Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2003, 10:38 AM
hrc2k3 hrc2k3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 2
Default "v" shaped waveform that "clicks"

first off, i am using an 002 rack on my dual processor g4 with os x and the 6.1 update....i am having a weird problem when i track guitars. when i track, the guitars sound fine. i always track pretty hot, but i am definitely not clipping the channel in PT or at my mic pre, etc. upon playback, there will be these very random clicks or pops, not always, just very sporadically thru the track. when i zoom in on the waveform at the site of the noise, the waveform looks normal at first, but then at the top where it should be round, it is inverted like a "v". it is not the site of a bad punch, 2 regions connecting, a bad crossfade, etc. it is just random in the middle of a large region of guitar...and it happens mulitple times. anyone have any light to shed on this? i am thinking it may be a grounding issue, but i am not sure why it only effects the tracking once in a while, and not constantly. any help would be greatly appreciated. i am sick of going thru and editing all of these clicks out!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2003, 01:51 PM
z_k z_k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 18
Default Re: "v" shaped waveform that "clicks"

Could be a clock issue.are you recording thru the digital inputs or are you plugging in analog signal directly ? If are you recording into your 002 thru the digital inputs then protools sync should be set to that of the incoming digital signal device.you can select that in your hardwre setup
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2003, 02:48 PM
hrc2k3 hrc2k3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 2
Default Re: "v" shaped waveform that "clicks"

i am actually only using the analog ins for this recording. so, i am not sure....thanks for the suggestion.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2003, 04:17 PM
Homebelly Homebelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Wellington,New Zealand
Posts: 687
Default Re: "v" shaped waveform that "clicks"

Have you tryed using different cables from guitar to pre,,dose it happen with a different guitar?,,maybe check the wiring in the guitar,,i do mine about once a year especialy the out put jack,,
Also you say you record prety hot,,maybe you are over loading your pre just a tad and it's folding that one spike back on it's self,,theres a term for tis and i had the whole thing explained to me but can't remember the details,,try backing off the gain a little.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2003, 02:54 AM
CTedone CTedone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12
Default Re: "v" shaped waveform that "clicks"

If you are not getting overs, you are not overloading the equipment. You would hear it during recording if you overloaded the pre. It may be DC spikes, or clocking errors. DC spikes, you can avoid with a good power conditioner. Clocking errors, you cannot help, since LE hardware cannot accept external clock source.
__________________
Senior Member of the 'Department of Redundancy Department' Members association group.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2003, 10:56 AM
soundboy69 soundboy69 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: From: Trinidad (Humboldt Co.); living: somewhere between Chicago and St.Louis...
Posts: 1,209
Default Re: "v" shaped waveform that "clicks"

CTedone is on the right track, I think...If your sure you're not having sync issues, and the "click" you're describing is indeed a "v-shaped" (inverted type) waveform, it's probably DC (offset). A good, clean power source is what you need. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
__________________
soundphaRm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does "Westmere" qualification apply to "Bloomfield" and "Gulftown" also? bashville Pro Tools 10 5 03-23-2013 03:04 PM
002 rack "clicks" and Windows beeps when "Setting Up Midi" or sw0mgt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-03-2012 03:42 PM
PT9 Session Troubles - "Bus Error" in "Main Thread" & Could not complete the Open... tohmit macOS 5 03-23-2011 12:13 PM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 12:28 PM
The "FATE" of CM LABS "MotorMix" & "MotorMate". Dum dum dum dum... leon777 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 21 10-15-2002 12:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com