Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2008, 06:15 AM
IndreStudios IndreStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 29
Default High track count errors, Sync i/o problem?

My PT rig is acting strange and I'm wondering if anyone else has experienced this problem...

When I try to record between 40 - 48 tracks at once (split up equally between 2 Glyph FW400 drives), I'm really slamming the drive buss on the system usage meter. It usually hovers at around 75-80%. No plug-ins, no eq, nothing but recording.

Now here's the weird part, when I need to be the time code master on a session - and choose to generate using my Sync i/o, it will hit even higher on the drive meter, roll for about a minute before it stops with a -9073 (firewire too slow error)

HD 2 - PCI
PT 6.9
OS 10.3.9
G5 1.25ghz single proc.


any ideas?
-MC


[image]http://www.indrestudios.com/pt1.jpg[/image]
[image]http://www.indrestudios.com/pt2.jpg[/image]
__________________
Michael Comstock
Indre Studios, Philadelphia
www.indrestudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2008, 09:14 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,636
Default Re: High track count errors, Sync i/o problem?

In your Network control panel, do you possibly have FW networking enabled?

Are there any other PCI cards installed?

When did the problem begin and what changed between when it was working and now?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2008, 02:02 PM
IndreStudios IndreStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 29
Default Re: High track count errors, Sync i/o problem?

Thanks Digi, I'll check on the network settings tomorrow (the rig is in our remote truck) don't remember offhand.

No there are no other PCI cards installed - and I really haven't changed or installed anything on this computer in a couple years. Not sure if the problem always existed? Just been using the Sync i/o more lately, and I really notice the stress on the drive buss when I use it to generate code.
__________________
Michael Comstock
Indre Studios, Philadelphia
www.indrestudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2008, 05:23 AM
IndreStudios IndreStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 29
Default Re: High track count errors, Sync i/o problem?

Still getting the same -9073 "DAE can't get audio from the drive(s) fast enough error" when I engage the TC generator feature of my Sync i/o. If I'm not generating code, it looks like I can comfortably record about 60 tracks across my two Glyph FW400 drives. But as soon as I need to be the code master, I'm out of luck if I need to go over 40.

I tried a few general maintenance items - trashing recommended preferences, disconnecting my bluetooth keyboard, switching FW ports, to no avail.

To your suggestion: I did some digging tonight, and it looks like my current OS 10.3.7 doesn't even offer Firewire networking as an option. So that doesn't look like a conflict.

Could my Sync i/o firmware be an issue? it's currently version 1.1.1
__________________
Michael Comstock
Indre Studios, Philadelphia
www.indrestudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-25-2008, 08:11 AM
timothyd4y timothyd4y is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Posts: 124
Default Re: High track count errors, Sync i/o problem?

Just tried to replicate your issue.
On a PTHD2/MacPro rig running OS 10.4.8 I can record 60 24bit/48kHz tracks simultaneously(to 1 LaCie FW400 drive or 2) with or without TC generation and not spike any of the activity meters, the disk meter gets to around 40% tops. Sync I/O firmware 2.0.5. Firmware might be the issue?
Long shot, but have you trashed the Digi database folders from your audio drives?
__________________
Timothy Day
Audio Post

Center City Film and Video

www.CCFV.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-25-2008, 10:23 AM
IndreStudios IndreStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 29
Default Re: High track count errors, Sync i/o problem?

Hi Timothy, Nice to hear from a local shop, say hello to Scot for me!

Yes, I've tried trashing all Digi prefs on all drives - same result. Could this be a factor of my aging G5 (first generation 1.25 single proc) or maybe my OS 10.3.7? Although, I know of a couple people running even older G4s with better results than I.

The SYNC i/o is showing firmware version 1.1.1 - this seems to be the most up-to-date release, based on the Digi site. Looks like this firmware is installed automatically when you first set up your Sync piece. No method, that I've found to re-install that firmware.

I'll keep trying, but open to suggestions...
__________________
Michael Comstock
Indre Studios, Philadelphia
www.indrestudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-25-2008, 12:31 PM
timothyd4y timothyd4y is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Posts: 124
Default Re: High track count errors, Sync i/o problem?

Odd that the Sync I/O firmware on all of our rigs is 2.0.5 according to Setup-Peripherals-Synchronization. Do you have different drives to test?
__________________
Timothy Day
Audio Post

Center City Film and Video

www.CCFV.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-26-2008, 08:07 AM
IndreStudios IndreStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 29
Default Re: High track count errors, Sync i/o problem?

Well after a major round of updates yesterday, my old G5 is back in the game.

Updated to:

OSX 10.4.11
PT 7.4
Sync i/o firmware 1.1.4

Hard to say where the bug existed, but now I'm comfortably recording 48+ tracks (regardless of timecode settings) with the drive meter well below the 1/2 way point.
__________________
Michael Comstock
Indre Studios, Philadelphia
www.indrestudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Trim with High Track Count Swarf Pro Tools 10 1 07-07-2013 02:53 PM
Do I Need Multiple Hard Drives for A High Track Count Mix in Pro Tools 10.. TRUN macOS 8 12-14-2012 01:29 AM
Track name High Lighted problem joji Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-21-2010 12:48 PM
Users of high channel count player/recorders. James Drake Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-19-2008 03:59 PM
MTC Sync and Track Count CLanger Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-28-2002 10:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com