Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-13-2020, 11:33 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,346
Default Using Pro Tools w/ Xbox One X

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReynaldoPena View Post
Hi Jimmy, good afternoon. Thanks, I just ordered this. I had to go ahead and cancel because I mind as well get the iRig HD 2. This will allow me to produce music in my phone and hopefully use my Shure mic on the XBOX. Since it only takes in TRS, I ordered this, https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Not sure if it will function with the Apollo and the iRig at the same time though.

The Irig HD cannot patch into the TRRS plug on the Xbox controller.

The 1/4” input on the Irig is not TRS.

As Darryl pointed out, you need to take some time to get informed before you make any decisions.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-13-2020, 11:45 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,663
Default Re: Using Pro Tools w/ Xbox One X

Wait... you ordered the iRig HD 2? That is not the iRig 2 that James pointed you at. While I disagree with the iRig 2 as a recommendation it is at least an analog box that could provide *some* signal path you need. The iRig HD 2 is completely useless for you, its a digital interface for an instrument input and a DAC for a headphone output, its a lump of plastic unless connected to an iOS device and even then will not do what you need/makes no sense here.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-13-2020, 12:21 PM
ReynaldoPena ReynaldoPena is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 119
Default Re: Using Pro Tools w/ Xbox One X

Nonetheless, I’ll keep the iRig since Mercari won’t take things back. I am looking into this cable https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B06Y29R6..._eMTRFbJ58Z32K and all the Dual TRS to 3.5mm cables I’ve ordered
https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B0010D0H..._zSTRFbKE2CYDS (HOSA is trash but I’ll see)
https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B01K3WYA..._ETTRFbN8E2QAF
https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B0855SCR..._5TTRFb6379YYK
https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B00ZKM3S...ing=UTF8&psc=1
https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B00IM36V...ing=UTF8&psc=1
https://www.adorama.com/sesipts12in....urce=adl-gbase

I’ll keep you guys posted. The iRig 2 HD was only $60 (https://merc.li/6qZ3ChBNb) and perhaps I make use of those loops on Garage Band. The book looks interesting, good read during the holiday season while out of grad school

Darryl mentioned something about the Apollo’s grounding, I’m also looking into that as well
__________________
itun.es/us/Nwwyq
On My Way 2007

itun.es/us/N6dN9
Razzmatazz 2015

itun.es/us/piiN9
Reinando En Las Discotecas 2015

iMac (Retina 5K. 27-Inch, 2020)
Processor 3.6 GHz 10-Core Intel Core i9
3.6 GHz Dual-Intel Core i7
16GB ram
AMD Radeon Pro 5700 8GB
Pro Tools 2020
FL Studio All Plug-Ins Edition
Shure SM7B Mic
AU Apollo Twin X QUAD Audio Interface
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-13-2020, 12:31 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,663
Default Re: Using Pro Tools w/ Xbox One X

What? Why do you want a 3.5mm to 3.5mm TS straight cable? Or why do you want a 3.5mm TRS to dual 1/4" TR insert cable?

You seem to just be blindly looking up stuff that has the 1/4 inch and 3.5mm holes or pointy things on each end. If for example you needed a 3.5mm to 1/4" insert (Y splitter) cable I would have pointed you at that. You need to either follow the *exact* advice you are given or even better order that book I pointed you at and understand what you are doing.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-13-2020, 12:50 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,663
Default Re: Using Pro Tools w/ Xbox One X

If you absolutely cannot make up a custom cable, and can live with multiple cables strung together try these two together:

https://www.amazon.com/Smartphone-He.../dp/B08FBQ6TG3

https://www.amazon.com/Hosa-CMP-303-.../dp/B000068O3G

While that combo should work you might be at the mercy with some detail of exactly how these are wired. And all this assumes you want to connect a headset to that 3.5mm socket in the Xbox combined with the Mic signal from the Apollo.... and you don't say want to route the audio out the XBox back through the Apollo console/to monitors etc.

Again the way I'd do this would be to buy a 3.5mm TRRS to 3.5mm TRRS cable and cut it in half and use one half to make up a custom cable. Less connections and I have total control of how things are wired.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-13-2020, 04:38 PM
ReynaldoPena ReynaldoPena is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 119
Default Re: Using Pro Tools w/ Xbox One X

I did it!!

It was all in the Elgato capture card. As soon as I took the Elgato chat link cable and plugged it in the Elgato capture card, I used my dual TRS to trrs and plugged it in the Elgato as a headset/mic would. The rest was history, the Elgato is a 4 pole y cable m, therefore all I did was plug it into my controller and BOOM! The Joe Rogan experience is now live! I can even hear my Roland FA-06 on both my streams and my XBOX Party chats. Time to sample some crazy voice/FX clips!

I think it’s because the XBOX is sending visual and audio (HDMI) into that capture card. #HugeLifetimeMilestone lol
__________________
itun.es/us/Nwwyq
On My Way 2007

itun.es/us/N6dN9
Razzmatazz 2015

itun.es/us/piiN9
Reinando En Las Discotecas 2015

iMac (Retina 5K. 27-Inch, 2020)
Processor 3.6 GHz 10-Core Intel Core i9
3.6 GHz Dual-Intel Core i7
16GB ram
AMD Radeon Pro 5700 8GB
Pro Tools 2020
FL Studio All Plug-Ins Edition
Shure SM7B Mic
AU Apollo Twin X QUAD Audio Interface
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Pro Tools HD 8 + Pro Tools HD 9 + Pro Tools 9 Bundle iLOK license Delta Music Belgium Buy & Sell 1 02-27-2019 04:33 PM
xBox as sound modules?? CraigLearmont Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 01-12-2004 11:01 AM
Unbelievably OT: PS2 vs. Xbox vs. whatever dans 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 05-16-2003 06:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com