Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-18-2020, 07:29 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 716
Default Re: How is 2020.11 ?

Yep, it runs great on Catalina.
Anyone else noticed how much faster the offline bounce speed is with this version.
Previously I was only getting 4.5x ish and now I can get 7 to 10x on a complicated mix with loads of plugs and automation!
I still get problems with AVE switched on though, crashes and errors.
Hence, like friendlybunny, I've started using Video Slave.
Although, AVE tries to switch itself back on all the time, I have to keep checking its off!!??
__________________
Mac Pro 7,1 16 core, OSX 10.15.5, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, MTRX Studio, 2xRME ADA-4, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, PT Dock, PT Control, Soundflow, PT 2020.9v2
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-18-2020, 08:18 AM
citysoundman citysoundman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 562
Default Re: How is 2020.11 ?

Thanks for all the replies.

I've been staying on Mojave because of no more QT in Catalina. Just curious, is there any real benefit to going to Catalina?
__________________
Bob Kirschner
Chief Engineer
Creative Media Design, NYC
http://cmdnyc.com
bob@cmdnyc.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-18-2020, 09:43 AM
friendlybunny friendlybunny is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 245
Default Re: How is 2020.11 ?

I was getting video engine errors at first, but now video is running smoothly. Finally a working video engine (knock on wood)!

I have been importing mp4 videos and it will import the audio track as well. Runs smooth and fast. I prefer my system with Catalina compared to Mojave. I am running a new macbook pro that will only run Catalina. It has replaced my old maxed cheesegrater, and everything is much faster, with more monitors.

I did try the public beta of export to quicktime and it worked. The quicktime encoding was a bit slow and taxed my computer pretty heavily. So I think they will probably optimize it in the future. The export to quicktime in video slave is much faster.

I'm very happy with this new pro tools with Catalina. I seem to be cruising along much faster, and I'm not using video slave at the moment. Video engine seems more stable now than Mojave (so far).
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-19-2020, 08:41 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,241
Default Re: How is 2020.11 ?

All good with 2020.11 on macOS 10.14.6. Dark mode!
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-19-2020, 10:05 AM
marre marre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sweden
Posts: 17
Default Re: How is 2020.11 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheesehead View Post
Yep, it runs great on Catalina.
Anyone else noticed how much faster the offline bounce speed is with this version.
Previously I was only getting 4.5x ish and now I can get 7 to 10x on a complicated mix with loads of plugs and automation!
I still get problems with AVE switched on though, crashes and errors.
Hence, like friendlybunny, I've started using Video Slave.
Although, AVE tries to switch itself back on all the time, I have to keep checking its off!!??
You have to remove all movie files from the session, also those in the clip library, otherwise PT will launch AVE every time you start a session that contains movie clips!
__________________
Mac Pro late 2013 3,5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
64 GB 1866 MHz DDR3
Mac OS 64 GB 1866 MHz DDR3
BlackMagic UltraStudio Express

Pro Tools Ultimate HDX 2020.9
S3 - Dock - PT Control
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-19-2020, 10:54 PM
BobbyDazzler's Avatar
BobbyDazzler BobbyDazzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,024
Default Re: How is 2020.11 ?

Performance on win10 seems better, and I haven't seen any of the weird graphics glitches I was getting on the previous version release.
The dark mode is ok, but I imagine it will be tweaked soon to improve some of the criticisms it's getting.
It's a thumbs up from me
__________________
HP Z2 Xeon 6 Core, Blackmagic Decklink HD Extreme 3D Win10, PT 2020.......
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-20-2020, 03:35 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 716
Default Re: How is 2020.11 ?

Quote:
You have to remove all movie files from the session, also those in the clip library, otherwise PT will launch AVE every time you start a session that contains movie clips!

Thanks marre, that works!
Its a shame it does that. I like to have the video files in there for re-conforming checks.
__________________
Mac Pro 7,1 16 core, OSX 10.15.5, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, MTRX Studio, 2xRME ADA-4, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, PT Dock, PT Control, Soundflow, PT 2020.9v2
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-20-2020, 09:16 AM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 867
Default Re: How is 2020.11 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by marre View Post
You have to remove all movie files from the session, also those in the clip library, otherwise PT will launch AVE every time you start a session that contains movie clips!
that makes sense to me.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-22-2020, 04:28 PM
reidj reidj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Montréal - Quebec - Canada
Posts: 16
Default Re: How is 2020.11 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by friendlybunny View Post
I'm running some large track count film mixes. Seems to be fine, maybe a little better than the previous version.

I'm also using an h264 mp4 file in pro tools and it's working(!)

I usually use video slave, but I imported an mp4 just to check it out. I have been working all day and forgot that I wasn't using video slave. Pretty great.

I'm using Catalina, so I don't know how well it will work on Mojave.
Can you tell me if the Bounce to MOV working properly on Catalina?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-23-2020, 11:44 AM
friendlybunny friendlybunny is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 245
Default Re: How is 2020.11 ?

I have only done some simple stereo bounces to QuickTime, and it worked fine.

It just seemed very slow, and taxed my computer pretty hard.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2020.5/2020.3 Compatibility with Catalina 10.15.4? derrickhou macOS 4 07-26-2020 08:46 AM
Avid Control App Rollback (2020.5 to 2020.3) budster Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 2 06-09-2020 12:01 PM
Pro Tools (2020.3) on MacBook Air 2020 compatibility pellekuipers Pro Tools 2020 1 04-04-2020 09:01 AM
New Avid Link 2020.1 - launched today 1/16/2020 marianna Licensing & Accounts 8 01-17-2020 12:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com