go left and one will go right.) Then you can export as an interleaved track.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2019, 11:47 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,481
Default Re: Troubles interleaving files

Hi,


Or just select them both and consolidate as the exact same length then drag onto a stereo track, the it will work.




Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-2019, 02:51 PM
johnnyv johnnyv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,066
Default Re: Troubles interleaving files

Thank you, thank you, guys!

I ended up bouncing to disk to solve the immediate problem. I never realized (haha, until today) that PT wouldn't take two files of the same length (on adjacent tracks) and interleaved via the File Export window (even though it gives you that option).

But yes, the ideas of creating a blank stereo track and then dragging the mono files onto it were ideas I hadn't thought of in my haste.

Thanks, guys!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to force de-interleaving? Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 3 04-02-2014 07:26 AM
mac troubles slrobinson83 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 08-27-2004 05:42 AM
OMF troubles doug kaufman Post - Surround - Video 8 11-04-2003 06:13 PM
The real deal with interleaving ram soundboy35 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 16 12-09-2002 01:38 PM
Interleaving Memory on 9600 Phatplanet Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-11-2000 01:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com