Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2008, 06:59 PM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 808
Default my pans in ProTools HD7.4 are linked - how do I unlink them?

my pans in ProTools HD 7.4 are linked - how do I unlink them?

OK I don’t recall seeing this ever before….. it must be a preference that I cannot find

in stereo audio tracks, i’m used to the left and right pan sliders being independent.

somehow they are now linked - and if I pan in the left, the right follows in, as a reverse mirror image. I dont want this. How do I turn this off? I looked in the manual, with no dice.

I tried assigning to different outputs (a buss, a hardware output, stereo SP/dif, etc - no luck. I tried rebooting - no luck.

aaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh :-(

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2008, 07:44 PM
Bryan Cook Bryan Cook is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA (Eagle Rock)
Posts: 242
Default Re: my pans in ProTools HD7.4 are linked - how do I unlink t

i've seen groups link pans, but i haven't seen ungrouped tracks have linked pans. is there a group on? are there any automation dots when you select the pan view for that track?

if you want to turn off pan linking for a specific group, hit ctrl-apple-g to modify groups, then select the group you want to change and click the attribute tab and unselect the pan. if you want to unlink pans en mass to different groups, i would do the same as above (modify groups) and go to the "globals" tab and set up the way you most often like your groups to behave, then go to the group and check "follow globals"

hope that helps!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-04-2008, 07:51 PM
jimlongo's Avatar
jimlongo jimlongo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: T_dot
Posts: 2,824
Default Re: my pans in ProTools HD7.4 are linked - how do I unlink t

There's a link button for 5.1 panners. If you open up the independent fader by clicking on the little widget in the I/O column in the Edit window it brings up a fader with panning (sorry I don't know what you call it, and I'm at home so I can't send you a screenshot).

Perhaps the same thing exists for stereo faders in 7.4 . . . I've never seen that before. Just a guess.
__________________
noise | jimlongo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2008, 07:58 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: my pans in ProTools HD7.4 are linked - how do I unlink t

In the Mixer Window, click on the Output Window Button which looks like a little fader... there you'll find a Link button.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-04-2008, 10:12 PM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 808
Default Re: my pans in ProTools HD7.4 are linked - how do I unlink t

Quote:
i've seen groups link pans, but i haven't seen ungrouped tracks have linked pans. is there a group on? are there any automation dots when you select the pan view for that track?

.......
no - this is a single, ungrouped stereo audio track.

I've just been told that the links that Rail mentions now default to ON in PT 7.4 - AAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH

Digi - can we please have a preference for this? It is a hassle to unlink them all the time

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-04-2008, 11:43 PM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: my pans in ProTools HD7.4 are linked - how do I unlink t

I'm on 7.4.1 and my stereo tracks do not default to linked stereo
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-04-2008, 11:50 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: my pans in ProTools HD7.4 are linked - how do I unlink t

They don't defailt to linked here either.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-05-2008, 02:12 AM
Andre Knecht Andre Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,187
Default Re: my pans in ProTools HD7.4 are linked - how do I unlink t

Quote:
no - this is a single, ungrouped stereo audio track.
It sounds like that particular stereo was routed to a multi-channel path because, according to the documentation…

———

Multichannel Panner Linking

Stereo tracks with multichannel outputs provide
left and right multichannel panners. The Output
window provides controls to link the left and
right channels for precise panning.

When you create a stereo track that is routed to
a multichannel output, the following pan link- age
controls are active by default:

• Link (links Left and Right pan controls)

• Front Inverse (inverts Left and Right pan
control linkage across front)

• Rear Inverse (inverts Left and Right pan
control linkage across rear)

The Front/Rear Inverse pan control is unlinked
by default.

———

(PT 7.4 Reference Guide, Chapter 41: Surround Panning and Mixing (Pro Tools HD Only), Pg. 872)

The same information also appears in the “What’s New In HD 7.4” document (Chapter 3: Miscellaneous Pro Tools Features and Enhancements; pg. 49).

IHTH.
__________________
Andre Knecht

We’ll fix it in the shrink-wrap. (Frank Zappa)

.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-10-2008, 11:54 AM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 808
Default Re: my pans in ProTools HD7.4 are linked - how do I unlink t

Quote:
Quote:
no - this is a single, ungrouped stereo audio track.
It sounds like that particular stereo was routed to a multi-channel path because, according to the documentation…

———

Multichannel Panner Linking

Stereo tracks with multichannel outputs provide
left and right multichannel panners. The Output
window provides controls to link the left and
right channels for precise panning.

When you create a stereo track that is routed to
a multichannel output, the following pan link- age
controls are active by default:

• Link (links Left and Right pan controls)

• Front Inverse (inverts Left and Right pan
control linkage across front)

• Rear Inverse (inverts Left and Right pan
control linkage across rear)

The Front/Rear Inverse pan control is unlinked
by default.

———

(PT 7.4 Reference Guide, Chapter 41: Surround Panning and Mixing (Pro Tools HD Only), Pg. 872)

The same information also appears in the “What’s New In HD 7.4” document (Chapter 3: Miscellaneous Pro Tools Features and Enhancements; pg. 49).

IHTH.

aha - cool - thanks!

I suspected this to be the case..... right at the beginning....

initially when i thought this was the issue, I assigned the output of the track to a stereo path - but the link stayed - i guess it doesn't 'unlink' once it is linked.....

interesting....

thanks!!!



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
link aux pans to main pans JZStephan Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-24-2008 07:46 PM
LINKED aaf and MXF media Protools 7.4.xx pkingduk Post - Surround - Video 1 09-05-2008 05:37 PM
Files linked, not linked, linked, not linked.... Rader Ranch Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-20-2008 08:18 AM
Send pans follow channel pans? woodshopsound Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-14-2004 02:36 PM
Protools linked to Reason???!!!! yuppie Tips & Tricks 5 11-05-2001 08:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com